ive switched to nis2009 ...

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by zfactor, Nov 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    so i bought a lic. and so far other than one hiccup im really liking this. i went from kis2009 to this and i SWORE i would never use another norton program again but this had def changed my mind. ill report back as i use it more but i do like this a lot so far. a few minor things i dont like but i think ill get used to them. thank for all the input on this you guys are what made me try this..
     
  2. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    Same here. I switched from KIS 2009 to NIS 2009 and I couldn't be any happier. My computer is lightening fast (and no more corrupt/missing files and BSOD on start-up) and I've finally regained my internet browsing speed back.

    I've used KIS for 4 years but now it's starting to feel like bloatware. :thumbd:

    NIS 2009 is the best complete security suite I have ever used. :thumb:
     
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i really didnt have many issues with kis2009 and imo it was really light and fast but man honestly now it feels like i have even more speed, like i thought it was as fast as it could be before but now its like i didnt know what i was missing or something i am simply shocked and this is by no means a slow system at all..i do miss the extra tech-ness if you will about kis2009 though i liked having more control over everything than it seems i have with nis2009.. but then im still figuring everything out. im still using kis2009 on my other systems for now and ill see which i like best in the long run.


    to add i simply can not believe how un-invasive this version of norton's is compared to what im accustomed to from them even in the last 2 years..

    on thing i do miss is the way kis2009 has its hips done and its way of http scanning.. im not sure yet how well nis2009 will do with the http end of things.. i hope well
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2008
  4. webbit

    webbit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Posts:
    222
    i think Norton have really made a decent effort to stop their program being a resource hog and aat the mo im on a 90 day trial but i am seriously considering this, it is a very good program and light on resources, computer boots up lightening fast
     
  5. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    yeah took me about a week before i bought it lol.. i am really liking this now. there are things i miss about kis2009 but im not looking back
     
  6. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I just made the switch as well after alot of debate. The one thing Im worried about is their response to new threats. They have been horrible in the past with releasing updates for new threats in a timely manor. Other than that I like the overall performance of the computer with it installed.
     
  7. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    After reading the comments lately I decided to dump KIS 2009 for a while and try out NIS 2009 and it does seem faster.
     
  8. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Both are good products:ninja:
     
  9. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    i just subscribed to KIS2009 for another 2years after using it for more than 2years.

    i like KIS2009 firewall and HIPS....which i think NIS2009 is behind :-*
     
  10. Rapid Dr3am

    Rapid Dr3am Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Posts:
    60
    NIS 2009 here too. I'm unconvinced yet, but it seems to be doing well.
     
  11. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i to am still not fully convinced but so far its been great i just feel like i trust kaspersky better so i am still a bit uneasy with nis2009 till it proves itself to me.im hoping in the long run for the best because this is package is just running so good...

    i am however noticing a really long lag the first time i open ff3 after a restart or fresh start. it takes way to long imo. once it is opened up the first time after that it opens in a split second. i have noticed a few other quirks but im not sure those were caused by nis2009 or not or maybe i just never payed attention to them before
     
  12. Veniors

    Veniors Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I'm also running NIS 2009 and noticed the same firefox lag
     
  13. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    Ditto
     
  14. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Are you talking in the program itself or in your speeds? I havent noticed any lag at all.
     
  15. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    Only when starting Firefox 3
     
  16. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    Firefox 3 is known to load slowly, especially from a cold start.
     
  17. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    never did with kaspersky
     
  18. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    It might not be the case for you, but many users have already reported that Firefox does indeed load slowly regardless of whether a security application is installed or not. From what I've observed, the slowness is due to Mozilla opting to use XUL for Firefox's UI.

    K-Meleon was developed for this reason. It uses native Windows API, which makes it more responsive than Firefox.
     
  19. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi :)

    It is NIS 09 making Firefox - Hang :(

    It only happens if the computer has been left idle .. & .. NIS 09 - Has been doing a background job.
    e.g.
    Quick Scan
    Insight Scan

    As long as my laptop isn't left idle... Firefox opens in 2 seconds - Max :D

    Something I've Found Helps A Bit
    If you know your computer has been left idle for a while.
    And that NIS 09 has probably been doing something.
    Before You Try To Open - Firefox
    First...
    Open & Close - Your... User Folder - or - Documents - or - Pictures
    Just one of them.. For a couple of seconds ;)
    This seems to help break .. Whatever hold NIS 09 has on - Firefox
    Firefox may still - Hang
    But not for as long ;)

    Anyone noticed the affect NIS 09 has had on IE7 lately
    Started about 3 weeks ago :(
    Similar to Firefox ... Major Hang when opening - IE7 :rolleyes:
    Only Difference...
    IE7 - Does open .. But Says - Connecting.. For anything from 5 to 20 minutes o_O
    IE7 - Suddenly Freezing .. While surfing the web ( Happens frequently with websites heavily loaded with Ads )
    IE7 - Taking way to long to load pages.
    Frequent - " IE7 Has Stopped Responding "

    I can't use IE7 anymore :'(

    That's how I came to start using - Firefox :cool:

    Naughty Norton ... Strikes Again! :mad:
     
  20. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    The start up time of Firefox 3 is the same for me here, regardless of whether I am using Norton or another security application. Sometimes it hangs but I doubt Norton is the cause.

    Your mileage may vary (as the case with Zeena).
     
  21. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    when i uninstalled nortons it no longer did this though for me at all..
     
  22. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    It could be on a per-system basis then. In general, security applications tend to cause undesirable things in one way or another.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.