Is it possible to automate this process?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Jaws, Aug 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jaws

    Jaws Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    210
    I remember writing very, very simple batch files in the days of DOS to automate a process, but can a batch file be used to start a program from a user account to an administrator mode?

    I always run in a user account and would like to create a shortcut on the desktop, so that when you double click on it, it starts the program as an administrator.

    For instance, I have an icon on the desktop of a program when in my user account. I hold down the shift key, right click on the icon to get the - run as - command in the right click menu. I then enter the user name and password, click OK and the program opens as an administrator.

    Is it possible to automate this process with a batch file or other software placed on the desktop?
     
  2. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Hi Jaws,

    Sure it's possible (usually as long as you can think it). Create Process As User is a console based app that handle's password automation.
    Quick .bat setup, something like this:

    The use of lwop in place of lwp may or may not have side effects depending on how a particular application was written. In accordance with the MS help for runas, Joe also states possible "funk" when NOT loading a profile. I chose to err on the safe side incorporating lwp (successfully executing dfrg.msc from a limited user account on XPHome), though the choice on which to employ is up to you. The program itself contains additional, simple encryption functionality.


    GF
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2006
  3. MEGfocke

    MEGfocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    I have always used Batch files in all versions of Windows up to XP
    and never had a problem.

    However, if you do not write the batch file correctly you may get problems.
     
  4. Jaws

    Jaws Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    210
    Hey GF,

    Thanks for the response and the link. I'll give it a go. Also thanks for the start with the quick .bat setup, been a long time ago since even thinking about batch files.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.