Is there a new version Out??

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hayc59, Jun 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,128
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    thanks, that is all
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Expect a new version to be marketed around September. ATI home versions have tended to be released in the fall, roughly around September. In fact, this timing has been so regular that some versions have been released before they were ready (the dreaded ATI11 still stands as a paradigm of a product released too soon). Since about the time the new Chief came on board at Acronis and Acronis made a focused effort on enterprise products and sales, updates to ATI home versions has fallen off to one or two minior fix-up editions during the time between new-version releases.
     
  3. SirDrahcir

    SirDrahcir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    So Californicator
    I'm showing a New Version is out already in the UK ATO Home 2009 Build 9770
     
  4. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    The term "Version" is usually reserved for changes before the decimal like Version 10.x 11.x , etc.

    The term "Build" is usually reserved for changes after the decimal, 10.901, 10.902 (not real build numbers, just making a point.)

    If there's a new build available for a particular version in one country that doesn't mean there is one in other countries. The builds and the build numbnering is not the same in all countries. Go to the Acronis site where you registered and look for any new builds there. If you go running around the globe, you'll end up chasing your tail -- worse, you might even catch it. ;)
     
  5. pot2pan

    pot2pan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Posts:
    54
    Build 9770 UK is out. It's an upgrade for my version of TI 2009. I cannot get it to even start a backup and went back to the previous build. Build 9709 is horribly buggy, but at least I can save and restore basic disk images if I unplug USB drives before I start it.

    Build 9769 is out in Germany. Regarding that one, I suggest you check this forum before you think of installing it. In some cases it appears to be making Windows un-bootable.

    Version 11 was the best example of a product released long before it was ready. TI 2009 has beaten that record. I would not be that eager for a new version, it might beat the previous two at that game.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image Home 2009

    I may recommend you subscribe to Acronis newsletters. You can receive Acronis' releases and special promotions information if you sign up at our web site

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  7. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    Dimitry

    I dont know of anyone who has ever had a Acronis email after subscribing informing them about releases. I have been a registered subscriber for over a year and a half and we have had at least 3 versions of ATI2009. I have never received an email.

    These forums also atest to this.

    Please can you post to this forum a copy of the email that us subscribers should have had.

    I just dont believe that it exists, especially as Acronis Support only a few months ago posted in a forum here that there were problems.
     
  8. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    This is my experience after registering for the news letter in Jan 2005.
    Aug 2005 Win a Copy of Version 8.
    Sept 2005 TI 9 is out!
    Sept 2007 TI 11 available.

    Nothing received since 2007 and the rock solid Version 10 which I continue to use never got a mention. New builds never featured.

    The initial reason that I started to subscribe to this News Group was to get upto date news about new builds and Versions. It is easier to scan the posts than to log on the Acronis Web site, YMMV.

    Xpilot
     
  9. Frencho

    Frencho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Spain
    I'm also a subscriber to Acronis newsletter and haven't received any information about the new build, although to be honest I only subscribed a few months ago, so maybe it's a little too early for criticism.
    Anyway, I'd like to ask whether the new build (9769 in my country - Spain)can be relied to handle incremental backups made with the previous build or is it wiser to create a new full backup and going incremental from there?
    Thank you.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Frencho,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    You don't need to create a new backup set. Acronis does not guarantee that images created with a newer build of the product will be supported by older builds. The compatibility of the backup files created by an older build with a newer build within the same version is guaranteed.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  11. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Subscribing to the ATI newsletter is like like throwing a coin in a fountain. You can wish that it will you bring you something you want, but it's really not causally related to anything. Or so it seems it with the alleged existence of email announcements from Acronis re ATI. It is infamous for apparently not actually existing.

    I have gotten an email once or twice from Acronis, but never one announcing new builds.

    It's as if the guy that gets paid for running the announcements/newsletter, is taking credit for all the sign-ups but doesn't actually have to show that he's doing anything else, and therefore isn't. I'm only guessing, of course, but that's the best explanation I've been able to come up with after all these years. ;)
     
  12. sunrisecc

    sunrisecc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    I second that observation.
     
  13. aet01

    aet01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Posts:
    17
    I have been using Seagate diskwizard 10 (free download for segate users) , based on acronis TI 10, for years. I insist that all my clients use seagate to have acess to it. It has been very reliable.

    I was considering TI2009 as an upgrade for them, but it is so broken that I got nowhere. The only features that SEEM to work are the ones that are available in the limited/free diskwizard version. Why pay for new features that don't even work?


    The idea of letting the home version product line fail doesn't make sense to me. Why would I even consider investing in a corprate solution if even the simple home version doesn't work at all!!!!

    One would think that making acronis a dirty name would affect corprate sales (in the long run) too.

    I just hope they come good, because I was really excited about implementing TI2009 for all my cleints. Excited until I was told by tech (live chat/email) that "I should avoid using split archives, the scheduler, consolidation, external USB HDDs, and making incremental or diff backups"!!! I havn't even tested restore yet, instead I have had to remove TI2009 completely just to make my system run again.

    What usefull features are left, and how do I make close to 100 individulas ignore the manual (which makes you think things will work) and not use even basic options?

    Rick.
     
  14. Frencho

    Frencho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Spain
    Thanks for your clear answer, Oleg.
     
  15. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Frencho,

    Thank you for your feedback.

    shieber and sunrisecc,

    Could you please reset the subscriptions and see if the issue remains?

    1. Log in to your account;
    2. Go to Subscriptions;
    3. Check or uncheck the subscription types and click Save changes.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  16. sunrisecc

    sunrisecc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Done for the umpteenth time. When 9709 came out, I even had support verify the subscription etc.
     
  17. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    Oleg I also have reregistered for subscriptions. The Acronis Subscriptions system does not work.

    This has been pointed out countless times. There is even a posting here from Acronis Support saying that the subscriptions system was having problems. Sounds like its dead and was never fixed

    Its easy to test this just send us the notifcation for ATI 2009 latest build 9770.
     
  18. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for your feedback.

    sunrisecc, jehosophat, shieber and all who experience the same glitch.

    I will forward the request to the appropriate department. To investigate the issue we need to know the e-mail addresses that fail to receive the notifications. Could you please provide us with the examples of the accounts via PM? This will help us to find the reason of the web site issue.

    Thank you for your consideration.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  19. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    I have sent you a private message Oleg with my email address as requested.

    To help everyone please can you post here a copy of the last message that registered subscribers should have received.

    It would be nice to see what a message from the subscriber list server looked like.

    Thanks.
     
  20. mranybody

    mranybody Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Posts:
    87
    Re: Notification of ATI new builds

    I've never had a notification of a new build or anything else for that matter. Nothing in Junk folder, no ads, offers, nothing!

    I've had my subscription up since ATI11 was launched. And I posted about this issue back in January cos my curiosity got the best of me.

    In that previous post Support says the issue is fixed. Not so - still nothing despite a new build. The only way I find out anything about ATI is when I sign in here.

    Why is it that most freeware I use has a auto-check for new builds / versions at startup, but Acronis can't send even a vanilla flavor notification to my inbox?
     
  21. mranybody

    mranybody Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Posts:
    87
    To answer the poster.

    I see reference to a new build here on the forum, but I got no new build in my Account on the UK site. It's still build #9709 from January.
     
  22. sunrisecc

    sunrisecc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    PM sent as requested above.
     
  23. mranybody

    mranybody Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Posts:
    87
    PM sent as requested above.
     
  24. BarJabba

    BarJabba Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    This makes me a little nervious. I just purchased DD & TI Home '09 and I am now a little apprehensive about using them. :doubt:

    In my attempt to get educated its use and prepare myself for some unforseen problems, I am very concerned about the versioning Acronis is using. I am a developer and have worked for large companies. Versioning is important for consistancy and tracking. Aside from language and localization issues, actual functional changes aught to be the same in all versions. I hope that this isn't the case with the software I have purchased. I mean to have a functionally different product in German than the one I have just seems messy and terribly inconsistant. Please tell me I have the wrong idea about Acronis versioning! I understand the full & incremental versioning mentioned here and agree with that.

    Oh man, what a mess eh? I am not about to get into that quagmire. :gack: I would just stick with what does work and stay with my USA version. I feel funny saying that. I wished they wouldn't do that in development -- release before it is stable enough. I can wait for it, unlike some folksand maketing strategies. Even the biggest and best can overshoot their expectations for a release, but, they should learn that you cannot conduct good business that way, IMHO.

    Oh please, lets hope not. I usually wait till the full version has been out for at least six months and I then look at all the problems that occur first. I do this to see how sever and common the problems are. All software needs bug and function code during the lifecycle. It just needs to be in its best stable condition before release. I know the difference between issues relating to user and hardware, but, consistant and repeatable issues that can cause major malfunctions due to on overly early release helps no one.

    I hope I am overstating it. I found the software from Acronis to be full of functions I wanted and believed it was stable and can be used as advertised. They had a lot of "Enterprise" versions and specially made for large company systems. So, I out rightly trusted the technology. I would have been duped if the very functions that I made my decision to purchase on, didn't actually work.

    I would have preferred going to these forums first. I normally look them up. I didn't and now maybe feel ashamed of myself for just purchasing w/o getting all the facts first. I like what I have purchased. I haven't screwed myself ... yet. I hope that it won't happen to me, what others have experienced.

    Make it a great day!
     
  25. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    The bottom line is the basic backup and restore on most hardware works.

    BUT only by doing a backup and restore will you know if it works on your hardware and software setup.

    The safest way I think to do this is to create a bootable Acronis disk and run the backup and restore from that.

    The problems start when you for example try to do daily automated full backups. In this instance the ATI 2009 program does create the backup files BUT you have to run a post backup batch file to ensure that you keep however many daily full backup files you want.

    My batch file is setup so that I keep a maximum of 6 daily full backups.

    Build 9709 is the most recent build that works best on my system.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.