Java 6 Update 10 - This The Version With The Service?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by DasFox, Nov 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DasFox

    DasFox Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,825
    Is it 6 Update 10 that started putting the java service in?

    I hope Sun soon dumps this, just what we needed more services running in the background...
     
  2. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    If your asking about "jsqnotify" then 6-10 is the one it comes with. Bothered me as well as I would see several instances of it running in task manager while browsing with FF. It is not listed in Msconfig, does not start with your PC, or under Services...... So I took a shot in the dark. Made sure it was not running, required a reboot in my case to kill it. Then went to C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin and deleted it. No apparent ill effects so far. Be aware, your mileage may vary. At the very least this may cause the need to re-install Java. At the worst, who knows? :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2008
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Yes it is. It is used for caching of java files for faster start.
    If you're using windows 2000-xp follow the instructions below.
    Go to control panel,java,advanced. under miscellaneous untick java quickstart.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2008
  4. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Tried that. Did not work. :doubt:
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    any error message or did you just not find the option?
    once you untick it and close all the windows you may need to reboot to take effect. worked fine on my parents machine running XP.
     
  6. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    No error, and did reboot. ;)

    Side note, I also totally disable keeping of files on my PC. One of the last infections I had came via Java and was cached on the hdd. After searching for the fix I also found that this was a recommended preventive measure. May or may not be needed any longer. Just a habit I have gotten into.
     
  7. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,974
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Although I unchecked every item in the console during the update to 6-10, including checking for updates, I also found that jusched.exe had been enabled as a startup program, under Registry - Machine Run. Disabled it using CodeStuff Starter.
     
  8. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    That happens with every install\update. It can be disabled via the "javacpl" located in C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin.
     
  9. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,974
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Thanks for confirming that! :thumb:
     
  10. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    Removed my jusched.exe from startups quickly / easily with WinPatrol.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.