Issues running vista and xp on DD

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by caffeine_demon, May 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. caffeine_demon

    caffeine_demon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    HI,

    I appear tp have run into dificulties multibooting XP and vista using disk director version 10.0 (build 2,160)

    I have 2 hard disks on my pc, one has a 180 gig vista part, and the other a 120gig XP partition (along with several other partitions for shared data and eventually winme and 98...)

    It's a new pc, with vista ultimate 64 installed on the 180gig partition mentioned above, and I installed xp on the second partition, Eventually got it up and running (using fixboot in the xp recovery console, and repair under
    windows vista)

    I then went to hide partitions, and on rebooting, both the vista and xp options would load up vista, I used fixboot under xp, and then both choices in os selectors boot menu would load up xp, running the repair option on vista again, resulted in both options loading vista again (tried a couple of times with the same effect)

    I then had a quick search on the forum here and found:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=208416&highlight=vista xp which had a link to:
    http://neosmart.net/wiki/display/EBCD/Installing XP After Vista

    following the instructions there, I got the windows vista boot menu (installed easybcd within winxp), xp and vista choices loaded fine, so I reactivated os selector - and whatever OS I choose from the main menu - I then get the vista boot loader.

    any ideas how I can get back to just the OS selector boot menu?


    (ps - Operation win98 and winme starts once I've got this sorted....)
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Can you please post a screenshot of what Disk Management shows for your drives when booted into Vista and when booted into XP?

    I'm currently working on a guide for separating Vista and XP so they will boot properly when using a third-party boot manager. Hopefully, I'll have it posted within the next few days.

    For Win98 and WinME, I hope you have researched whether or not they will even run on your computer. Many new computers won't support either. Also, I hope you've placed their parititions at the start of the drive(s) and not at the end. In my experience, Win98/WinME won't boot or run properly from a partition located at the end of a large drive.
     
  3. caffeine_demon

    caffeine_demon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Do you mean this one:

    http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e3/gerbilroo/oss1.jpg

    (the 180g is vista, and 120 is xp

    interesting - I know of the 1 gig limit (and know there's a workaround) - but what else should I watch for?

    (I discovered the bit about having the partitions at the start of the disk on my last pc!)
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    That's a DD screenshot. For Disk Management, click the Start button, right-click on My Computer, click on Manage and then Disk Management in the tree on the left side.

    If you haven't checked for driver support and you're running a board with an newer chipset, expect the following:
    • Standard VESA video
    • No network
    • No USB
    • Hard drive controller may need to run in "compatibility mode"
    • No sound
    • May not even install
    On one test I did with Windows 98, I had to start the installation and then, when it rebooted, force it into Safe Mode to change the hard drive controller mode and RAM settings so that it could even finish. No support for any hardware.

    If you absolutely must run Windows 98 or Windows ME on a newer computer, you'll probably be better off running them in a VM.
     
  5. caffeine_demon

    caffeine_demon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    ooh - never seen that before!! :argh:

    http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e3/gerbilroo/xpshot.jpg

    http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e3/gerbilroo/vistashot.jpg

    interesting how XP seems to think I have an extra 180gigs!
    also interesting how my IMG tags don't seem to be working!


    glad I found out beforehand! been looking at vmware, and it seems quite low on instructions on getting it to work with older windows version!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.