It is uncongenial to TAP-Win32

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by agreo, Jun 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. agreo

    agreo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Hello.

    Installation of TAP-Win32 does not work the automatic selection of a network interface.
    (The network connected before looknstop starts is recognized, However, it is NG when it connects after starting.) .

    Since such a problem has not occurred in other virtual network interface drivers, it thinks that a problem is in the TAP-Win32 side, it is a cause known? What kind of measure is possible? .

    TAP-Win32 has installed V8 and uses it by coLinux and PearPC.

    Thank you.
     
  2. Thomas M

    Thomas M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Posts:
    355
    Nobody replies, so I can ask the dumb questions:

    agreo: What is "TAP-Win32"

    Thanks :)
     
  3. agreo

    agreo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    TAP-Win32 is the virtual network driver contained in OpenVPN.
    http://openvpn.net/

    A virtual network can be built in PC and bridge with PC emulator and a physical network interface can be performed easily.
    Since arbitrary subnets can be made, it is easy to perform restriction of the communication range etc.

    Thank you.
     
  4. Thomas M

    Thomas M Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Posts:
    355
    Ah I see! Thanks a lot for the information.

    But still no idea about your question. Maybe Frederic has an answer for you. Have you tried asking him via E-Mail to
    looknstop_AT_soft4ever.com ??

    Thomas :)
     
  5. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    From your 1st post, I'm not sure to understand what is not working.

    Is it only the automatic selection that is not working ?
    In manual selection mode everything is Ok ?

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
  6. agreo

    agreo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Thank you for Thomas and the advice.

    To Frederic
    Sorry to be poor at explanation.
    Only automatic selection does not work.
    Manual selection works perfect.

    Thank you.
     
  7. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Ok, in this case perhaps it's only a matter of IP address recognition.
    Be sure the "IP to exclude" list in correctly setup in the advanced options.

    In this list:
    - IP of adapters not to be selected should be mentioned
    - the IP of a selectable adapter should not be present
    (IP or sub-network IPs work also, like 10 for 10.x.y.z).

    Frederic
     
  8. agreo

    agreo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Although it did, it was the same.

    Sorry, manual selection was not perfect.
    Only when that manual selection works chooses after the network state changed.
    For example, even if it dialup in the state where WAN is chosen, IP address of a welcome screen is with 0.0.0.0.
    And when WAN is chosen by the manual and Look'n'stop recognizes IP of WAN, even if it stops dialup, IP display of a welcome screen does not change.

    Just as it disables TAP-Win32 by a device manager, it comes to work normally all.
    And just as it enables TAP-Win32 by a device manager, will be reported.
    And although VMware is installed in my PC and the virtual network driver of VMware is running, there is no such problem.

    Thank you.
     
  9. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    I'm not sure to understand exactly how it should work with TAP-Win32.
    Could you open the console and look at the events when the network interface is changing ? and report here what you see.
    Also at the beginning ask for the drivers logs, so you will get the name of the network interfaces seen by the driver ? please copy paste the information here as well (just hide a part of IP & MAC address).

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.