is there a way to backup w10 start menu layout with a bat file?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mantra, Oct 5, 2015.

  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    Hi
    is there a way to backup/restore/reset windows 10 start menu layout with a bat files ?

    maybe without errors :)
    i found several site with steps by steps , i created a bat file ,run as administrator , but after coping the files,can not have explorer.exe working


    thanks
     
  2. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    @mantra I just did a quick look on Google, and there were plenty of links for a batch file which only worked on preview builds. Another link gave a command to enter in PowerShell, but that just returned an error.

    It would be nice to know how to do it, as from time to time, the layout of my start menu, gets messed up for no reason.
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    To fix a messed up Start Menu I suggest restoring a backup image taken when the Start Menu was fine.
     
  4. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    hi Roger
    sadly the preview builts is different to the final version
     
  5. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    @Brian K That's not a viable option for me as I install new software more often than I backup. Also, it's much quicker to restore a Smart Menu backup than an image.
     
  6. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    hi Brian
    it's not mess up , i want just to backup it
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    OK. An image backup would be my choice.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Roger, I'd say you aren't backing up frequently enough. An image backup should take less than two minutes. A restore should take less than two minutes. Unless of course you have your data files in the OS partition. But that's your choice.
     
  9. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    What program images & restores that quickly & will it work on W7x64? Thanks.
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Any imaging app will do that if you don't put your data files in the OS partition. Keep the OS partition lean and mean.

    Edit.. My test computer has a UEFI Win10 install with only a few apps installed and no data files in the OS partition. An OS restore takes 29 seconds. I know, it's not a typical system.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2015
  11. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    I have my data files on my OS partition. Maybe this is less than ideal, but old habbits die hard.
     
  12. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    My OS W7Px64 with all programs is ~37GB without data files. Takes 12-18 minutes each way using the ancient EaseUS Todo Backup Advanced Server v4.5. It's never failed me, even to dissimilar hardware through hundreds of restores to dozens of different hardware.
     
  13. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    @zapjb My Windows 10 install and programs takes up a bit over 40GB, but I have a lot of data files as well, which make the total disk space used much bigger.
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    My Win10 partition (three year old OS, upgraded from Win8.1) has 24.5 GB of Used Space. PageFile is 2.4 GB. There is no Hibernation file. My data files are 360 GB.
     
  15. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,069
    I have Windows 7 x64 install with Office 2010 and some other apps that is 23 GB (including 2 GB pagefile) in size. It takes Macrium Reflect v.5 6 minutes for full backup and approx. 2 minutes for incremental. I backup my system from SSD to separate data HDD.
     
  16. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
    :)
    hi mates , does somebody how backup/restore windows 10 start menu ?
     
  17. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,069
  18. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,149
  19. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,069
    No, sorry, I've moved from Windows 8 back to Windows 7, so I can't test it right now.
     
  20. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
  21. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
  22. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Well I just imaged my OS with Macrium Reflect WinPE BootCD x64. Same everything & it took ~8 minutes longer than EaseUS. It was 4-5GB larger than the EaseUS image. Same OS, compression & priority for each image.
     
Loading...