Is there a product that will clean a Windows installation like it was a new install?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by apathy, Aug 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. apathy

    apathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    9th Circle of Hell(Florida)
    I don't always use Windows, and the few times I do I would like it to work. The computer I bought had a repair partition which I promptly, accidentally removed. Is there a product that will clean the hell out of Windows 7, possibly better than CCleaner?
     
  2. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
    DiskMax does a more thorough cleanup that CCleaner does and you may want to take a look at this. But, there's nothing which will do what you are looking for.

    If you don't use your computer much, and you're not constantly installing new software, you shouldn't have too many problems anyway.
     
  3. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Try PrivaZer ;)

    w.png
     
  4. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
    I don't think that is what he is looking for. Apathy doesn't want to move files left over from a previous install of Windows, but rather junk which has been added to the current Windows install.
     
  5. Gullible Jones

    Gullible Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,461
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Make the installation as clean as you can, then create a disk image. No need for install DVDs or recovery partitions (in the future), just restore from that disk image and you're good to go.
     
  7. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    I agree.
     
  8. littleturle

    littleturle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Posts:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Toolwiz Care has a very good clean engine. Also it includes a Time freeze.
     
  9. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    what JL said.

    plus everyone should get into disk imaging, i think.
    the benefits are many.
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    This. :thumb:

    Imaging isn't something that is hard to do anyway. Even Windows has a built-in tool for that.
     
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,787
    Agree with this also. The best solution is to do a full image as soon as possible after a new install etc... Good insurance...
     
  12. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    You hit the nail cleanly on the head there.No amount of cleaning or optimizing will come close to having a good,clean image to fall back upon.:thumb:
     
  13. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    If you need software and tips on how to get there, try this link, especially 21.21. Do make a disk image before messing with your system though.
     
  14. Sordid

    Sordid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Posts:
    221
    I don't always use Windows 7 either, but when I do, I use a fresh Digital River SP1 ISO and add necessary drivers as well as the equally deserved Norton trial from the OEM.

    Promptly, accidentally? Hey, I was just joking about the Norton thing. FYI, that factory partition was more bloated than Oprah Winfrey on Taco Tuesday. Its only real purpose is holding your SLP key certificate and those super cool futuristic Hewlett-Packard wallpapers.
     
  15. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    Location:
    France
    I think a product called RefreshPC is trying to do just that. I read somewhere it comes with some crapware optionnally installed. Never tried it myself.

    -http://www.xp-smoker.com/refreshpc.html-
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 1, 2013
  16. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    Very true, you have some fantastic freeware Imaging programs and great Shareware programs too

    Yes, I have Xp Home, the Windows imaging program is buried in the instillation Disk, one has to hunt for it not very obvious it has to be installed. It is easier and better to just buy one.
     
  17. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
    No that's not what it does. What it is does is reset a number of Windows settings to their default state in an attempt to fix problems with Windows. I'm haven't had any success with it myself and Tweaking.com's Windows Repair is much better option for fixing Windows problems.
     
  18. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    A valid licence has to be used with the ISO installation of Windows, right? Those that have PCs with OEM licences can't use the ISO, as far as I'm aware, unless they purchase a full MS product licence.
     
  19. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
    No you can install Windows from an ISO and use the product key on licence sticker on the computer to activate it. It just needs to be same edition of Windows.
     
  20. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,101
    Location:
    Adelaide
  21. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the link TS - very useful information there.

    Back to subject of OEM licences though, if a user has no licence sticker on the product and basic system info gives the OEM product ID, would I be right in saying this isn't the correct key to use? Programs like Speccy appear to pull the 25-character string for the product, and it is this, I assume, that would be required for activation.
     
  22. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
    There are some programs listed here which you can use to retrieve your product key.
     
  23. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    I'd strongly suggest contacting Lenovo and seeing if you can order replacement media for your IdeaPad Z575. If you ever want to sell it, recycle it, give it away, etc., you'll be able to use that media to create a clean install of the operating system on it.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  24. Sordid

    Sordid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Posts:
    221
    Just a heads up. All the OEM SLP keys are already known and actually what allows the DRM to be version specific. So MSFT can't even prevent upgrades once SLIC 2.0 is present. Pretty big oversight.

    Yes, the XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX format string is your key. The shorter string with OEM in it is your product ID. This will be useless on a Digital River ISO because you need your cert also: h**p://reboot.pro/topic/16578-oem-product-activation-clearing-the-crapware/

    Generally all computers with preloaded Windows should have a COA sticker. Try looking inside the chassis or your box's documents. Win8 embeds the number in the bios, no sticker, with other exceptions.

    Anyhow, I would first check for the presence of SLIC 2.0. or else you are going to need that COA code. You could try slui.exe 4/Phone activation but doubt it will work.
     
  25. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,702
    The answer is most likely no.
    Mrk
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.