Is it just me, or is Firefox 2.0 slower than H___

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by HandsOff, Nov 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    I haven't figured in out yet...Some newly stupid default setting, or what?

    I don't see how to change my browser cache directory. in about config, browser.cache.disk.parent_directory does not exist...how do I create it?


    -HandsOff


    OK - I finally found it. It always seems hardest to find answers for the most basic questions. Kudos to http://www.tweakguides.com/Firefox_8.html were I eventually found the answer
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2006
  2. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    The first thing that hit me with FF 2 was the speed of it, without any modifications. I was actually looking at a transfer to K-meleon because of the slow rendering and start up speed of the previous Firefoxes (with my must have extensions).
     
  3. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Pardon my density, but when you say you were struck by the speed of it, did you mean fast or slow?

    I think I may have identified the culprit. It has to do with the fact that the pages I use contain a HUGE number of links, and there is a possibly ill-considered default setting in FF2.0 that "prefetches" pages that you do not even view!!!

    I'm sure that works fine for grandma, but the way I surf the net, that would mean hundreds of pages being downloaded that I dont even view. I switched it off. Now everything seems back to good. BTW - I believe this was defauled to off on the 1.x versions, but not absolutely sure.


    -HandsOff
     
  4. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I meant the fast speed of 2.0 compared to the previous versions. With all my extensions it is not as fast as K-meleon when surfing, but not far from it imo.
     
  5. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Firefox 2.0 by default seems to be downloading a list of bad websites upon initial startups. Once its finished with that, I found it to be as fast as before. :)
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    i have found slow startup and slow loading of first pages as well.
    where do i disable that option?
    i thought it was my internet connection that made the first pages load slow lol.
    lodore
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.