It's in the mail!

Discussion in 'ten-forward' started by Detox, Feb 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    last night I ordered a replacement for my poor slow AMD 2000+ CPU; and the 3200+ should be here no later than Friday :D

    Then, this 2000+ is the first part in what will become my 3rd PC... One capable of running more sophisticated apps than the current secondary (boy will my wife be happy). That PC will be made up of parts from this machine when they are updated and a few new things (like HD and mobo) as well.... Can't wait *puppy*
     
  2. meneer

    meneer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,132
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You'll have to update your sig too :D
     
  3. beetlejuice

    beetlejuice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    8,523
    Just don't drool on your keyboard while waiting. You might have to replace that too. *puppy* Detox or puppy drooling? o_O
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    You can drool on this one while you wait at least the drool wont hurt this amd 3200+ :D ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    SOME PEOPLE HAVE TO MUCH NOW IM HAVE TO SNEAK IN AND GET ME SOME LOL
     
  6. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    lol yeah I best stop my drooling upon opening the package or it all might be in vain ;)

    Tell ya what Blaze if you come by central Texas you're sure welcome to take my machine for a spin or two :D
     
  7. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    what the heck?? the processor was here today when I got home ... AMD retail packaging - 3200+ and 2200 mghz it says but I installed it and my system tells me I have a x86 family 6 model 10 steping 0 AuthenticAMD ~1094 Mhz


    o_O o_O
     
  8. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    ah-ha had to change the default value of motherboard so my FSB would be running at 400 mhz - since it wasn't at first it was holding the new CPU back to half speed ;)
     
  9. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    But now I bet you can zip around in high gear. ;)
     
  10. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    I must admit it do feel like high gear since the actual CPU speed is nearly double that of my old 2000+ - which is safely stashed away for the building of a 3rd PC ;-)

    Partiularly there is this RPG called "Morrowind" which I had to set some AI distances adn such down a bit lower before but now I can easily max everything out and play smoothly.. the world in that game is very immersive particularly with top settings.. wheee it's fun !
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.