Is Pc-Cillin good?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by alvd, Apr 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alvd

    alvd Guest

    Is Trend Micro Pc-Cillin a Good Av?

    I saw somewhere in this forum a screenshot of Hotmail`s Pc-Cillin scanner missing a malware and NOD32 found it, I think was Blackspear who has posted this screenshot...can someone show me it again?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    PCC has missed numerous malware during the time I used it. I do not recommend it.
     
  3. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    You will find better options than PC-Cillian, like NOD32, KAV, McAfee... ;)
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I used PC-Cillin once and will never again!! NOD32 All the way!!
     
  5. alvd

    alvd Guest

    May anyone show me the post, of Blackspear I think, that he shows pc-cillin missing a virus at hotmail and NOD32 catching it?
     
  6. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    Me personally i luv it..The suite is so easy to use tick fireawall.no firewall pop ups like otherso_O Its a set and leave suite !!! .duz webmail scans?? I hav'nt had one virus since having it..on my pc.i use 2 though..Nod32 on 1 machine pc cilian on other but with pc cillian and sensible browsing not 1 virus!!! Hotmail now use it 2..so must b ok MD :eek:
     
  7. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
  8. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    well its better then a no name AV get it hahahha j/k Nameless..rofl.. :D :D Each to there own?I can only answer for me..No virus as yet and online kasperksy found nothing either..so must b ok.. ..MD
     
  9. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Trend is gaining market share among corportate customers. A large research institution where I do volunteer work recently switched to it from McAfee. It has very few false alarms in tests, and less machine slow down than Symantec and McAfee. Detection rates are relatively low compared to the competition and not up to snuff for high risk surfers.
     
  10. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
    Trend does have some comprehensive enterprise products, but manageability and ease of deployment are the keys to success in that market. Corporate firewalls and restrictive network policies can help to balance mediocre detection rates.
    As far as PCCillin, it'll never touch my PC's. There's free software I'd trust to do a better job.
     
  11. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I found 4 trojans on my PC which McAfee detected and Trend did NOT. I sent them to Trend, and they didnt reply. In that period, my license expired, and I purchased eScan. Two months later, I was sent some emails saying that two of those 4 trojans have been added to their database.

    I still do not know what happened of the other two.
     
  12. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    Isn't that so nice of them? Other Trend Micro customers, I'm sure, wouldn't mind having those trojans on their systems for a couple months. What's the big deal?

    Two months. And in my case, it took three months. Yeah, maddawgz, "to each his own". And I choose customer responsiveness.

    I don't use KAV anymore, but when I did, my submissions usually got a response within minutes or hours. And I don't want to hear that it has something to do with the size of the customer base--if you can't handle the workload, hire more people.
     
  13. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    Actually, no. I hate to sound like I'm vomiting forth something I read elsewhere, but it's true: Your level of security is only revealed when it fails. Not being infected doesn't mean that you're "OK". Sorry.
     
  14. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    Well I been using it for a yr.and not one virus, I've also checked like i said with Kaspersky!! and nothing..so it must be working?...I wouldnt imagine hotmail would take it on if it was not up to scratch but then nothing is perfect right I'm sure Kaspersky and nod viruses hav gotten through 2..!! :D :D

    ..I'ts not just Avs or AT software is surfing behaviour 2 that count's If your a freaquent kazza downloader..or Warez surfer..Well perhaps nothing will protect u but if you just check your local newspaper you fine.. ... Just my 2$ worth..noname agree 2 disagree.. :rolleyes: .MD
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2005
  15. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    alvd,

    this is the post that u looking for here


    or here
     
  16. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Well, I agree with nameless. I only had two samples to give to Kaspersky labs, but I got a response within 10 minutes.

    I presume the samples were added in the next hourly update, because my eScan did not have hourly updates at that time.

    But the next day, I scanned those files again and saw that detection had been added :)
     
  17. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
  18. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    Hi nameless. If you don't mind me asking, what AV do you use now?
     
  19. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I think he uses NOD32 :)
     
  20. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    Ahh. Thank you again Firecat. :)
     
  21. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
  22. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    What happened? o_O

    The links not available anymore...o_O

    Well, I too used Norton in the past and found Trojans when PCC scanned my PC. But the matter of fact is, this is not 2003 anymore. 2004 onwards, Norton has made huge strides in malware detection.
     
  23. Happy Bytes

    Happy Bytes Guest


    :D Don't click on the quoted URL it has far to much dots in it :D

    PS: Good Morning :D Daddy :cool:
     
  24. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    Im loosing badly here rofl!! i can only tell u from expereince maybe i got lucky? but i do run Nod32 on my main!! but if it's so bad y has Hotmail take up with it?? MD o_O
     
  25. Mannaggia

    Mannaggia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Northern California

    I would say money is envolved. [​IMG]
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. chabbo
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,069
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.