Is this a joke that the new 4.0.417.0 flags prevx edge as malware???

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by softtouch, Apr 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. softtouch

    softtouch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Posts:
    415
    I have prevx edge installed since yesterday, and had nod32 v4.0.xxx (the version before the 4.0.417.0, for got which version number), and all was absolutely fine.
    Today, I installed the new 4.0.417.0, and the first what it did was to flag prevx edge as malware!

    4/2/2009 2:33:58 PM Startup scanner file C:\Program Files\Prevx\prevx.exe probably a variant of Win32/Genetik trojan

    IS THIS A JOKE?

    I restarted twice, and twice it was flagged as malware.
    After the 3rd. start, it stopped flagging it.

    Is nod32 a little bit to hyper sensitive? Some user might panic and allow nod32 to delete prevx...
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Are you sure you have the latest version of the signature db 3982 installed?
     
  3. softtouch

    softtouch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Posts:
    415
    Yes, 3982 (20090402)

    Strange is that it stopped after the 3rd reboot... now all is back to normal.
     
  4. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,951
    Location:
    USA
    Same problem here. After a fresh install of NOD 32 V4 it flagged Prevx Edge as malware. It didn't give me an option to ignore the detection, and it removed prevx Edge from my computer.
     
  5. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hello,

    Can you restore it from quarantine? Do you have detection of potentially unwanted applications and/or detection of potentially unsafe applications enabled?

    Regards,

    Mark.
     
  6. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,951
    Location:
    USA
    No, i can't restore it from the quarantine. I did have potentially unwanted software selected. I removed NOD 32 from my system. I'm using Avira again. I may try NOD 32 again when they come out with V 4.1....
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    It's my understanding (via PrevexHelp) that NOD detects each new version of Prevex Edge as malware. Perhaps the respective vendors can put their heads together and fix this.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.