Is this a firewall?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Doodler, Mar 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Doodler

    Doodler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Posts:
    219
    I have read that a router automatically serves as a one-way (inbound) firewall. I have a Westell Veralink model 327W. Not sure if this is a router or modem and whether it automatically serves as a one-way firewall. I've tried googling this question, but couldn't find a clear answer. Anyone here know for sure?
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It is a modem router and firewall ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
  4. Doodler

    Doodler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Posts:
    219
    Thanks for the quick response. I'm a bit naive about this issue, so bear with me. Two follow-up questions:

    1) I'm assuming that the firewall with this product is not something I have to configure, but rather it is simply built into it and is automatically active. Correct?
    2) Yesterday I went to Gibsons Research Center's web site and ran ShieldsUP! As noted above, I'm connected via the Westell Versalink 327W. My Windows Firewall is also turned on. I passed the File Sharing test at ShieldsUP!, but failed the Common Ports test because ping reply was detected. I checked my Windows firewall settings; no entries in the Exceptions tab are checked and no entries in the ICMP section of the Advanced tab are checked. I don't know much about this subject or how to fix this ping issue on my system (or even if it's serious). Help is appreciated (the simpler the explanation, the better). Thanks again!
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    There should be a configuration associated with your router where you can setup the firewall beyond default settings. There should be instructions in the documation that came with your router. It should be rather simple.:thumb:
     
  6. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    My 2Wire Gateway DSL modem failed the full stealth and echo ping. So I went into my firewall set up by typing in 192.168.... and I fully stealthed my firewall and all is well. I had no software firewall installed at the time either.
     
  7. Doodler

    Doodler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Posts:
    219

    We got the modem/router via our phone company. There was a cd-rom that came with it that provided setup instructions, but nothing about firewall stuff. Guess I'll have to give the phone company a call.
     
  8. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
  9. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    When you set up your account with the ISP, the user name and password
    you created is used to identify your connection to your ISP. They
    are NOT your router login credentials. By Googling "westell 327w password"
    you (and anybody else) can find out your default router address, and
    default username and password. Type the router address into your
    browser address box and hit "Go", or whatever, to access your
    router. Log in to the configuration menu and check your firewall
    settings. I have a Westell 6100, and it came from the factory with
    the firewall turned off. Oh, & if you have not already done so, change
    the default router password to something secure.
     
  10. Doodler

    Doodler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Posts:
    219
    Thanks. This was helpful.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.