Is KIS - AntiHacker and AntiSpam = KAV?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ablatt, Mar 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ablatt

    ablatt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Canada
    I got the systweak special license deal on KIS.

    I don't want the AntiHacker or AntiSpam modules.

    Can I do a custom install without choosing these two and then have an equivalent install of KAV?
     
  2. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    979
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    I may be wrong but I think that would be right. I am running KIS 6 from the special also and all going well so far but I installed all modules.

    Gary
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,041
    yes just choose the custom install and untick the modules you dont want.
    it also has antispy module which includes the folowing,
    anti banner
    antidialer
    popup blocker
    anti-phishing

    i would reccomend keeping the antispy module since it works great and even blocks the adverts at the bottom of msn messenger windows.
    lodore
     
  4. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    With KIS you are able to totally configure the install the way you want it.
    I would say install all than you have the best suite
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2007
  5. BrainWarp

    BrainWarp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    288
    I installed my kis without antihacker and spam guards.
     
  6. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    If you are disabling anti hacker and anti spam why not use KAV then?
     
  7. BrainWarp

    BrainWarp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    288
    Does standerd kav have proactive defense?
     
  8. plantextract

    plantextract Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Posts:
    392
    yes it has, the first 4 modules are available in kav too (the file, mail, web -av and proactive defense)
     
  9. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Yes it has PDM as well.
    take a look over here.
     
  10. plantextract

    plantextract Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Posts:
    392
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,100
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    KAV with the PDM to me, is the best option and least agravating.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Rico
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    471
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.