Is My Security Setup Enough

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by windowsdefender, Aug 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. windowsdefender

    windowsdefender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    I have Comodo Firewall and Trend Micro Titanium Antivirus + on Windows 7
    x64, is this enough to protect me?:doubt:
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2011
  2. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    + Common sense? It sure is! :argh:
     
  3. carat

    carat Guest

    You should add a couple of other scanners :D
     
  4. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    you can try free macrinum reflect for backup or free keriver restore
     
  5. nosirrah

    nosirrah Malware Fighter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    561
    Location:
    Cummington MA USA
    Enough is relative.

    Does this system have users that you do not 100% trust/supervise?
    Does this system ever have critical/personal data entered into it?
    Do you or any users of this machine engage into dangerous usage?
    If the hard drive were to fail would you lose critical data?
    If the hard drive were to fail how critical is it that you can be back up ASAP?
     
  6. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    If you browse safely you're pretty much fine.
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Imaging has been suggested. Add that and you're good to go. The one in Win 7 is fine.
     
  8. windowsdefender

    windowsdefender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    Such as what?o_O
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Just don't go crazy with it.
     
  10. windowsdefender

    windowsdefender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    Something like Hitman Pro or MBAM?
     
  11. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    now that's exactly the list of questions "every user who wants to make sure they have nuff security apps installed" should answer.
     
  12. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Those two would be fine. They would also be enough. Avoid the add everything including the kitchen sink syndrome.
     
  13. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Just the firewall or Defense+ too?
     
  14. windowsdefender

    windowsdefender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    FW with defence +
     
  15. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    So a HIPS, AV, and Firewall. You're fine =p
     
  16. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Enough :D
    You got layered setup: AV + HIPS + FW.

    Now just to make sure if you want you can add a few On Demand scanners as others said. :argh: And be carefull while installing apps/software
     
  17. windowsdefender

    windowsdefender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    Great, thanks.
     
  18. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    May want to add internet safety checker (Norton DNS, BitDefender TrafficLight, and/or WOT), and software update monitor (SUMo or Secunia). Drive imaging is preferred, unless you like re-installing Windows.
     
  19. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    enough in my opinion..........
     
  20. windowsdefender

    windowsdefender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    I just "love" reinstalling Windows:rolleyes:
     
  21. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    +1 Me too, i usually reformat every month or so :D
     
  22. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    I use Clonezilla so while you are reformatting and reinstalling Windows I am already back up and running just like I was in around 10 minutes. :D
     
  23. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I used to do image which took like 15-20 mins at most but often the images got old software after a while :D
    So i just prefer doing a full format.
    Or sometimes doing images required the program to be installed which i don't like, i really want it to be fresh!! :argh:
     
  24. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    That is why I use Clonezilla. Nothing to install and works perfectly. :thumb:
     
  25. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,101
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Does Clonezilla recognise RAID setups?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.