Is this script safe to use pleeeease help

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by cet, Nov 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    3 Days ago I started a thread ''urgent help please,no screensaver tab in display properties''
    Some of you tried to help me.But no luck.After doing a lot of research I found this page:http://windowsxp.mvps.org/tips3.htm Ramesh's site Ramesh Srinivasan,
    Microsoft MVP - Windows Shell/User
    and a script to Restore missing tabs to the display properties dialog.Can this script be harmful??
     
  2. controler

    controler Guest

    Which number of posting is it?
    You can view the script in notpad

    Also have you tried this?




    2.
    print these instructions.
    3.
    Click Start, and then click Shut Down.

    4.
    In the list, click Restart, and then click OK.

    5.
    When you see the message Please select the operating system to start, press F8.

    6.
    Use the arrow keys to highlight Last Known Good Configuration, and then press ENTER.

    NUM LOCK must be off before the arrow keys on the numeric keypad will function.

    7.
    Use the arrow keys to highlight an operating system, and then press ENTER.

    When did this happen? After installing some software or after a maleware infection?
     
  3. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Look's fine. Preview as both site, and controler suggest.
    Ramesh? One of Window's best.

    GF
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2007
  4. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    Wow,it worked.I tried all the registry fixes from http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_tweaks.htm
    no:128 and 285 no luck.
    I did:HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\ Policies\System

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\ Policies\System

    create or modify dword value called "NoDispScrSavPage"
    Set its value to 0 for disable
    restart window for setting to take effects
    no luck.
    I tried 2 restore points no luck.
    But this script worked like a charm.
    I had cleaned a lot of registry last week.Maybe that was the cause.LESSON:Cet has to backup his registry regularly.Lol
    For the ones who need help this is the link:http://www.winhelponline.com/articl...ng-tabs-to-the-Display-properties-dialog.html
     
  5. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    The script if you noticed re-register's two 'potentially' unregistered dll's.
    Code:
    regsvr32.exe shell32.dll -i -s
    regsvr32.exe themeui.dll -s
    GF
     
  6. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    Thanks for checking further.If they were unregistered dll's am I in danger.I do online banking.Please help.Does that mean before I was using unregisterd dlls.I had tried mcafee antispyware and uninstalled it using revo uninstaller.(old version from a PC net magazine)Can it be the cause.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2007
  7. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    That's correct, fine. Unregistered referring to the 'state' of this type component. See here.

    GF
     
  8. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    I was in danger.But I used nod32 online scanner ,kaspersky online scanner they found nothing.I use antivir premium it found nothing.I also scanned with superantispyware avg, and spybot and they all came out clean.That old mcafee thing might have caused this.What dou you advice me to do nowo_O
    I also sent my hijackthis log to the forums and waiting for a response.
     
  9. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Not from that script you weren't. Playing with registry cleaner's well, they'll probably get you in more trouble than they'll get you out of, and may have been your issue to begin with. Yes, I'm aware your hjt ~ as of earlier this morning ~ is still pending.

    GF
     
  10. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    Thanks,so I can do online banking.But after today I will not install and uninstall many applications,and not do registry cleaning frequently.This is my home PC and I have never formatted it.I was using win 98 on this PC, I bought win XP home installed it over.I am using it nearly 6 years.I got older that time.My hair dlls changed to white. LOL So it is not surprising for my PC dlls to become unregistered.
    How can I find out if there are any more unregistered dlls.Is it safe to use Dial-a-fix .This is my last question,sorry to bother you.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2007
  11. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    I'm not sure but would suspect the possibility should one of your program's suddenly become either unresponsive, or plain not work. XP's registry in general need's no cleaning unless a particular entry is known to be the cause. Think you know better than these MVP's?

    No format's? Because you haven't felt the need or weren't sure what to expect?
    XP Home, on disk? Desktop or laptop?

    Dial-A-Fix? Your best answer would be supplied by the author.


    GF
     
  12. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    No format's! Because I haven't felt the need .XP home on desktop.I also own a vista premium laptop but I love this desktop.I always used tune up utilities and registry mechanic.I am sure revo uninstaller advanced cleaning caused this.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.