Issue after installing SP3 (XP)

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by tepe2, Aug 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
    I recently upgraded to Service Pack 3 through Windows Update.

    1. My OS-partition is now between 0,8 GB and 1 GB larger than before. Why? What can I do? I use BING to create images of my OS-partition, so this is no good.

    2. Before upgrading all I had to do to shut down the computer was: click start button, click shut down the computer and one more click to confirm. But after upgrading sometimes I have no option to shut down when clicking the start button. There is instead a log off button. I click this log off button, have to confirm by clicking log off again, then click one more time to shut down the computer. The strange thing is this happen not all the time, some times everything is like before I upgraded.

    I would aprecciate any help. Thanks.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
    Thank you so much for your replie Cudni.

    I will try, and if it does not work I come back :)
     
  4. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
    I see now that those links are for Windows 2000. I am running XP Home.

    I also have another problem. I try to burn CD with Ashampoo, but Ashampoo does not find my CD recorder. I found help here:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314060#letmefixit

    But I cannot edit the registry. I dont know why. For some reason the registry opens as "Run Safer" with green border. I have not configured Online Armor to open the regedit.exe in safe mode.

    Microsoft means problems as usual. Maybe I go back to serv.pack 2?
     
  5. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
    Update: One problem seem to be fixed now. I can now edit the registry after a restart. Still dont know what was the problem. I unticked the "Autoconfigure trusted programs" in Online Armor, but dont know if that was the problem.

    So now, back to post #1. Have to find solution for XP.
     
  6. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
    No I have XP Home. No gpedit. But thanks for your suggestion.

    Sorry, I see you deleted your post. BTW how do you delete a post?
     
  7. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Hello

    Re. the shutdown button, and Cudni's link for a fix, the registry change IS for XP Home. See also here.

    philby
     
  8. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    I realised once I'd posted that you are using Home not Pro - sorry.

    To delete a post, click on edit and then click delete that then appears just above the edit button and a drop down will appear where you can delete and say why.

    philby
     
  9. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
    Thank you so much Philby.

    I did not find the "NoClose" value, but I found the answer in your link. (Had to create the value) So I guess this problem is also fixed now.

    Now I will have another look at the first link from Cudni to see if I can make my XP-partition smaller.
     
  10. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    Hello
    I was having problems with "System information" I am was using Windows XP SP3, I had to re install helpctr.ini http://windowsxp.mvps.org/rebuildhelp.htm . When I did this the dialog box asked for Windows XP SP3, I only had the disk that came with the computer Windows XP SP2 I updated to SP3 with windows update. I had to remove SP3 fix the problem then update to SP3 again, this is what I did to remove SP3 http://support.microsoft.com/kb/950249 . I had to use removal Method 2 as there was no removal box in add/remove in control pannel.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2009
  11. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
    I am not sure I want to follow the steps in this link:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290402

    The chapter "Troubleshooting" in the middle of the page make me a bit uncertain. I dont know if it is worth it. I may regret at a later point in time if I delete that folder.

    Im going to search here at Wilders. Must have been discussed before when SP3 was released.
     
  12. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    Backup first with system restore but a backup on a external HD is best with software like Acronis True Image Home (this is what I use http://www.acronis.com/ ) If you follow the link I inclued for Windows XP (more recent) Method 2 is a Windows XP Service Pack 3 Removal Wizard Is Automatic but it takes a while to complete Then if it doesn't workoout you can still do a restore with whichever method you deside on or you could try and fix it some other way, it is really up to you.
     
  13. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
    I probably go back to service pack 2. Too much problems with sp3. I just found that I have no admin rights. I cannot use the inbuilt defrag among other things because of it. Why upgrade to sp3 if it makes you do a lot of hard work and investigation to make your computer work? I dont have time for this s..t!
     
  14. 1boss1

    1boss1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    It seems like you don't have any problems, besides your not logged in with an admin account.

    If you go to "Control Panel" then "User Accounts" you can see the account and there's a help link that says how to switch. You go Start > Log Off > Switch User which should be a green button with 2 arrows kind of like -><- but one under the other.

    To make your OS smaller there's lots you can delete, for example:

    win-folders.png

    All these are just backups in case you want to uninstall MS updates and services packs you probably have hundreds of folders. See there's WM09 and WM11 (Windows Media Player) etc. You can delete all the $uninstall folders "but" burn them to DVD or put them on another drive just in case and do "not" delete $hf_mig$ in blue. It tells MS update what you have so you don't download it again.

    Just doing that alone will probably free up a ton of room.
     
  15. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
    Thank you 1boss1

    I am logged in with admin account as usual. I always am. I never use other than admin account. So that cannot be the problem.
     
  16. pinso

    pinso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    247
    Thank u very much: (although this thread seem to be quite old) i too had upgraded to SP3 two days back , and i could see the immediated difference in my C: i checked the link:
    So i checked my Windows folder: can someone verify are these the folder in blue txt to be deleted.
    9-7-2009 7-22-23 PM.png

    First time i upgraded, hence all these Query. Someone please give me the GREENLIGHT.:D
    Nice Thread
     
  17. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    All I have to say is that I tried SP3 multiple times, and did not like the package. I just use many of the security patches but not SP3 itself.

    Sul.
     
  18. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ya: it's threads like these that have made me hold off...:cautious:
    Correct me if I'm wrong but if the XP SP2 install is kept utd with patches, does the SP3 install offer anything extra ??
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Longboard, my computer runs twice as fast since installing SP3. Just kidding.

    I've helped install SP3 on over 20 computers. Smooth. You can delete almost 1 GB of files after the installation.
     
  20. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Don't use updates here but I can point you to Bold Fortune's slimming XP guide and really up to you if you decide to delete anything.
    http://www.graphixanstuff.com/Forum/index.php?showtopic=9395
     
  21. Aberrant

    Aberrant Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Downunder
    @Everyone that does not have Group Policies (XP Home).
    Use Doug's Windows XP Security Console (an alternative approach to Group Policies).

    ----------------------------------------

    SP3 has been installed on my XPMCE-32 since its release. I have had no issues with the pack what-so-ever, and I am a power user too.
    There has been no errors with any of the programs on my PC.

    Lost me why some of you people are having issues with the pack.
    Nevertheless, I have heard and read numerous reports that the SP3 is indeed not worth installing, as many have rolled back to SP2 due to incompatibilities and driver errors et cetera. If I eXPerience the same, then I will also roll-back, till then I am smooth 'rolling'. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.