Is port 5000 really necessary?

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by projectX, Oct 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. projectX

    projectX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Hey all. TDS just discovered this trojan, RAT.DaCryptic Beta on my PC. The "file information" informed me that this trojan was using port 5000. I would like to close this port, but I'm wondering if I should. I realize WinME uses 5000 for Plug-n-Play, and I'm wondering if XP Home depends on this port, also? After running the Trojan Port scan, 5000 comes-up positive. Is port 5000 necessary, or can I close it? Any help/suggestions will be much appreciated.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2004
  2. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,216
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello projectX.

    Port 5000 is not really necessary. HERE you can a great little program to close that port.

    HTH...
     
  3. projectX

    projectX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks, puff-m-d. I'll be trying that app shortly. :cool:
     
  4. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    769
    Location:
    Toronto
    I just let TDS-3 listen to 5000 and run the generated script which does nothing except warn me that someone tried to connect to 5000. Kinda fun, I get a warning every couple of weeks. Who knows, it my be your PC.
    Jim
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.