It just does not work!

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by uweph, Mar 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. uweph

    uweph Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I tried to resize a partition, made all changes in the preview, clicked on Go.

    The computer bootet twice, Disk Director told me that it has finished.

    But nothing happens!

    My partitions are the same as before.


    I tried different operations, the only one that worked so far is deleting the whole partition (but for this I did not need to spend 40€)

    Do I miss something?
     
  2. Nikos1

    Nikos1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    THANK YOU!
    I just logged on to post the exact same message. I have tried 3 times now with zero success. I have also tried the "split" function with the same results. Can the Acronis guru please step up?
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    When making partitioning changes that require Windows to reboot, it's usually best to boot to the DD CD to make the changes. If the Full Mode (Linux-based) version has a problem starting or finding your drives, try the Safe Mode (DOS-based) version.

    It's also strongly recommended that you create a backup image of your drive prior to making any partitioning changes (this goes for any partitioning software, not just DD).

    ---

    Personally, I recommend against using the Split and Merge functions of DD. The operations can usually be done manually and generally work better. If you do go ahead and use either of these functions, make sure to have a backup image of the drive.
     
  4. SoundBlaster

    SoundBlaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    What for I need THEN Acronis DDS, if I still have to make me a head about HOW to do something? The product then NOT is worth, what it is sold for!
    Unfortunately I just got stuck with this crab and it left my system not able to boot...:mad:

    Since 03/14/2007 a "new" Build is being developed.
    Hm, seems build 2161 was last one and they dont want to develop a new one. Like in True Image, where every new version got a fancier surface, the bugs from the old version resolved, but new ones "implanted".
    Not very cutsomer-friendly!

    SoundBlaster
    edit: Acronis DDS ist absolutly not able to handle Vista's new Partition Alignment nor able to keep up with one (or even worse: two independent...) clean (not upgraded vom XP; partitioned on NT60-Partitions) Vista-installations.
    This is extremly different, what the feature-list says. I'm really very disappointed about that and wished, s.o. would have taken legal steps.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2009
  5. Karma

    Karma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Greetings:

    I too, am having the same problem.

    I have been on Vista 64 bit for about a year now. Yesterday I set up a series of resizings, partition merges, and a couple of deletions (to perform a little bit of consolidation and cleanup of unneeded partitions).

    My symptoms were very similar to the original poster's problem. Disk Director 10 said a reboot was required, which I had no problem with since some of the partitions have data and applications on them. DDS seemed to go through the motions, even booting the system twice. But I got suspicious when the first reboot was way too short; to me it appeared that the whole process lacked a data transfer phase for those partitions being moved and/or merged.

    Luckily, it just seems that the process didin't do anything at all, so it seems I dodged a catastrophic bullet where only some processes worked and some failed.

    I will try again, this time by booting from the CD, but this is an intolerable situation. I've now had serious problems with both Disk Director Suite 10 and with True Image 11. I'm not sure I can justify staying on the upgrade bandwagon with these known problems and little or no progress toward fixing them. I left Norton for that exact reason, and I'm not planning to order from them ever again.

    I'll go try the CD now, but I sincerely hope to see this issue addressed by an actual Acronis support person, and I expect to see some sort of workable long-term fix in place before my next major OS upgrade (which is usually a time for me to evaluate all of my antivirus, security, backup, and disk management tools).
     
  6. rwstein303

    rwstein303 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I, too, was having the same issue.

    The solution I found was to turn off all my antivirus software - it says so in the user guide. I use Norton Internet Security and turned off all the settings. DD10 then ran just fine.
     
  7. jcroth

    jcroth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I just downloaded and installed about 2 hours ago. Running Vista 64. Tried to resize a partition 4 times, tried without virus protection and even in safe mode. No luck, reboots and does its thing like everything was succesful but partitition remains unchanged.

    They want me to pay $10 to call support to tell them that the sofrware flat out doesn't worko_O Gimme a break...calling my credit card company to dispute/stop payment on this charge.
     
  8. rwstein303

    rwstein303 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    You need to turn off ALL components of your antivirus software. When I turned off just the antivirus part of my security suite - Norton Internet Security - I still could not partition my drive. But by turning off EVERYTHING I was able to partition my drive with no problems.
     
  9. rombert

    rombert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    I'd say it is much better if NOTHING happens than OSS accroaches the boot control and can't find the VISTA partition again... Normally, I would expect DDS provides the mentioned backup function AND is able to restore from it?! What should an Antivirussoftware do before running? I think that's no explanation for boot managing problems, but for getting NO result.
     
  10. Rulimage

    Rulimage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Before you dismiss it, please try something as I have done for the same reasons. Before partitioning or splitting , unplug ANY USB device except for mouse and keyboard. I have found that dongles, card readers, external drives and even printers ( i guess with the card reader) will screw things up. When this is done, partitioning and splitting doesn't miss a beat. Hope this helps.
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Rulimage was correct: it is recommended to temporary detach all card readers and USB devices from your computer and perform the process again. This issue occurred because your computer assigns another letters to your card readers without OS loaded, so your card reader can have C: letter or any other. This can cause the conflict, because our program have task to resize your C: or any another drive, which may be recognized as card reader when your OS is not loaded.

    Also, the suggestion to use a CD version is correct too.

    Detailed information about Acronis Disk Director product can be found in User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.