is rollback rx 10.7 (latest build) stable

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by garry35, Jun 13, 2017.

  1. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    367
    is rollback rx 10.7 (latest build) compatible with windows 10 and ssd drives, i have used rollback 10.xx in the past but its been so long since i last used it i dont remember if it was windows 10 or the same hardware, all seemed to work fine until it would no longer boot the system at random without any warning or errors i could see usually after about 15 days but never much longer. this would need a complete re install from scratch to get back to windows. because of the long time since i last used it, different versions and builds have come out but i am reluctant to try again for fear of a catastrophie, so i would appreciate it if other users have similar or better experiences and what if any signs of impending doom or general things to avoid.

    i am aware that altering partitions or using anything that changes the MBR are a BIG NO NO and most backup software doesnt capture any created snapshots except their own drive cloner rx
     
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,765
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Gary, v10 has been Windows 10 "aware" since October 2015, but continues to not allow TRIMming of your SSD until it has been unInstalled (also new feature in v10.7... "DEACTIVATION") and reBOOTed.

    v10.7 now allows for a DEACTIVATE option which freezes the System at a new Baseline of your Current System State (just like you were uninstalling to that state). Snapshots are gone and the snapshot database has been silenced. It basically leaves the Rollback app modules on the System but no longer operating (as though the protection has been turned off). If you reBOOT from this state you can do all the things you could do before when RBrx was unInstalled. Once that work is done, all you need do is ACTIVATE the installed RBrx, reBOOT your System and you're protected once again... no more unInstalling/reInstalling anymore. Also, in the deActivated state, RBrx returns your MBR to its original configuration prior to the initial RBrx install... this allows you to image your System should you wish to prior to reactivation and the image will be restorable and BOOTable if you need to use it (System state will be Current System State at the time of imaging).

    As far as the stability of v10.7, I find it no different that previous versions... very stable on some System configurations, quirky on others. Make sure you regularly image that System :rolleyes: Best of luck!
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2017
  3. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    364
    During some recent tests I did stumble upon some instability with Rollback 10,7 Home. My system is a Core i5 Thinkpad running under Win7 Pro - 64bit. No UEFI, no GPT, just a very basic MBR based setup.

    With Rollback 10.7 Home I experienced some disturbing instabilities, after rolling back to an earlier snap which gave no error messages I ended up with a file system which gave errors when checked under Windows. Rolling back to a different snap took care of it, but this is something which destroys my trust for this software considerably...

    I do not know if this could be an issue with the Home version only, but I do not own a license for the full version so I can't really test this. What I could test was to install the old and trusted version 9.1, and so far this was very reliable. As long as you don't want to run Win10 and don't need GPT partitions this old version seems to be absolutely stable. An additional bonus is that restoring a hot image backup made under Rollback 9.1 does not require to fix the MBR after restoring.


    Cheers
    manolito
     
  4. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    367
    thanks for all the replies, but before i take the plunge and install the latest version of rollback rx pro Version: 10.7 / Build: 2702518295 (taken from the official site) i wanted to see if anybody else had previous experience with the latest version eother good or bad
     
  5. corttex

    corttex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    ... v10.7 now allows for a DEACTIVATE option which freezes the System at a new Baseline of your Current System State...

    Please, where is option for deactivation Rollback RX Pro Version 10.7
     
  6. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,765
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    If you <right-click> the Rollback RX ICON in your SystemTray, one of the new options that appears is "Turn Off System Protection." Select this and your Rollback protection will be turned off. This process removes all your snapshots and sets your baseline snapshot to your CURRENT SYSTEM CONFIGURATION. Rollback remains installed but totally inactive and your System is now unprotected. It remains that way until you select the "Turn ON Protection" using the same select option as above.

    Please remember, if you are a SSD user and wish to optimize your SSD whilst Rollback is inactive, you must follow the above procedure and reBOOT your System before the optimization process is run. Otherwise no optimization will occur. SSD optimization CAN NOT OCCUR while Rollback is installed and active or deActivated without that reBOOT above.
     
  7. corttex

    corttex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Thank you very much...
     
  8. corttex

    corttex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I've tried and only I think it is the opposite - sets my current system configuration as baseline snapshot...
     
  9. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,765
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    I believe that's what I said in my post... sorry if I wasn't clear. If your System State wound up at your original Rollback baseline and not your current system state, that is an ERROR.

    Once you "Turnoff off protection" and turn it back on again, you will be at the System State you were at when protection was turned off... the exact same state you'd be at if if you had unInstalled/reInstalled Rollback RX.
     
  10. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,765
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    That's exactly what's supposed to happen. Your "baseline" (installation snapshot) will be changed to your current system state and your original baseline when RBrx was originally installed will be gone forever. This process WILL RESET YOUR INSTALLATION SNAPSHOT to the System State at the time of the process initiation... just like it would be for a fresh RBrx installation.
     
  11. Lasse Larsson

    Lasse Larsson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hello The Rollback Frog !

    I am totaly new at Rollback RX and own the free version - but I have already red alot and here are some questions !

    Is the function "Turn Off System Protection" that you talk about in this thread only for Pro users ?

    I have a hard drive - 500 GB - And the drive is full with valuable programs for me - 450 of the 500 GB is already ocupied.
    I installed Rollback RX - because uninstalling all the programs, entering all the passwords and finding all the instructions
    for installing all the programs just is not posible !

    After installing it I could not see that it did take up a lot of space - bud suddenly after downoading aprox 5 GB of the 50 free GB
    I was told that the Hard Drive was full ! I only had 2 snapshots - 811 MB and 51 MB. So my qustions to you is:

    Is it possible that the "Baseline snapshot" and the original installation of the progrem takes up 45 GB of "Invisible" space ?

    Is there any way to be able to actually see how much space I have left on the harddrive then running Rollback RX ?

    If I install a new system later with Rollback RX from start - will that save me maybe 30-40 GB of my hard drive space ?

    Thanks for all your help to the forum !

    Kind Regards Lasse from Sweden
     
  12. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,765
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Greetings Lasse! Sorry I missed this post. Some of your questions are mentioned in THIS POST from your other thread. I don't know the answer to your "Turn Off System Protection" query above... I only test with the PRO version.

    Sorry to hear that most of that 500gB of partition space is application space that is not easily reproduced. Based on that, I would consider replacing it with a larger drive, first imaging my System to an external disk, replacing that 500gB disk with a larger one, then restoring that image to the bigger disk. Following that I would completely defrag your restored image before even considering the use of Rollback.

    No, Rollback and its baseline do not take up an additional 45gB of space, but has been mentioned in the other thread, it can lose available space along the way.

    No, Rollback, not Windows, is the only source of real space utilization... and it doesn't know how to tell you that (I don't think it really knows itself).

    A clean install of Windows followed by an installation of Rollback should be a low space utilization process... not much more than expected. But as time goes on, the Rollback internal databases get bigger (you cannot see them) and, according to random users of the product, space starts disappearing from your disk (eventually causing DISK FULL conditions). People have learned to avoid this by periodically unInstalling Rollback which gives back all this type of unknown space. During this time they defrag their HDDs (or Optimize their SSDs) prior to re-installing Rollback. This process seems to make the System whole once again. Of course the process eliminates any snapshots you may have, and leaves your System at the CURRENT SYSTEM STATE or any snapshot state of your choosing. It's a very good habit to get into if you don't need a long timeline of snapshots.

    Hope this helps!
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,311
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Lasse,

    Which imaging software do you use to backup your HD? An image to use if your HD fails. Rollback isn't a backup solution.
     
  14. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    sweden
    Is the new feature in RollbackRx, turn off system protection, working alright for you guys who use it?

    I have tried it at 2 different occasions and both times the Pc freezes halfways at the reboot after turning off the protection. It just gets stuck just before the completion of reboot.

    It works as it should otherwise but this new feature is severely damaging for me.

    As far as i know one should reboot after the turn off and then the protection is supposed to be shut off and the Pc should be working just as it should be without RBRX. The same procedure should be done when activating again.
    I cant even get halfway when i try it.

    I can not read many complains about this on the net, which surprises me. This must be pretty usual.
     
  15. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,765
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    @pb1 - I've tested it "lightly" and had no problems in the area you describe.

    Upon de-activating protection, the System is brought to the CURRENT STATE and all previous snapshots are gone, there should be no problem reBOOTing at this point. There's only one reason to re-BOOT after this and that is so the SSD OPTIMIZE feature for the newer OSes (or SSDtool usage under Windows 7) will function correctly if you choose to TRIM your SSD. All other functions within Windows are "normal' at this point in your process. Rollback RX remains installed but non-functional at this point as the only function available is to turn the protection back on... which will automatically cause a reBOOT.

    Once you've done whatever it is you want to do in the unprotected state. just re-enable protection and Rollback will reBOOT your System with protection being ACTIVE following the reBOOT.

    PS- the reason you may not be hearing much about this issue is possibly there's just not very many users of this application left in the "general" user community.
     
  16. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,765
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    PS- you can continue to use the old method of System maintenance by unInstalling RBrx, re-Booting, doing your maintenance, and re-Installing once again. You'll get whatever new v10.7 features are available 'cept deactivation.
     
  17. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    sweden
    Well, i have 2 laptops and both have been running RBRX at one time or another without problems, the latest version without the - "feature". The one i was testing it on now i have hardly anything on except the Os. Maybe the Os is the problem? It is a stripped down version created with MSMG Toolkit so many things are removed. Windows restore function is totaly missing for example.

    I`ll have to start testing different scenarios on the 2 to see what solves it. Not that i need to, this just triggered me.
     
  18. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    403
    Location:
    sweden
    I installed the Pc with a new "full" Os and the result was worse. It booted up with the blue repair screen every time.
    So i tried RBRX on the other Asus laptop. That was successfull. That is also a stripped down Os. They are both about the same age.

    Conclusion; at least RBRX are model sensitive when it comes to the new - "feature".
     
  19. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,455
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Rollback RX Pro is very stable on this HP 355G2, with AMD processor, 8G RAM, 3 yr old system with Win 8.1 Pro, based on 1 day of use. I found a sale on the Horizon Data site on FB for half off and grabbed it. Installed, and did a couple of snapshots with changes in each. I flipped back and forth several times, then tried the 'turn off protection' feature.Everything was smooth, reliable, and fast. The security feature with password and, I think, encryption, works. All in all, I'm very pleased. I wonder, as someone mentioned here or somewhere, that Rollback might be sensitive to certain configurations. I'll also add, I have a couple of current backups, with Macrium, on a separate drive - just in case.
     
Loading...