Is there a way to disable Prevx CSI's autostart with windows?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by bonedriven, Mar 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    I unticked all in its schedual features. It doesn't work.

    I tried to untick it in msconfig but can't find it there.

    I only want to use it as an on demand tool. But it keeps starting along with windows.

    Maybe I missed something?
     
  2. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Europa
    Hi bonedriven,

    You can go in the services of windows (start/run/services.msc), and look at
    CSIScanner and stop it, but if you do that maybe you can't use CSI.

    Regards

    Rules.
     
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello,
    CSI does require that it starts automatically with Windows so that it will work with fast user switching and multiple user accounts, to prevent malware tampering of CSI itself, to facilitate the self protection drivers, to manage detection on an already infected computer, and a whole host of other reasons :)

    You can, however, enable the tray icon in CSI and then right click on the tray icon and choose Shutdown CSI, which will terminate it, but this is not recommended because of the aforementioned reasons :D
     
  4. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565

    OK OK

    I just want to disable its autostart though.
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    There is no way to disable the autostart without severely limiting its functionality, especially on a system which may be infected.
     
  6. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    Hi Rules,

    It actually works. I had tried to find it there before but missed the "CSIScanner" service.

    Now I make it manual instead of automatic. It seems working fine here.

    Thanks.:thumb:
     
  7. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    I did what Rules said. It seems everything's fine. I can use Prevx CSI to scan on demand now.

    Is there a problem?
     
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It's "fine", but if you do end up getting infected, CSI may not be able to defend itself against malware terminating it, and it won't work under limited user accounts.
     
  9. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    OK.

    Thanks for your info.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.