Is Spybot offline?

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by Bogoboy, Dec 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bogoboy

    Bogoboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    The last update I have is Dec 26th 2007. Their website and update seem "dead"

    Any info would be most helpful.
     
  2. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
  3. Bogoboy

    Bogoboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Thats interesting....(Thanks for the reply)

    I just tried the "forums info" link you just give me and still can't get on the page...

    Bogoboy
     
  4. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Central US good connection so far.

    SBforum.gif
     
  5. Bogoboy

    Bogoboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Still can't get through... I guess it could be my internet provider.
     
  6. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    I am on the East coast and both of LowWaterMark's links took 32 seconds to load, but for the first 23 seconds of that there was no loading going on.
     
  7. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Pretty much the same thing here, except I am in the midwest.
     
  8. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    no probs here
     

    Attached Files:

    • sno.gif
      sno.gif
      File size:
      6.9 KB
      Views:
      290
  9. Bogoboy

    Bogoboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks for all of you confirming that indeed all is well with spybot. It seems that Bell Canada ISP doesn't connect (after Dec 26) to the spybot site. I called Bell Canada tech support (Sympatico) and they couldn't connect either. Does anyone know how I can update my spybot without connecting to their site (safer-networking...)?? What could the problem be?

    Thanking you all for your support

    Bogoboy
     
  10. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/Spybot_Search_and_Destroy_Update_d3957.html
     
  11. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    While this does not help your connection issue, you at least have the latest reported update not only at their site but as reported
    by our wonderful Update Team.

    Bubba

    SBupdates.jpg
     
  12. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Did they have an explanation why? Are they going to investigate the issue? I had similiar problems connecting to sites on occasion(including this one) a long time ago when i was with Sympatico... :rolleyes:



    snowbound
     
  13. Bogoboy

    Bogoboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Thank you "Bubba" for the info.

    To answer "Snowbound's" question: in typical "Bell" fashion" I was connected to tech support in India where I got cut off... I called back on the French side to get someone in Canada. After I explained the problem, (spybot's page is in fact up and running - confirmed by everyone here) I was told that they couldn't connect either so therefore "the site is down". To add to the stupidity, the "tech" person told me that "we at Bell don't support that program." The conversation didn't go much further...

    Thanks again for all the attention here (and better tech support.)

    bogoboy
     
  14. Bogoboy

    Bogoboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Re: Is Spybot offline? Solved!?

    I just rebooted my modem and now I can connect to spybot - bizarre...

    Thank you all for your concern and advice!

    Bogoboy
     
  15. dcdc

    dcdc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    195
    Location:
    Boston area
    Bogoboy, isn't that so typical of tech support, whether live or via email? Don't have a clue, don't even understand the question.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.