Is Chrome 10 really secure?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Hugger, Mar 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    Maybe I'm looking at this the wrong way.
    I had some trouble installing Chrome on my Windows 7 Pro x64. The Red 'X' would re-size the browser window. To close Chrome I had to use Task Manager.
    So I uninstalled it twice and cleaned my system.
    The third time time I did a few reboots after the install and now it seems to be working properly.
    Now for the security part.
    I know not too much can happen from cookies in a well protected system. For years I've been using Sandboxie and Firefox. Nothing that I can remember got past SB.
    But when I close Chrome I'm left with a bunch of cookies that Hitman Pro finds.
    Am I looking at this the wrong way?
    Thanks.
    Hugger
     
  2. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
  3. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,079
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Did you set up to block 3rd party cookies? Or you can block all cookies except allowed. You can also set up to clean cookies when a browser is closed.
     
  4. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    The command switch -safe-plugins should make Java start sandboxed?
     
  5. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    I would think so. I didn't test that though.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.