Is TI 9 Stable Now?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Ed_H, Jan 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I have been using TI 8 for quite a while and it has saved me several times. When TI 9 was first released, I saw that many were having problems so I stayed away. Has it settled in with the latest builds to where it is as reliable as TI 8?

    Thanks
     
  2. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    I'd say so, give it a trial.
     
  3. Jbmoar

    Jbmoar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    San Jose,Costa Rica
    I Have been Using True Image 9 Since December and am currenly using build 2337, seems quite stable for me.I Have even restores a few times with no problems,I Use the rescue CD Option for true image 9.0.2337. .. I Have no idea how well the windows version is though but My experience on my Compaq Computer says it is quite stable for me.

    Their is still one minor Bug that the support team is working on that they say may be fixed in the next build but isn't anything major, just a small glitch in the program.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ffreedom01,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    I would agree with tachyon42 and recommend you to download and install the free trial version of Acronis True Image 9.0 to make sure that the software works fine on your computer.

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image 9.0 in the respective User's Guide.

    You may also find Acronis True Image 9.0 FAQ page helpful.

    If you are satisfied with the work of the free trial version of Acronis True Image 9.0 then please visit Acronis online store to purchase the full version of the product.

    In case you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  5. ErnestTwo

    ErnestTwo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    I would stay with the older version until the posts here on TI9 drop to at least 10-15 a day!!
     
  6. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    simple imaging and restoring seem to be stable now, however, support has already stated in other threads that fixes to problems in version 2337 are being worked on, and will be released in the next build, so i am waiting.....especially since updating to the next version requires such a huge download every time instead of a quick update link.
     
  7. MKairys

    MKairys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    I've been reading this forum daily (sometimes hourly :)) for three months now. If I were to take the number of messages actually related to TI bugs and graph it versus time I believe I would get a perfect damped-oscillation curve. Or perhaps exponential decay. It's pretty amazing, really.
     
  8. Allen L.

    Allen L. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    -Close-
    As I'm sometimes strugging understanding all the workings and etc. of True Image v.9, would you be so kind as to speak in a manner that a normal, almost insane person like myself, can understand? What in the blankety, blank, is "perfect damped-oscillation curve", and "exponential decay", as the last term,"exponential decay", seems to be what's happening to my brain, the more I read of the problems with T.I. v.9. I *do* hope they get this version 'whole' and working soon. :)

    Allen
     
  9. MKairys

    MKairys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Hey, it was just a metaphor!

    I've attached a picture of the graphs in question. Actually the second is the better metaphor.

    "Believe it if you need it, if you don't just pass it on..."
     

    Attached Files:

  10. feddup

    feddup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    160
    funny thread!

    The graphs and the concept behind them is pretty funny. I own, use and love TI 8 and 9 but if you're waiting for the "issues" posts to drop below 10-15 then you better "hunker down". Imaging has issues! Go to the ghost forums. Same deal! True image is the best and Acronis is admirable in their willingness to work with the customer to get TI to work with their configuration. TI is an excellent tool.
     
  11. Skytrooper

    Skytrooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    101
    Is TI v9 stable now? Grrr.... Finally, a topic to motivate me to register on this fine forum. I bought and installed True Image v9.0 build 2337 today despite some trepidation over the radically mixed reports I'd read of the program. I'd installed the trial program briefly and read the user guide, but I didn't actually create a backup using the Acronis Secure Zone because I was concerned a Secure Zone created using the trial version might have to be deleted and recreated when I switched to the paid, unlimited version.

    After buying and installing TI v9 (XP Home, P4, 2.8 ghz, 1024 mb RAM, 160 gb hard drive), I carefully followed the program's instructions to do a full backup of my C drive and create Secure Zone to keep it in. I used all the default settings except I increased the Secure Zone's size from around 66 gb to around 80 gb. When I clicked on the "reboot" button, my system rebooted and an Acronis screen ran for several seconds before the PC rebooted again. The Acronis screen came back up, ran for several seconds then the system crashed (my first crash on this PC in nearly 2 years). After sending an error report to Microsoft, I received a reply saying an "unknown device driver" caused the crash. Installing and running TI v9 was the only change I'd made to my PC.

    I submitted a support request to Acronis and am waiting for their response. At this point, I'm able to restrain my enthusiasm for True Image and I'm kicking myself for not experimenting further with TI's trial version before buying the program.
     
  12. ErnestTwo

    ErnestTwo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Re: funny thread!

    Think so Read this
    I have been trying since Jan 13/06 to get a straightforward answer to this problem of corrupted files. How can any respectful software vendor continue to sell this stuff with verification problems that go back through 3 to 4 versions?

    Or you could try actually trying to resolve a problem!!

    This is what TI9 did to my system when I attempted to restore 1 directory and files from a full system backup:

    SYMPTOMS
    When you try to delete a file on an NTFS volume, you may receive the following error message:
    Cannot delete file name: The file or directory is corrupt and unreadable.
    The System event log in Windows NT 4.0 contains the following message:
    Event ID: 41
    Source: Diskperf
    Description: The file system structure on disk is corrupt and unreadable. Please run the chkdsk utility on the device with label "Volume_name"
    The System event log in Windows 2000 contains the following message:
    Event ID: 55
    Source: NTFS
    Description: The file system structure on disk is corrupt and unusable. Please run the chkdsk utility on the volume "Drive_letter:"
    If you run Chkdsk against the volume, Chkdsk may or may not make repairs, but afterwards you still cannot delete the corrupted file.
    CAUSE
    This behavior can occur if the NTFS volumes' Master File Table (MFT) is corrupted. The short and long file name pairs that are stored in the directory index record and the file names that are stored in the associated File Record Segment (FRS) contain case-sensitive characters that do not match.

    NTFS supports case-sensitive (POSIX) file names, but Chkdsk does not check file names in case-sensitive mode.

    For example, assume that the directory index record has a BADFILe.TXT entry but the FRS has a BADFILE.TXT entry for the file name. NTFS views this as being invalid or corrupted, but Chkdsk compares only the names and ignores the case. It does not make repairs.
    RESOLUTION
    To resolve this issue, back up the volume that contains the corrupted file(s) and exclude the corrupted file(s) from the backup job. Reformat the volume, and then restore from the backup.
    __________________

     
  13. Allen L.

    Allen L. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    -Close-
    The "Secure Zone" (which I've never attempted to use as I use internal and external hard drives to store images and consider them standing alone, to be secure), seems to cause a great deal of agony for users of Acronis. It should be re-titled the "Secure Zone for Problems". I truly believe that 30% or more of the problems encountered come from using this so called 'secure' zone feature.

    ...Allen
     
  14. feddup

    feddup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    160
    different

    Everyone's configuration is different. I never said TI was perfect. If you're patient Acronis will work with you. TI 9 definitely has "issues" so response time from support might be longer than usual. When I first bought TI 8 and wanted it working perfectly, including secure zone, Acronis and I emailed several times a day for a week. Their patience was better then mine. I was ready to give up before they were. Anyway give Acronis support some time. They actually supported their product.
     
  15. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    After reading all the reviews on this thread, I decided to just wait and continue with TI8. TI8 has NEVER failed me or given me any cause for concern but TI9 has some features which seem to be very useful. So, I would like to try it and was wondering if I can have both TI8 AND TI9 installed at the same time? If yes, would eventually uninstalling one of them cause problems with the other due to deleting shared or common named files? Thanks for the help!!!
     
  16. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    From various posts on this forum I don't think you can have both running at the same time and you need to uninstall V8 to install V9.

    Also based on some posts on this forum, make sure you have your V8 serial number safely recorded off-line so you can reinstall V8 if you want to.
     
  17. tcv

    tcv Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Forgive me if this is elsewhere, but I just popped in and noticed this thread.

    I've heard rumblings from a couple of other techs about odd permissions-related problems with TI9.

    Here's an example I recently heard:

    1. Tech makes an image backup of a hard drive. O/S is WinXP Home.

    2. Tech reinstalls Windows XP Home on new hard drive along with applications.

    3. Tech goes to grab a file from TI image. File is Outlook.PST file, buried in the normal place.

    4. TI reports "access denied."

    Tech can fix problem by hooking up image to Windows XP Pro machine and adjusting permissions to suit Everyone.

    I have no idea whether this has been addressed or whether anyone else has seen it. I've personally heard three reports of this behavior and it's the same overall issue -- permissions, Windows XP Home, restoring individual files with user-type permissions onto new system.

    Just a quick story.
     
  18. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I should stay out of this but I'll make just a quick reply. AFAIK, this likely is XPs file permission system at work and it is doing what it was intended to do. Unfortunately, sometimes the things that are there to offer protection get in the way when we want to do something that suits the current task. It has nothing to do with TI.

    Permission problems can be resolved in XP Home but you have to go into XP's safe mode to do it.

    I used to have this problem with Drive Image. I couldn't manipulate the image file let alone do anything with its contents. In this case the problem was (I think) that it was created in DOS such that XP's file system didn't setup permissions.
     
  19. tcv

    tcv Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Interesting, sf. Since I'm not the tech and I've not run into this problem personally, I can't really offer first-hand information. One of the techs that has told me about this is very close to me. I will discuss it with him further if it next appears.

    I get what you're saying about XP Home and Safe Mode. But... can a disk image attach in Safe Mode? I've not tried that.


    I will gather more information. This may be a non-issue, as I intimated. Still, I'd like to understand why it happens. I've done several images/clones with TI8 and have never run into this problem...

    ---

    [edit] I've done some searching and I have found a few people with the same problem in TI8. So, it's definitely not a TI9 issue.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2006
  20. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Good point, I forgot about the attaching part. I also don't know if you can in XP's Safe mode. Part of the Acronis system loads some drivers that show up in Device Manager and this makes me think it might not work in Safe Mode.
     
  21. RudyU2

    RudyU2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    I'm finding it much better than Ghost. I have been using Ghost for 6 years and finally 6 weeks ago changed to TI 9.0.

    Even my wife asked me what have i done to the the PC, it runs must faster now. No more memory hogs. Don't need to check changes all the time

    I sometimes find minor bugs in TI 9.0, such as

    - the scheduler stopped working, but after a reboot worked fine
    - the backup gets stuck, actually stops at a point, but after a reboot worked fine

    I think TI 9.0 is a great product. The reason why i changed from Ghost is

    - Ghost Memory hog
    - TI Secure Zone
    - Differential backup (no need to keep the drive online, to be monitored as for Ghost), because i use an USB 120GB to travel around with all my data and development files. Just plug it in and all changes will be written to a diffrential backup. Ghost in this instrance will make a full image backup again.
    - File and Folder Backup
     
  22. Cat-21

    Cat-21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Posts:
    60
    It was funny to read RudyU2 saying Ghost was a resource hog. To be fair both Ghost and Acronis are not "resource hogs". Maybe you installed Ghost with Systemworks?? Systemworks is a memory hog, but Ghost is the least of your worries in that package. Even CleanSweep has more running processes than Ghost.
     
  23. ReallyTrying

    ReallyTrying Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Just when I thought I was out, they drew me back in. :cool:

    OK, I've been reading all the threads - horror stories - about TI 9. Well, I have one to tell, and so I just had to register and jump into the mix.

    Have a Dell Dimension XPS T600r Pentium III, 512 MB RAM, 20 GB HDD (Quantum Fireball), Belkin USB 2.0 PCI card added, and running Windows 98SE (all MS updates), Symantec Internet Security 2005, and Spy Sweeper. Want to convert to WinXP Pro, but want to back up first. Bought TI 9.0 (NewEgg - boxed) and installed. Formatted and partitioned (1=FAT32, 1-NTFS) USB external drive (Seagate 80GB IDE ATA/100 7200 in Cintre ZDisc external storage) successfully with TI. Then tried to do a full backup/image - first to the external drive. Following wizard setup, proceeded: Analyzing (step 1 of 2) was OK (LED on external drive showed access). But when Creating Image copy started ... PC LOCKED UP! Reset. Tried backing up a folder to my C: drive. LOCKED UP at same step. Downloaded current update (Build 2337) and installed. Tried all scenarios again. LOCKED UP! (At least it's consistent...) Logs show same scenario, stopping at Creating Image Copy. Opened ticket with Acronis Support earlier today. Will wait for fix. (Not holding my breath, especially after reading all the posts.)

    Is TI 9 Stable Now? Doesn't appear to be anywhere near it. Bought it 'cause TI 8 was receiving rave reviews. Guess TI 9 is still in early beta (o_O ). Any advice, helpful hints, moral support, etc., would be appreciated. I'll provide an update when I hear back from Acronis. Will also try some of the suggestions from the posts (e.g., unhooking all other USB connections, shutting down Symantec and Spy Sweeper, plus creating Rescue disk (?) to try from instead of from Windows.
     
  24. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Really Trying,
    The first thing to check is that have removed and installed build 2337 correctly. Open Help, about and confirm that it shows 2337. If it does not run uninstall from Add/Remove programs and re install 2337.

    From my own regular use and testing Version 9 became stable and totally reliable with the advent of the 2337 build.

    Xpilot
     
  25. ReallyTrying

    ReallyTrying Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Xpilot,

    Thanks for your suggestion. Here's the latest:

    I verified that I do have Build 2337. However, since I did not uninstall TI 9 Build 2323 before upgrading, I uninstalled and then installed Build 2337. Tried a folder backup to Desktop on C: ... LOCKED UP! Just like before. Reset. Disabled Spy Sweeper and Symantec Internet Security (including AntiVirus Auto-Protect) and tried again. LOCKED UP! Reset.

    Since I had not run the Acronis Report utility as recommended, I downloaded and ran it. System seemed to lock up at the *Processing, please wait* window. But then the mouse hour glass appeared (and I was able to move the mouse pointer) and noticed hard disk activity. But then it did lock up. Task Manager showed Spy Sweeper not responding. Tried to End Task. LOCKED UP! Reset. After startup, noticed that report.txt had been created. But only 2 lines: hard disk info. Renamed report.txt. Disabled Spy Sweeper and Internet Security and AntiVirus Auto-Protect and tried Report Utility again. Same sluggish start, but disk activity continued longer. Then stopped - hung. Task Manager showed Acronisreport not responding. Tried to End Task. LOCKED UP! Reset. After startup, noticed another report.txt was created - this time with much more info: Hard disk analysis, config.sys and autoexec.bat printout, root directory printout, and a few more lines of ReportDisks Ok and ReportOss Ok and Speed IFace Hs-Bs-Tg Model info, etc. Disabled same stuff and tried again (to see if this was repeatable and whether report was completed). Same scenario - LOCKED UP! and Reset. New report.txt had more info than first try, but less info than 2nd. Conclusion is that Report Utility not completing before lockups.

    During the last 4 days of fighting this issue (all non-working waking hours), I think I have set a record for the number of system resets. :'( It's a shame that with all the helpful people trying to help each other struggle through these problems, Acronis has yet to solve the apparent myriad of problems. I'm just amazed that TI 9.0 was released in such an unfinished - and evidently untested - state.

    I do appreciate your help. (FYI - My current Acronis ticket is #533528.)

    And yes, I am still Really Trying...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.