Is MBAM now an AV?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Rico, Aug 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,702
    Location:
    Texas
    Used to be MBAM got along with installed AV's, now some AV's are wanting MBAM uninstalled, & MBAM's forums talk about conflicts. So when did MBAM move from AS to AV?
     
  2. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
    It's not a full fledged Anti-Virus. You can always install it after installing your AV first, and then simply set them both in each other's exclusion list.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012
  3. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    479
    Location:
    Ojai, CA
    Yep, I have it on all of my computers along with AIS.

    I would guess most of the guys/gals here use it.
     
  4. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    does it cause conflicts/slow down when used with Eset Smart Security provided I put the exclusions right?
     
  5. ComputerSaysNo

    ComputerSaysNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    1,425

    I really dislike when software companies do this, it's a big gripe of mine. MBAM has always been a on demand scanner but it's PRO version proactive defense such as URL blocking a real time scanning.brings better security with
     
  6. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Perhaps as it has grown in popularity, other companies view it more now than ever as a competitor, and thus direct users to remove it.
    Just a thought.
     
  7. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I agree with you on this. this is quite possible.
     
  8. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I think you're absolutely right! Bad AV companies. Bad. Leave MBAM alone baddies. :D
     
  9. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Security products do conflict with each other. There's no denying that. However, I think the on-demand version should not cause a problem. The other version might do.
     
  10. Amin

    Amin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    UK
    MBAM is an Antimalware , and it did quite well even better than some famous products. so yes i think it can be used as a single security solution quite soon.

    though i used it on-demand so far.

     
  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Not really, and even MBAM dev. recommends not to use it as standalone antivirus. It is not, it is a specialised antimalware software effective on difficult threads and tuned up in detecting and cleaning specific malware usually not well covered by other standard antivirus software. :thumb:
     
  12. Amin

    Amin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    UK
    @fax

    I meant in the future , not now :)

    but even though i won't recommend using mbam solo. but Marcin said he is using mbam as the main AV and nothing else.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1997537&postcount=33

    and also He made a comment in his own blog:

    and also we should consider that Marcin is not a ordinary user:D
     
  13. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Of course he can do that but here below is the official information related to MBAM from their own product FAQ:
    Does Malwarebytes Anti-Malware replace antivirus software?

     
  14. Amin

    Amin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    UK
    yea i know..:thumb:
    but for clarification i again say : mbam has a strong potential to be used solo in the future.. as u saw in the MRG flash tests it could detect all the zero hour malwares . whereas bitdefender didn't .
     
  15. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Of course, but please note that MRG tests only 10-15 main families of malware out there (not all 0day malware). These are often the most difficult/dangerous and/or prolific (peak families), this is exactly were MBAM champion its ability.

    Taking MRG as a reference to assume MBAM can replace an AV is, to say the least, overly optimistic. I am not even sure it is desirable, lets keep the focus of this tool were most is needed and were most is effective. ;)
     
  16. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    MBAM is designed to run alongside an AV. I would not be without it, and any AV that will not run with MBAM goes to the trash bin. I am aware that in some cases you might have to install the AV and then MBAM, but if that won't work I go to another AV.

    Jerry
     
  17. nosirrah

    nosirrah Malware Fighter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    561
    Location:
    Cummington MA USA
    MBAM started with an asymmetrical take on malware targeting the stuff we saw show up in help threads far more vigorously than more obscure malware. As time went on our engine, researchers and research got better allowing us to keep a lock on the stuff causing the most problems while extending our reach further and further into the obscure. While our coverage has become much broader over time we do still work asymmetrically with a focus on the stuff we know the AVs are not doing well against and for now we do not plan on changing that strategy.
     
  18. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    507
    i still use MBAM in conjunction with my antivirus,even guys at MBAM admit thats its only a anti-malware and not a full fledged AV solution.
     
  19. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    MBAM is good to remove rogueware, ransomware
    Most traditional security vendors have difficulties with detecting and removing this kind of malware. Since cloud support, signatures can be released shortly after detection.
     
  20. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    MBAM specialty is zero day malware. It is especially effective against rogues such as the plague of Antivirus xxxx. It is for all practical purposes, total useless against keyloggers. It has limited usefullness against rootkits.

    I use it's Pro version and its realtime protection has never found anything in the year and half I have used it. It does block bad IPs but it uses a blacklist.

    If you prowl their forum, it is clearly stated that it only provides definitions for threats 90 days or less to reduce the size of the database.

    So yes, you need to run a full fledged AV along with it providing the proper exclusions for all realtime antimalware/AV software in MBAM and in the anti-malware/AV software for MBAM as noted previously. Note: the exclusion setting process is only necessary for MBAM Pro.

    Finally if your OS is XP and you have limited RAM, I would pass on the Pro version. The turkey will use 100MB of memory and won't release it. I have installed the Pro version on multiple XP PCs, and Pro eats 100MB on all of them. On WIN 7, it appears they have their memory management worked out and MBAM will dynamically reduce and increase memory but still used 30 - 50 MB on average.

    As far as I am concerned, the most important features of the Pro version are the scheduler and the flash scan capability. The scheduler will allow you to create schedules for updating and scanning. The flash scan capability runs for a few seconds and scans memory for malware. I schedule updates to run hourly and to perform a flash scan after every update. If malware has suceeded in installing itself, it will most likely be running in memory. The flash scan will hopefully neutralize it or at least alert me of its existance. This is very important since some of the worst malware will install their full destructive payload on the next reboot so getting rid of it before you reboot is critical.

    There is also a bit of a paradox here. Since MBAM Pro has realtime malware detection, why does it also have an offline memory scanner? The former should make the later unnecessry. Draw your own conclusions.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
  21. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    It's use is recommended quite often on Avira's user forum for cleaning up problems. Also often the recommended removal of MBAM by AV products has to do with the order in which the various anti-malware products have been installed.
     
  22. pclaptop

    pclaptop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    USA
    i use mbam with eset ESS and have no conflict problems what so ever.

    I fee VERY comfortable with the protection supplied by both
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I know many use MBAM and WSA without conflicts and no need to have any exclusions!

    TH
     
  24. Amin

    Amin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    UK
    what does it mean..? MBAM guys confirm it ?
     
  25. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Ask the MBAM folks.

    MBAM Pro loads its definitions in memory. One reason why the sucker uses so much RAM. Obviously if it had a large definition database, it would use all of your available RAM.

    Again MBAM's speciality is zero day malware. The MBAM folks are the first to point out that you also need a full AV if you use MBAM.

    The free ver. of MBAM is just a standalone scanner with no realtime protection. Another reason you need a full feature AV.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.