It is Java again

Discussion in 'Other Ghost Security Software' started by tuatara, Sep 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tuatara

    tuatara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    772
    Beside the clock on the lower left corner of my XP screen
    is this nice coffeecup icon of Java.

    And there is a program or process running, because if i rightclick on it
    i get a pop-up menu and can choose:
    "About Java Technology"
    "go to java.com"
    etc.
    And this program is working because when i click on one of these,
    the selections starts and runs perfectly.

    What i don't understand is:

    1) Why can't i find this process with ProxC (or any other processviewer)?
    It is a process right?

    2) How can i stop this, is this javaw.exe or java.exe or jusched.exe ?

    3) Is there a way to kill this process if there is no normal stop function?
     
  2. tuatara

    tuatara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    772
    Forgot to mention,

    Of course i know that the programm/process or DLL is started
    by Firefox and it can be seen with Regrun Process Manager.

    But it can only be stopped if you stop Firefox (in this case)
    and i want to stop it and keep FireFox running.
     
  3. FirePost

    FirePost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    212
    Hello Tuatara,
    Have you tried the tools menu->options->web features and turn off Java in Firefox. That cup only appears if you are running java applets.
     
  4. tansu

    tansu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    210
    Try Mark Russinovich's Process Explorer. you can find it here
     
  5. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Not to my knowledge....it's simply an icon placed in the systray similar to adding quick access for your video, volume control, power options....etc. You can always select not to have it shown in the system tray via Control Panel\Java\Advanced tab....Miscellaneous.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. tuatara

    tuatara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    772
    Hi Bubba, thanks for the help,
    if this (the above) is true, then it is a very clever icon, that runs a popup menu without a program or processo_O

    I am very curious how this works, because this is basic XP internals..

    How can you run a pop-up menu without a Process ??


    Firepost this (disable in Firefox) works (Thanks !!),
    but i want to disable JAVA itself AFTER it is started. because i don't want to have it run when i don't need it anymore.

    It is a strange thing that Java seems to slip through almost
    all protection systems you have (like ProcessGuard at default settings), while i think it can be a serious security
    risc when used in the wrong way.
     
  7. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    It is no more clever than your systems volume control or video icon that one can place in the taskbar. Not all items in the systray have to have a process running :doubt:
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2005
  8. tuatara

    tuatara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    772
    ok Bubba, but if i have the sound icon activated i see
    sndvol32.exe running, but if i have the java menu open i see nothing in the processlist.

    The only way i can see it running is with: Regrun Process Manager
    why is that?
     
  9. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    With IE we do not see an extra process running in regards to the Java icon because the Java IE plugin is already running if Java is enabled.
     
  10. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    I've installed Sun Java after uninstalling the MS JVM. However, applets are not showing up in Internet Explorer, but Firefox and Opera display them fine.

    I have made sure java is enabled in IE's Tools/Advanced.

    Anyone know why the applets are not displaying correctly?
     
  11. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    In your Java Control Panel is IE checked :doubt:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. tuatara

    tuatara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    772
    I took some time to investigate what whas going on.
    If you start your browser, and visit a webpage that needs Java,
    it starts up an extra java dll.
    So i was searching for a process but it was a DLL.

    The strange thing here, regarding security, is that after testing with
    Process Guard and Tiny Personal Firewall.
    It became clear that it was not possible to allow the browser (IE or FireFox etc.) BUT at the same time to stop Java starting with it.

    The only way that you could stop JAVA, was by disabeling it in your browser.

    The weird thing here, is although you think you are protected
    from ' programs' from starting, this seems to be more complicated.

    As someone with a Unix background, this surprising.

    If you allow a program, and it seems to be harmless,
    try it for a while, you never know when it will start an unwanted DLL
    that can really harm your computer.

    Because i am convinced that Java can be a security risk.

    Another thing is about the small menu in the lower right corner
    of your dekstop, this menu of Java, where you can so all kind of things
    except stop the .... thing itself.

    Seems to work without using a DLL, process etc. or without using any system recources.

    Bubba wrote:

    So with other words, it is running within the IE process ?

    But things can even be more strange, i've seen that Windows
    had still menu's working, but that there were NO process working anymore according the taskmanager.
    Or your system has 97 % cpu usage and is slow,
    but the CPU usage is caused by ' system idle' . :D

    I know exactly how Solaris is working on kernel level
    but this is well documented.

    XP has still some hidden secrets for me.
    Like having a program running without using system-resources
    :D

    And btw, perhaps it would be nice, if there was some security on
    DLL level, because what will happen if the JAVA DLL was replaced by malware, will that be detected by Appdefend ?

    o_O
     
  13. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    Sorry for getting back to you a bit late. IE was checked. However, all is well now as I unchecked it and re-checked it, which seemed to do the trick. Strange huh?
     
  14. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Do not look a gift horse in the mouth :eek:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.