Is F-Secure using Bitdefender engine now?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by jlo, Nov 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,

    I have noticed on a few occasions on virus total that F-secue is detecting exactly the same name as Bitdefender and GDATA. I have even seen a heuristic detection which was the same.

    I know I am not supposed to post VirusTotal example but just want to show you what I mean?

    Any ideas

    BitDefender 7.2 2009.10.27 Trojan.Downloader.Bredolab.AZ

    GData 19 2009.10.27 Trojan.Downloader.Bredolab.AZ

    F-Secure 9.0.15370.0 2009.10.22 Trojan.Downloader.Bredolab.AZ

    Kaspersky 7.0.0.125 2009.10.27 Packed.Win32.Krap.w

    My thinking is maybe they have added Bitdefender in there orion engine or somthing?

    Cheers

    Jlo
     
  2. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    That's my understanding- BD is now in F-secure.
     
  3. Ro4dRuNn3r

    Ro4dRuNn3r Guest

    Short answer, Yes! ;)
     
  4. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Do they still use Kaspersky as well?
     
  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    no they dont.
     
  6. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Interesting.

    Thanks for the info.

    BW

    jlo
     
  7. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    f-secure uses bitdefender and also quite a few in house engines which have been mainly improved in the current version.
     
  8. jlo

    jlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks
     
  9. JoakimM

    JoakimM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Lomma, Sweden
    Different aspects of F-Secures 2010 line, mainly F-Secure Internet Security can be found in this thread:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=245456

    Theses are the four major engines used in FSIS 2010:

    F-Secure Aquarius: 11.00.00, 2009-10-30
    F-Secure Hydra: 4.02.9392, 2009-10-30
    F-Secure Gemini: 3.00.09, 2009-05-11
    F-Secure BlackLight: 2.04.1099, 0-00-00

    From what I understand, the Aquarius engine is the renamed Bitdefender engine used for signature based malware search. Hydra is an in-house engine also signature based for common malware search. Gemini is the HIPS engine and Blacklight is the rootkit search and removal engine.

    Regards,
    Joakim
     
  10. Jonnas_tan

    Jonnas_tan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    It's very easy to know what F-secure detects if you have BitDefender then.
     
  11. MakePB

    MakePB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    85
    Location:
    Find-IP-Address.org
    And what then about F-secure workstation 8.00 build 146 (last release) that still use Kaspersky (AVP extended engine) with update from 06/11/2009?
    I still do not see Bitdefender engine with F-secure workstation and still do not see new releae of workstation except Hotfix from 3 November ( http://www.f-secure.com/en_EMEA/support/business/hotfixes/anti-virus-for-workstations/index.html ). Here is list of engine updates:

    F-secure Anti-Virus AVP Extended Update 2009-11-06_06
    F-secure Anti-Virus Mics Update 2009-10-28_10
    F-secure Blacklight Engine Update 2009-09-22_05
    F-secure Hydra Update 2009-11-06_11
    F-secure News Update 2008-08-07_01
    F-secure Scanner Manager Update 2009-10-15_07
    F-secure Universal System Scanner Update 2009-10-15_09
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2009
  12. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    AFAIK Kaspersky engine was dropped by G-Data and F-Secure for the lack of multi-threading support. The WKS flavour seems to be doomed as there is no Beta on the anvil.

    I think they are going to concentrate on the CS flavour. They are regularly updating it.
     
  13. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    @Arin
    There's never been a beta for the workstation edition. The Client Security edition with all components but the AV disabled is Workstation edition :)
     
  14. MakePB

    MakePB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    85
    Location:
    Find-IP-Address.org
    Wonder how you come on idea that workstation is disabled?
    Because workstation still have Kaspersky engine and because is still not updated to works with Bitdefender engine?

    Workstation was always late with new releases in past. Security patch for workstation was released 5 days a go and engine's are still regularly updates. I do not see any reason for yours speculations about F-secure workstation.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2009
  15. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    @MakePB
    Client Security with with BitDefender engine is still in beta... One that one comes out the new Workstation edition will also come out.

    The current Client Security and Workstation still use Kaspersky.
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    hopefully version 8 of the business line is out soon. 7 doesnt support windows 7 so i cant use it.

    the beta works very well and is alot lighter and faster than the older versions of f-secure.
     
  17. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    @lodore
    It will be not earlier then December I think, and maybe even January/February. The BitDefender engine is indeed a very nice replacement in my opinion. Kaspersky did a very bad thing not updating their licensed engine.
     
  18. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    well ill have to rely on other defences for awhile and hopfully its not to long.
    I can always use the beta for since it is just bug fixiing atm.
    but ill wait awhile.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2009
  19. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    They have updated it... just a company choice not to use it :)

    They actually support multi-threading since sometime ;)

    Fax
     
  20. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Fair enough, I wasn't that up-to-date so it seems. When did it got updated then? Although I've to say that BitDefender always offers it's latest engine to it's partners witch can't be said of Kaspersky. The fast two important Kaspersky partners, G-Data and F-Secure, moved over to BitDefender at least indicates their problem with this.
     
  21. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Around June/July 2009 :)
    They are actually always updating their SDK package (kernel drivers and fixes). This one was indeed a major update.
    Of course smaller producers are cheaper and more flexible to specific requests.

    Fax
     
  22. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    @fax
    Yup you're right I forgot about it. They do indeed update their SDK with fixes but from what I recall it it's been more then 4 years till the big update in 2009 that new technology got added.
     
  23. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Yeap, same cycle as KAV business products.

    Fax
     
  24. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    You mean they never released a beta version for the WKS version? Somehow I find it hard to believe.

    You mean the Firewall and HTTP scanning is disabled in the WKS version. Anyway when the latest version of CS was released a couple of months earlier then why they didn't release similar update for the WKS version?

    I'm assuming that the question was directed at me. No, there is a difference between releasing a new build and releasing a security patch. Of course F-Secure has to honour the license they sold.

    Like I said, releasing a security patch and updating a definition is different than releasing a new version or build.

    Will it have HTTP scanning and exploit shield?

    I was dwelling in the past. Thank you for the update. :D
     
  25. kwg

    kwg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Posts:
    126
    There have indeed been public beta releases of Kaspersky business products, including the Windows Workstation edition. Currently, the Administration Kit for workstation management is in public beta testing:

    http://usa.kaspersky.com/downloads/beta-testing.php
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.