Is the software supported on Windows XP 64bit version for AMD?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Chimpanzee, Sep 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chimpanzee

    Chimpanzee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    I tried to install the evaluation copy of Acronis True Image 9.0 on Windows XP 64 bit AMD Opteron servers. The installation fails with following message

    "The installer was interrupted"

    Is software supported on XP 64bit version?
     
  2. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    I didn't think any 64bit CPU was supported yet.
     
  3. rdgrimes

    rdgrimes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Posts:
    92
    This has nothing to do with 64-bit CPU's.
    Windows XP-64 does not play nice with Acronis, and will continue to do so for the forseeable future.
     
  4. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    Nothing to do with 64bit CPUs?
    Funny, I thought you needed one to run a 64bit OS.
     
  5. rdgrimes

    rdgrimes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Posts:
    92
    Perhaps, but the reverse is not true. 64 bit CPU's will run any program, 32 bit or otherwise. The question was about Windows-XP-64, not about CPUs.
     
  6. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    The original question was:
    "Is the software supported on Windows XP 64bit version for AMD?"
    Since there is no such product as "Windows XP 64bit version for AMD" then, and I'm sure you'll correct me whether I'm wrong or not, the question relates to the use of TrueImage with Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition when executing on a computer with an AMD processor - which I believe is also called a CPU.
    So I responded that no 64bit CPUs are yet supported.
    That is, supported by TrueImage - meaning Acronis have not yet released a version of TrueImage which will work on any 64bit CPU.
    Just in case you don't understand this means no AMD 64bit CPU or any 64bit CPU manufacturered by Intel or any one else.
     
  7. rdgrimes

    rdgrimes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Posts:
    92
    Like I said, Acronis works on any 64 bit CPU. As does any other program.
     
  8. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    TrueImage is not like a normal run of the mill application program. It has it's own low level services and drivers which need to work with 64bit CPUs and OSs.
     
  9. rdgrimes

    rdgrimes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Posts:
    92
    Like I said: TI, (and every other program and OS on the planet), work just fine with 64 bit CPUs. You seem to think that all 64 bit CPU's are running on Windows XP-64, but most are not. The compatability issues are with Windows64, not the CPUs.
     
  10. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Chimpanzee

    Welcomed to Wilders

    It only has support for Windows x32 at the moment. [Have you tried the Program Compatibility Wizard]

    A Windows x32 Ti Rescue BootCD will work with [Create, Verify and Restore] Windows x64. [also Clone]

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  11. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    Not true - an OS has to be designed and written to work for specific CPUs. Programs then have to be designed and written to work with a specific OS.

    Not true - I think that an OS runs on a CPU, not vice versa. I have never said that Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition will work with all 64bit CPUs. I understand that Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition is designed for 64 bit processors from Intel and AMD that support the x86 architecture x64 extensions.

    Compatability issues are due to the fact that most programs were not designed to work with a 64 bit OS (Windows XP Professional x64 Edition or otherwise). Consequently some programs may not work correctly until various components such as drivers, DLLs (for Windows programs), etc are modified.
     
  12. jackfish

    jackfish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    I am presently running TI9 on an AMD A64 duel core CPU under Windows XP Pro SP2 with no issues.
     
  13. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, jackfish

    There is no problem with any Ti [6,7,8 or 9] with an x32 OS and a x64 CPU, only an x64 OS.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.