Is there a problem using 'identical' internal hard drives?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by 2harts4ever, Sep 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 2harts4ever

    2harts4ever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Good morning,

    I am closing in on buying a second internal hard drive so I can test the complete ATI 10 image I made of my present internal hard drive.

    Right now I am using a Compaq Presario AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+, 2411MHz/1.93 GBs RAM, running Windows Xp Home Sp#2., with IE7.

    My current internal drive is a SAMSUNG 160KB 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/133 2GB Cache (Model#SP1604N).

    (1) If I can find the same drive would it be okay to use it in the same computer as the original?

    (2) I have also read where you have to be careful if you are planning on getting a second internal drive larger than your original. It is said that some computers won't accept the additional GBs. Any merit in that statement?

    The only time I would utilize this second drive would be to test my ATI and if and when my original drive goes to the hard drive heaven in the sky. Right now I am storing my ATI 10 images on an external drive I just purchased for that purpose.

    Thanks and regards,

    2harts4ever
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    1. You can use any size. Just have to make sure that if your original is IDE that the replacement is IDE. If SATA then you must use SATA. Unless, of course your system can take both types - and there are some desktops that do.
    2. For extra large drives - most modern systems will take the sizes sold on retail shelves, but best to check with your manufacturer's web site.
     
  3. 2harts4ever

    2harts4ever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Hi DwnNdrty,

    If I keep this up you will be able to claim me as a 'dependent' pretty soon ...lol

    Have you ever heard of any problems with identical model internal drives being recognized when both are installed in the same computer?

    Thanks and regards,

    2harts4ever
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I use identical model drives in a lot of computers. No problems at all. I don't think the computer cares at all and even if it did they have different serial numbers.

    One thing to keep in mind is that if the current drive model you have in your computer is more than a year or so old, then purchasing a "new" model may give you more performace than purchasing the "same" model. They make hard drive improvements all the time.

    When I build a computer, I usually use identical drives (assuming I want/need the same sizes). When I replace a drive, I usually go with the best price/size/warranty available for the size I want/need.
     
  5. 2harts4ever

    2harts4ever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Good afternoon MudCrab,

    I appreciate your response and sharing your experiences with using identical drives in the same computer.

    Thanks and regards,

    2harts4ever
     
  6. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Using the same model drives should not be a problem. I’m using three Seagate 160 GB IDE drives of the same model and it works just fine. I have chosen Seagate because of the five year warranty that they provide. What I do find helpful is to name each drive with something that is significant to me rather than the default name of Local Disk. This is particularily helpful when trying to identify a given drive when using imaging software where the drive letters might not appear as expected.
     
  7. 2harts4ever

    2harts4ever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Hi Bruce,

    Excellent point!

    Thanks and regards,

    2harts4ever
     
  8. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    2harts4ever,
    You may have read in one of the threads about when cloning, Windows should not see the two of the same drive on the first initial bootup after cloning. After first bootup, then an identical drive can be added. Identical in this case is referring to both drives containing the same operating system.
     
  9. 2harts4ever

    2harts4ever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Hi GroverH,

    That was it exactly. Thanks for refreshing my memory as to where I had seen it and also for clearing it up for me.

    Thanks and regards,

    2harts4ever
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.