I've a paid licence of Nod32 Can I test ESS?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by guilijan, Jul 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. guilijan

    guilijan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Posts:
    206
    Hi, sorry by my english.
    I've a paid licence for Nod32, I wish to try ESS because I need a good firewall for my W Vista.
    So how can I test it if I have Nod32 2.70.39 installed?
    May be unistall Nod and install ESS?
    Can I use my licence to test it or what happen with it if I use ESS instead Nod?
     
  2. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Hi guilijan,
    Keep in mind that this is a beta, so there are still some bugs left.
    Please take your precautions, in case something goes wrong.
    Make an image of your system prior to installing ESS.
    Installing it will be at your own risk.

    Now onto your question.
    If you've NOD32 installed, you should uninstall it first prior to installing ESS.
    For me it runs in a different snapshot, made by FirstDefense.
    Your license won't work with ESS. You'll get one provided automatically to test this beta. :)
    Your license will stay valid with NOD32, not with ESS on release.

    If you do happen to find a bug or have an enhancement requesst, submit it to Eset.

    Have fun while playing with it. ;)
     
  3. guilijan

    guilijan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Posts:
    206
    Thank you for your answer
    I'm not happy with "Make an image of your system prior to installing ESS" :D
    Do somebody know when at least the RC will see the light?
     
  4. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    My pleasure. ;)
    Well, that's part of testing a beta, so in case something happens, you don't mess up your system.
    Difficult to predict when it will be released. There are so many factors at play, so nobody will be able to give you an exact date/period.
    Just wait until it's ready for the public. :)
     
  5. JeremyWW

    JeremyWW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Although the latter is true of course - an existing NOD32 license does in fact work with ESS. I've been using it since the start of the Beta program...
     
  6. Dugite

    Dugite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Posts:
    26
  7. guilijan

    guilijan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Posts:
    206
    Well guys thanks again.
    I think that if I have a serious problem with this beta, I can restore my Vista to a previous point, so perhaps I will give it a chance.

    Some screenshots?
     
  8. Alf_

    Alf_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Posts:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  9. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Thanks, didn't read that yet. :doubt:
    Also IMO there's no benefit by running it with your license, since the beta comes with a license on its own or am I wrong. o_O
     
  10. ivanco06

    ivanco06 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    What after ESS is out finally.

    Would NOD32 still exists as stand alone AV?

    Would be NOD32 v.3, just as Antivirus,beside the suite.
     
  11. OMEGA_RAZER

    OMEGA_RAZER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    94
    Location:
    24.24.2.2147
    As far as I know there will still be NOD32 V.3
     
  12. ivanco06

    ivanco06 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Posts:
    4

    Glad to hear that.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.