Is this a high CPU usage?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, May 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I am feeling that my system is using CPU excessively while idle and surfing. I am posting the task manager snapshots. This first one is taken with system idle.
     

    Attached Files:

    • cpu1.JPG
      cpu1.JPG
      File size:
      110.4 KB
      Views:
      184
  2. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    This 2nd snapshot is taken while surfing on dial up with opera browser and multiple open tabs. Is it normal or high?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Lamehand

    Lamehand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    the Netherlands,very near to the North sea
    Where those tabs opened on sites with a lot of graphics displayed?, that could be an explanation for the high usage.But on the other hand, I don't see much difference between idle state and when you're browsing, but i see a lot of other processes running and the browser doesn't use is not excessive when you look at the process (opera.exe 35,324 K).

    Lamehand
     
  4. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    55 processes seemed like a lot to me. Do you have multiple profiles on the machine. Then again I`m pretty anal about keeping a very stripped down system. :D
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I have only Administrator account.
    About 55 proceses-- there are about 7 related to yahoo widgets, 1 mobile meter, then multiple security appliances etc. So I think it is the reason.
    But I am surprized the Task Manager itself using more than 10% CPU!!
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I agree. I only have 27.
     
  7. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    The absolute number of processes is not the issue.

    I have 56, but I see that the OP has lots of "high" memory use stuff that is not really needed, e.g., the yahoo stuff.

    Clean out the unnecessary stuff.
     
  8. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Very true. As I said, I can be pretty anal about running a bare bones "running in background" type of machine. :oops: If I were not on a mixed network with shared printers and other resources I would have even fewer. Mix in my defensive apps. Well, what can you do? Heck, I do`t even run a screen saver. :eek:
     
  9. Lamehand

    Lamehand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    the Netherlands,very near to the North sea
    I agree, i think 'less is better' and you can stop all those themes aswell in XP, i find that one of the great features in it.

    Lamehand
     
  10. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
  11. Lamehand

    Lamehand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    the Netherlands,very near to the North sea
    Yes, it's been very good to me too, i use it on both my XP-installs.
    It's a shame his site went of the internet. :(

    Lamehand
     
  12. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    What you need first and foremost is more ram - you only have 512M.
    On my biggest machine I run ~ 55-60 processes, at only ~ 250-280M and never feel a slowdown whatsoever. But then I have 2G ram.
    Mrk
     
  13. rafael

    rafael Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Posts:
    48
    Adding more memory ( RAM ) is the most cost effective way of improving performance.

    In my older system having 512 MB Ram, I have 34 processes running, cpu usage at 1 % peak ( 99 % system idle process ).

    Suggest you google search EndItAll. The freeware version could help you tame your processes the safe way.
     
  14. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Evem though my ram usage is usually less than 80 percent?
     
  15. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    Your peak is as high as your physical memory - means you need more.
    Mrk
     
  16. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    OK, Thanks.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.