Is NOD32v3 + CFP3 adequate?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by bracesandbelt, Apr 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bracesandbelt

bracesandbelt Registered Member

Hi

I've been using NOD32 for a couple of years now, with Comodo as my software firewall. 99%+ of the time I am also behind a router firewall.

Until last week I ran NOD32 v2.x and CF v2. So I also ran some form of anti-spyware or malware (at various times, SpybotS&D, AVG, Prevx2, PrevxCSI and a couple of others I forget). I've now just changed over to NOD32 v3 plus CFP v3 and with the extended scope of these two am wondering whether I should add anything else or not.

I've read through the forums and have read enough comments that these 2 apps together are adequate that I'm tending toward that. If I do need to add anything, the AS/M that seems to be most favoured is Superantispyware, and some people also suggest going with OA rather than CFP. But what would I actually gain from adding/changing these? And what might I lose?

Frankly, I hadn't realised that either app had extended in the way it has before I installed. So I had been intending to try out DefenseWall, based on some tests I saw last year. If I do try DW, would this have any meaningful benefit?

'ppreciate any advice ;)

2. Snarl

Snarl Registered Member

I use NOD32 and Comodo Firewall Pro 3 however I also run SuperAntiSpyware as a back-up. I think however that running just those two would be sufficient. If your not going to run a dedicated Spyware scanner it probably would be a good idea to run Spybot periodically to scan.

3. bracesandbelt

Thanks Snarl ;) . How often do you run SAS, and has it caught anything that the NOD/CFP pair have missed?

4. stratoc

stratoc Guest

5. Joliet Jake

Joliet Jake Registered Member

I use NOD V3 and Comodo V3 with SAS as a back up scanner. SAS never finds anything bar the odd cookie, and I mean the odd cookie-2 or 3 at most and I only scan once a month.