Is this a good Backup Plan?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mranybody, Apr 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mranybody

mranybody Registered Member

I'm new to TI 11, so I just want to run my plan past you in the hope I'm OK and understanding the manual correctly.

Please excuse me if I'm stating the obvious.

I'm going to do a fresh install of Vista / Office 07 and all updates. I then want to create a disk image (System State) before I add anything else to my system. I intend to use this if my HD goes belly up or just to give a clean install to improve performance every few months. This I will only use in emergencies.

Then I would like to create another disk image (system state) which will be updated every now and then and will include all other apps etc. If I did it more often it could act as restore points.

I then plan to create separate full backups of my data, app settings and email and add differential backups to that daily by schedule. This will be separate full / differential backups for Documents (which will be on a dialy schedule), Pictures & Downloads (maybe every 2 weeks) etc etc.

I think I'm familiar now with how to set that up by creating new File Catagories in the Backup Creation Wizard.

My questions are:
    Is it then possible to do a full restore using my first disk image then add the master and differential backups of data / settings / email to give me a clean install with all my latest data?

To create my first image is the 'Disk and Partitions' option more appropiate than 'System State'. Of course, there will be no data files on the system at that time so is 'System State' adequate for my purpose?

Is TI's Disk Cloning function more appropiate for the emergency or clean reinstall I'm thinking about?