Is this an OverKill? How should I streamline it? Should I get VoodooShield?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by GrammatonCleric, Jun 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    And will VooDooShield Play nice with the setup.

    So I have a 32GB of RAM running on a 5.4Ghz Corei7 CPU and a 512gb SSD as my main boot drive.

    The OS is Windows 8 64bit.

    I have:
    ESET 6
    Emisisoft Antimalware 7
    Online Armor PAID
    WebRoot Secure Anywhere Complete (the full suite)
    Malwarebytes Paid and running RealTime
    Sandboxie 4.03 Paid
    EMET 4 Non-Beta
     
  2. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    Lol, that's 4 real-time scanners. I would call that overkill. Out of what you have I'd recommend WSA + VoodooShield (or Sandboxie if you haven't purchased VS yet) + MBAM on-demand + EMET.
     
  3. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    I have no idea of what you are trying to accomplish with that needless setup.
     
  4. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Everything is fine, the only think you really need to do is reduce the amount of real time scanners.
    Keep 1 realtime scanner + 1 on demand scanner.
    The realtime scanner + OA + SBIE configured properly should prevent almost everything. :rolleyes:
     
  5. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,509
    Have you tried adding a few more security suites to the mix?
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2013
  6. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    974
    Location:
    Paris
    Please oh please oh please let this be sarcasm...
     
  7. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,509
  8. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,695
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
  9. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    Holy moly :eek:
     
  10. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    A computer is not supposed to run security softwares Only

    But with that setup you give the feeling that, that is exactly what you are doing, or trying to do :D

    Is it an overkill? o_O Yes it is big time. :thumb: But I actually think you knew that already :)
     
  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,724
    Location:
    localhost
    LoL :D
     
  12. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    Is it not? But that's why I got a computer :D
     
  13. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    What cpu is that and what kind of cooling do you got going on? I'm guessing a custom water loop?
     
  14. nosirrah

    nosirrah Malware Fighter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    561
    Location:
    Cummington MA USA
    Even if you have crazy cooling that speed is not a bright idea. I have solid cooling on my rig and only use 4.6 for the turbo multiplier (meaning when pushed the system clocks up to 4.6ghz). That way 99% of the time not only is it NOT overclocked, it actually is underclocked to around 1.4 ghz. Running a pure overclock not only makes your CPU run as fast as it can at all time, it completely disables all forms of power saving tech. Its like putting a big engine in a car and then holding down the gas peddle at all time, totally crazy.

    The only way you can run at 5.4Ghz is to employ something like phase change or other kind of refrigeration based cooling. Anything based on ambient temp air wont get you there.

    Something tells me that the OP may live in 123 fake street in Springfield. (gold star if you get the reference)
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2013
  15. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    All this makes me feel bad about my 2.7 GHz Sempron 140 w/1 Gb RAM... :blink:
     
  16. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    :)

    Yeap I am running that setup...honestly I don't see much of an impact. I have disabled some of the RT scanners and did my FarCry 3 and 3dMark Benchmark yesterday...the difference was about 4%. So 4% out of 40 FPS FC3 is not that bad.

    I have the licensees, I had a lot more PC's before, I cut down the number to just a few, I have leftover LIC and since they are going to expire anyhow, I felt like I could use them. I could disable the Real Time Guard in Emisisoft and just use the MAMUTU portion. The same can be said about Malwarebytes and just leave the webguard...the question is...will it save any resources if those two security solutions are still resident in memory?

    Yes it's a CoreI7 Ivy Bridge with Peltier Cold head against the CPU keeping it at about 25C maxed out with ambient of 24C along with a custom Danger Den water loop against the Peltier Hot Side to draw the heat, connected to Black ICE PRO III radiator with 6 Scythe 120mm fans in Push/Pull Configuration (all custom setup).
    I disabled all C0, C1 and power saving states of the CPU. I am not running a peltier cooler to have the CPU switch states. I have my power saving options in my UTM rack and my laptop, not my gaming PC. It's overclocked for a reason.
    Yes it's stable at 5.4Ghz...well ok more like 5.388 if I got 5.4 I get random BSOD after few min/hours.
     
  17. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    974
    Location:
    Paris
    I knew someone a while ago that not only had a similar waaaaay overkill security setup like the OP, but also had 3 or 4 different registry cleaners, Ccleaner and clones, and for imaging had Macrium, Acronis, AND Ghost.

    Did I mention he also had System Mechanic and Norton Utilities?

    The guy didn't need a computer; he needed therapy.
     
  18. nosirrah

    nosirrah Malware Fighter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    561
    Location:
    Cummington MA USA
    I overclock for a reason as well and don't disable anything at all. I don't want my CPU going at its limit every second that it is on, only when it is actually cranking on something. Doing turbo OC only how high can you go? If its about the same you should really look into taking advantage of the CPU lifespan saving tech built into the K and X type intel chips.
     
  19. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    I would certainly add VoodooShield.
    And another 32GB memory and another 512GB SSD for a RAID setup and for sure a third GPU, just for Physics and all powered by a 2500W PSU, as a minimum.
    And then add another security layer.
     
  20. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372

    True, I might test that out.
    I disabled TURBO OC since as you might imagine it was causing lock-ups as soon as it decided to switch.

    HAHA for the 2100 Watt PSU...unfortunately the US law only allows for at max 1800 Watt draw from the wall. :) I have an ANTEC 1200 Watt High Current PSU that powers all this...and the 590GTX card.

    My wife has her shoe hobby I have my PC. We all have our stupidity times, this is mine. When I come back home after a crazy day at work I like to blow off steam playing a game or two, currently unfortunately I have wasted too much time on Kerbal Space Program. So all this beefy PC for a simple game...but boy I can make some mean rockets.

    As for the SSD for RAID...it won't help much, not much use for it. The SAMSUNG SSD already nearly saturates the SATA 6 Gb/s bus. As for the 32Gigs of RAM, I would if I could since I do large amount of Mathlab work but alas I only have 4 dimm slots. I have a low power GeForce Gen 3 card dedicated to PHYSX so the 590 can do pure graphics...so yeah I have the 3rd GPU. (I know you were sarcastic, but just being a bigger person here).



    http://i.imgur.com/6DFvZiw.png
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2013
  21. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    Ok so my question now is:

    Should I uninstall the other solutions or just disable their real time components?

    I.E.:

    Emisisoft Leave as it but just disable File Guard and leave everything else intact.

    Malware Bytes Leave as is and just Disable FileSystem Protection

    ETC.
     
  22. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    Uninstall. I've been told simply disabling real-time protections in conflicting programs doesn't work as the drivers can conflict.
     
  23. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    I can't answer this for you
    overkill or not is your own choice, as long everything run smoothly.

    but I sincerely think, this is a very good test case.
    I really want to find out what is the effect of prolonged use of 4 real time anti malware + 1 hips firewall in a very high end machine.
    please do tell us in 3 months time.
     
  24. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372

    Been running this for at least 3 months. NO issues. Had the same setup in Win7, updated to Win8 about 4 months ago, no issues. Now that sandboxie is 4.03 and Win8 64bit compatible I really have no issues. HOWEVER, I have to disable ESET 6 HIPS or else it conflicts with Sandboxie. Too many low level drivers.
     
  25. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    ~ Snipped as per TOS ~, now that MAMUTU is dead I might have to choose another thing to uninstall besides EMISISOFT, since I am running that mostly for MAMUTU sake.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 29, 2013
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.