is this data recovery software good?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by iceni60, Oct 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    has anyone tried this data recovery software called RESTORE? it comes as a livecd, or VM and maybe some other versions i think. i don't know anything else about it! and i don't know anything about backup software either.
    http://restore.holonyx.com/
    http://restore.holonyx.com/index.php/about-restore
    here's the livecd download -
    http://restore.holonyx.com/index.php?option=com_docman&task=cat_view&gid=34&Itemid=1
    i found some screenshots -
    http://sourceforge.net/project/screenshots.php?group_id=198657

    i did backup some stuff to an unused HDD once, but everything else is on a few CDs, i want to start making proper backups now.
     
  2. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    I'll try it in a bit and let you know how it goes.

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  3. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    If you want to make backup images and you have a seagate or maxtor hard drive you can try seagate discwizard or maxtor maxblast 5. Both are free to use if you have either of those brands. Both are based on acronis trueimage 10.
     
  4. clambermatic

    clambermatic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Posts:
    216
    "iceni60" howdy...

    If 'data recovery' is what you meant by backups... for the purpose of having a workable copy to fall back on when crash occur on your machine, then i would suggest trying Acronis 'TrueImage' (known for it's proven integral usefullness in OS backups)!

    BUT if your 'data recovery' means recovering "data" (docx/emails/e-files at HDD) due to unintentional deletions or file corruptions or even HDD mechanical crash (it happen, due to old age), i & at work uses this Indian engineered - STELLAR Phoenix, of which its url is ~ http://www.stellarinfo.com/

    ... Shalom ;)
     
  5. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i just looked through the forum at Restore and it looks like it's still beta and things are still being added. and it might need a lot of linux knowledge too o_O
    http://restore.holonyx.com/index.php?option=com_fireboard&Itemid=65&func=view&id=17&catid=9

    farmerlee and clambermatic, thanks for the help, but i'm not going to buy anything for making backups :eek: lol. i only use linux, but i don't know how relevant that is??

    the main reason i want something is because i have a few brand new unused HDDs, yesterday i wanted to backup some stuff - mainly config files for certain programs and note taking programs, bookmarks, rss feeds and loads of ebooks. that all came to over 700MB, so i didn't do it in the end and thought i'd look for some backup software i could use instead. maybe i'll backup more things that way, or maybe even start imaging. i think i want a HDD enclosure too.
     
  6. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    Well I looked at Restore and it's live cd is Xubuntu version of linux. I could not find a way to backup using it. So yes it is not that simple at least not for me and I have used quite a few backup apps.

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  7. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    it looks like he said to do an upgrade to update restore so more bugs are fixed and other features added.
    http://restore.holonyx.com/index.php?option=com_fireboard&Itemid=65&func=view&id=17&catid=9#19

    you can do that like this if you want to try it -
    sudo aptitude update && sudo aptitute upgrade

    then you have to restart restore, maybe like this -
    sudo /etc/init.d/restore stop
    sudo /etc/init.d/restore start

    if restore is wrong and not in that directory it might be something with a slightly different name.

    but, it does look like a linux program, i didn't notice that when i posted! or didn't think it would be so complicated, it might not be worth updating everything if you're not in to linux so much.
     
  8. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    it looks like he wants to get the program moving with more devs, so maybe if you try doing those updates in a month or so there'll be some big improvments.
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    No offense to anyone using linux, but if you are backing up, presumably what you want to back up is valuable. Use something proven reliable. If you want to test this program, fine, but backup with something reliable first.
     
  10. Lamehand

    Lamehand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    the Netherlands,very near to the North sea
    I use Clonezilla, it's free and reliable, for imaging different drives and partitions.
    On top of that i backup all data to an external drive.

    If something goes wrong the system is back up and working in no time.

    http://clonezilla.sourceforge.net/

    If you backup your /home partition on a regular basis (i do this with a cronjob every day) you are always up to date.When something goes wrong it's easy to restore the image of the linux partition and after that install the latest or an earlier /home directory.

    Lamehand
     
  11. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,504
    You can use either Acronis on Paragon to make Linux images if you work from the rescue disk. Paragon recently had a free version available and is often on Computer Mag cover disks.

    There is a image program for Linux but is way to complicated for me.
     
  12. garret

    garret Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Hello all,

    RESTORE has been running in production environments for about 5 years now, but as originally coded, in PHP. The version we are finishing now is in RoR, quite unique for this product space. We opened it as an open source project because there doesn't seem to be anything on this level out there as such.

    The confusions about getting it going might be based more on the version than the application itself. The first release is the Data Center Version, which takes considerable more effort to start initially than the coming versions. I have posted a wink tutorial on Sourceforge that might help Here.

    Also, we are working on the docs, moving code bases helped with features but killed us on using existing docs :).

    If you need help the forums are working pretty well now also.

    Thanks for trying us out, and I hope I haven't over stepped my bounds here.
    Garret
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.