is simple behaviour based protection on its own enough ?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by madpete, Aug 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. madpete

madpete Registered Member

hello all . new poster so please excuse if this question is shallow . i use xp with xp FW and a BT Hub and am a very safe surfer - i use current affairs sites and imdb . occasionally i use cdcovers.cc for out of print or tv series dvd covers . I've been surfing and researching on the internet for 5 years now but my main machine use is file conversion and editingfrom vhs to dvd using ulead and lifeview tv programs which work well for me - therefore machine speed is v important . i have 1G of RAM and 80G hard drive . if i am surfing i have avira free and i always run malwarebytes to check after internet sessions . avira never flags anything up . mbam has caught odd spyware/malware successfully . bearing this in mind do i need a large AV running on my machine or will something like threatfire/prevx cover my needs ? I love to hear opinions but i also am aware of not starting an A vs B conflict . What are your thoughts - i am hear to listen . Many thanks Madpete

2. Joeythedude

Joeythedude Registered Member

Hi madpete

Firstly its good that your looking into types of security apart from AV's. For many people here it becomes a kinda hobby ( myself included ).

IT Security in general is about learning
    1. what the risks are,
    2. What are the options for controling it
    3. what balance between risk and usability is good for you

So I'd advice you to look at it from these different angles and then see whats right for you.

3. dell boy

dell boy Registered Member

^^his post aside, im confident with avira and a behaviour based antimalware will be suffice, perhaps something like geswall would be appropriate, it adds a small complication but you get used to it and its impenetrable to drive-by-downloads

4. Keyboard_Commando