Is this something like FDISR?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by aigle, Mar 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Interesting. I think there may be only one way to find out. Play.
     
  3. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    it has bee around a while but there is no trial?
     
  4. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Great find aigle. Interesting.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Well, yes there is no trial, and I tried to get on the forum and my IP is blocked. So.... I no play.
     
  6. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,558
    Great find aigle. :cool: :thumb:

    I gave it a run.

    HyperOs 10PCs-In-1 is very,very similar to Firstdefense-ISR.

    The main differense is that does not need a bootsector to run. The preboot system is a mini windows enviroment, that is activated when you need to change between snapshots. (This means that it reboots twice to achieve it, since it use the windows bootmanager).
    The other difference is that you cannot create an empty snapshot but you can import snapshots from backups.

    Differenses between "HyperOs 10PCs-In-1" and "HyperOs 2009TE
    You can download a trial of HyperOs XPCs-In-1 from www.dualboot.biz .

    Panagiotis
     
  7. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Just tried it with VirtualBox and it seems so, it's easy to use and pretty fast.
    Archives can be stored to other drives and opened with e.g. 7-zip.
    The snapshots on the boot partition are just folders without any protection, that's a bit queer.

    But... with the 10PCs-In-1 version it's only possible to use the same OS for all 10 snapshots.

    Only Geek and SuperGeek versions allow more than one OS, but I cannot find trails for it.

    However, it's really strange that there is a program like this around for many years and nearly no one at Wilders knows about it. :eek:
    There is only one thread from 2005.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=112251

    Cheers
     
  8. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,130
    Looks pretty awesome, this one I will have to try and soon. Thanks
     
  9. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    Does look very good - will have play in a VM - looks like archiving might work by copying off
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    I've been playing a bit myself. Was slow in the virtual machine. Also what I didn't get a chance to test. Once I make an off disk backup, which was with winrar, and I change one file, does it just update the backup, or completely make a new one. That would be terribly wasteful

    But is it like FDISR? Nope on one big failing. Let say I have two snapshots on disk, and one archive. I can sit in my primary snapshot, trash the windows area, so when I reboot, I can't get into my system. At that point, I can use the F1 boot into the second snapshot and recover.

    With this program, the same thing is fatal. There is no preboot, that allows you to get to the 2nd computer. I tried. No soap.

    Pete
     
  11. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    There is a Pre-Boot menu if I switch the snapshots with XP.

    PreBoot.png

    But it does not appear if I just restart the PC.
    This may be a limitation of the trial, as this site shows:
    "If Windows crashes and won't restart, use the boot menu to switch to another system (full version only)."
    http://www.hyperossystems.co.uk/help.htm

    And there is a setting for this Pre-Boot menu in the trial version.

    PreBootOption.png

    HyperOS seems to struggle with this hidden partition of Windows 7 just like FD-ISR.
    I tried it with Win7 x64 with this 100MB partition and got some strange program and boot messages.

    This 10PCs-In-1 version is too limited anyway, Geek and SuperGeek (odd names btw) are the real deal.
    There is a thread about Folder OS (= xPCs-In-1) vs Partition OS (= Geek and SuperGeek).
    http://www.hyperosforum.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2459

    It's seemingly much safer and makes more sense, as there can be different OS in the partitions, each partition can be cloned etc, like described here:
    http://www.hyperossystems.co.uk/07042003/software.htm#hyperos2006

    Cheers
     
  12. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Thanks for updating us on your test drives. Hope your hair isn't too messy :p
     
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Arg, didn't catch that. That makes the trial a waste of time. Did you trying refreshing a back up, or does it just make a new one.

    Anyway question to self: Since I have FDISR and it works on both flavors of win 7 why am I wasting my time.

    Interesting aside. I did clean Win 7 installs both 32 and 64 bit using the full MS versions, not OEM, and I did nothing special and I didn't get the 100mb partition.
     
  14. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041

    Win7 32 bit version seems to work fine with the hidden partition in my VM. FDISR works fines on my real system with the hidden partition up front
     
  15. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041


    why not ...... without knowing the FD road map it is hard to say if the new version is something I will use on more than one machine.

    On most of my machines I'm going to continue with the Vista MBR and the older version
     
  16. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    Um only a problem if the hidden partition is active part and the boot loader is there.

    set C partition active - makes windows un-bootable
    use shadowprotect desktop rescue disk to reinstall bootloader

    should all work again - hidden partition still intact just not used
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.