Is Zone Alarm itself a spyware product?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by no13, Sep 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Google Groups : Searched for <<zone alarm spyware iamdb.rdb true vector>>

    http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=...arm+spyware+iamdb.rdb+true+vector&btnG=Search
    (circa 2001)

    There's more :
    EZTrust Firewall (http://www.my-etrust.com/) uses Zone Alarm's code FULLY - it even conacts zone labs (and to think Computer Associates is owner of EZTrust) <i know this because i've tested it>

    More bad news : ZA's new version conflicts COMPLETELY with kerio, while older versions had NO problems.
    True Vector Client (vsmon.exe) CANNOT be ended/closed once the service starts, and you (as administrator of your own PC) cannot disable the service.

    And now this (even tho' unrelated, but still interesting)
    Check Point Software Completes Zone Labs Acquisition

    REDWOOD CITY, Calif. - March 29, 2004—Check Point Software Technologies Ltd. (NASDAQ: CHKP), the worldwide leader in securing the Internet, announced today that it has completed its acquisition of Zone Labs®, Inc., the market leader in endpoint security.http://download.zonelabs.com/bin/free/rapidDeploy/press/2004/pr_8.html

    Comments?
     
  2. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Old news that does not need to be rehashed. Zone Alarm is not spyware.

    Running more than one software firewall on a system is not needed nor recommended.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  3. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Then how come ZA's logs store the name of my video card? And how come there's no indication of what the nature of ZA's communications to ZoneLabs is?
     
  4. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    someone is having a senior moment here:D
     
  5. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    I don't get it
     
  6. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    if you have application control on then it is normal that zonelarm logs everything (applications like drivers that are checking for updates, av's checking for updates, even m$ checking for updates or applications that changes by dll's,...) everything gets logged if you choose to log.

    quote:what the nature of ZA's communications to ZoneLabs is

    zonalarm is of zonelabs if I understand your question?? maybe I didn't get it...:D
     
  7. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    what's it talking to the bleeding zone labs servers about? I don't want ANY unsolicited data transfer takin' place. That's why i got ZA. And this turns out to be a Phone-home-r...
    Has anyone ever done a sniffer on ZA ?

    I've now shifted to Kerio for that reason
     
  8. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    changed to Outpost and I came from zonealarm. Now with Kerio and to be honest quite impressive but I miss the import facilities of the blocklist manager
     
  9. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    then I would not use norton too and say norton is spyware too cause how many times do they phone home and microsofto_O I find simply put a little over reacting. they could been checking for a update so that is legitimate if you ask me...
     
  10. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    i think blue tack has dealt with kerio import issue on its forums... do check it out
     
  11. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    i know but still figuring out. kerio is bout one week on my machine...like it though.

    Thanx for the tip No13
     
  12. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Anytime.
    But anyone figure out what ZA is phoning home about.... with those "contact zone labs" options ALL disabled... no auto updates or anything.?
     
  13. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    maybe checking if your serial was OKo_O?
     
  14. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    quote:" .... serial was OKo_O?"


    I don't want to say anything with my previous statement


    it is common given by a lot of software if you ask me...
     
  15. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    I don't think it wants to check the blasted serial every time I connect, and even if it does, I don't think it should do that for 4-5 hours (or whatever duration of internet connection is)
    Agree?
     
  16. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Are you using ZA Free or Pro ?
     
  17. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Used free for 6 months, tried pro (trial), tried Pro full on friend's PC. Same thing - all the time.
    Junked it 2 years ago... tried it intermittently... never liked it.
     
  18. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Your assumptions and suggestions that ZA is doing something behind your back are just that without anything to corroborate them. Unsubstantiated statements like this are not very constructive. If you are truly that concerned and/or curious to see what is leaving your system, run a packet sniffer (Ethereal) and put your mind at ease.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  19. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    Also ZAP has the alert advisor which gives advice on whether to allow a program access or not. That may be what is connecting to ZA servers to find out.
    Personally, I have found the alert advisor to be much too vague and not provide enough good info to make an informed decision. Definately not spyware.
     
  20. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :cool: actualy it does have spyware kinda basicly an alarm when its being pirated

    it reports back to zap then zap sends a bullet and zap becomes trial ware algain

    but thats all it does

    does it report on you nope

    its just an auto response

    no info about you is shared to the company

    but if they wanted to they could add that anytime but because they value your privacy and dont want to be knowen as a firewall with spyware they dont collect info even from piraters strange

    if it were me i say f it and collect info just because
     
  21. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, no13

    I agree with Mr. Blaze

    I have DiamondCS Port Explorer's and it shows ZAP neither sending or receiving anything, unless the user request some Information, apart from the first time you use it.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  22. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Good to know!!!
    Thx a bunch!!!
    But i would feel safe if some one could share results of a packet sniffing session, and can I block this communication? (I'm paranoid)
     
  23. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, no13

    Try it useing DCS's PE your self:- DiamondCS Port Explorer

    Take care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  24. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Ah heck... I want some one else to do it ... ZA's new version conflicts with Kerio, and I don't wanna lose kerio AT ALL (too much effort in rulesets)
     
  25. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    There's no fun or learning letting someone else do it ;)

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.