Is KIS - AntiHacker and AntiSpam = KAV?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ablatt, Mar 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ablatt

    ablatt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Canada
    I got the systweak special license deal on KIS.

    I don't want the AntiHacker or AntiSpam modules.

    Can I do a custom install without choosing these two and then have an equivalent install of KAV?
     
  2. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    I may be wrong but I think that would be right. I am running KIS 6 from the special also and all going well so far but I installed all modules.

    Gary
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    yes just choose the custom install and untick the modules you dont want.
    it also has antispy module which includes the folowing,
    anti banner
    antidialer
    popup blocker
    anti-phishing

    i would reccomend keeping the antispy module since it works great and even blocks the adverts at the bottom of msn messenger windows.
    lodore
     
  4. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    With KIS you are able to totally configure the install the way you want it.
    I would say install all than you have the best suite
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2007
  5. BrainWarp

    BrainWarp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    287
    I installed my kis without antihacker and spam guards.
     
  6. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    If you are disabling anti hacker and anti spam why not use KAV then?
     
  7. BrainWarp

    BrainWarp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    287
    Does standerd kav have proactive defense?
     
  8. plantextract

    plantextract Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Posts:
    392
    yes it has, the first 4 modules are available in kav too (the file, mail, web -av and proactive defense)
     
  9. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Yes it has PDM as well.
    take a look over here.
     
  10. plantextract

    plantextract Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Posts:
    392
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    KAV with the PDM to me, is the best option and least agravating.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.