Is port 5000 really necessary?

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by projectX, Oct 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. projectX

    projectX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Hey all. TDS just discovered this trojan, RAT.DaCryptic Beta on my PC. The "file information" informed me that this trojan was using port 5000. I would like to close this port, but I'm wondering if I should. I realize WinME uses 5000 for Plug-n-Play, and I'm wondering if XP Home depends on this port, also? After running the Trojan Port scan, 5000 comes-up positive. Is port 5000 necessary, or can I close it? Any help/suggestions will be much appreciated.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2004
  2. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello projectX.

    Port 5000 is not really necessary. HERE you can a great little program to close that port.

    HTH...
     
  3. projectX

    projectX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks, puff-m-d. I'll be trying that app shortly. :cool:
     
  4. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Toronto
    I just let TDS-3 listen to 5000 and run the generated script which does nothing except warn me that someone tried to connect to 5000. Kinda fun, I get a warning every couple of weeks. Who knows, it my be your PC.
    Jim
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.