Is Avira enough?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by AaLF, Nov 20, 2014.

  1. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Wife's facebook groups & forums seem to be visited & discretely vandalized by an uninvited guest. Don't know how he's gotten access.
    The call is sounding to nuke the home C drive & reach for a back up. That's no problem. But I don't believe someone can access the PC. Granted though its Win7x64 with only Avira pro + wifi modem.

    Could someone access the PC remotely nowadays? i thought that stuff got too tuff with today's AVs' & Win 7. (Emails are never opened so that door is ruled out.) To keep the peace, If you say maybe someone can enter remotely, how can i check?
     
  2. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    It's not that difficult to access a system remotely, especially if it's compromised in any way, and most definitely since malware authors have state sponsored code to work from these days. Also no longer does a simple consumer NAT based router provide much of any security, UTM's are the answer. I just helped install a UTM for a forum member here, and within 10 minutes he was getting a variety of attacks blocked, all of which would meander past his cheap consumer router to remote exploit the devices on his network.

    My thoughts are without having any additional data - it's a password issue with your wife. She is probably using same/similar passwords everywhere, and probably a very easy one to figure out. I did a security demonstration for work last week, and demonstrated how I could gain access to someones accounts without any trouble. All I did was find out that the guy loved Hockey, then ran down a few variables, and ended up all of his passwords were Hockey1954 (his birthdate). That's reckless, but illustrates the point, now they are moving the entire company to a corporate password solution.

    Run a HerdProtect, Emsisoft Emergency Kit, and Norton Power Eraser scan on the machine to see if it is clean. Be careful with those tools, if you get too clicky you can damage core files.
     
  3. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    It depends on how paranoid you are...
     
  4. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,213
    I think Avira is as good as any other top AVs. I would also make sure of the following:
    Control Panel/System and security/System/Advanced system settings/System properties/Remote/Uncheck (Allow Remote Assistance connections to this computer) this is the protocol for Win 8, but I should think it can't be that different for Win 7.
     
  5. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Avira is more then enough. Great people who make a great product and stand behind it. If I am not using Eset I am using Avira.
     
  6. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Says He who's current avatar is Bitdefender :argh:
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,085
  8. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,834
    Does unchecking the above option also affects TeamViewer?
    I use TV for remote connection to solve probs on friends system.
     
  9. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,723
    Location:
    localhost
    Avira is enough if you educate the user or give the user no options (e.g. hardening Avira to never ask and always act aggressively) :)
     
  10. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,213
    I don't know as I've never used TeamViewer, all I can think of is that 'remote assistance' is usually checked by default, and most people requiring assistance probably don't even know of this possibility...
     
  11. Blueshoes

    Blueshoes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Posts:
    220
    I can't stand (HATE) the new Avira GUI, yuck! browser based AV YUCK!! I will never use it. They could not pay me to use that GUI/install setup.
     
  12. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,015
    It is one of the best products in terms of protection.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2014
  13. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,085
    You are totally wrong.
    New Avira GUI not exists, the Avira GUI remains as always was
    http://i1-win.softpedia-static.com/screenshots/AntiVir-Personal-Edition_1.png
    http://i1-win.softpedia-static.com/screenshots/Avira-AntiVir-Premium_1.png
    Nothing changed so far.

    Most probably you are talking about Avira Online Essentials. ;)
    http://www.avira.com/en/support-for-home-knowledgebase-detail/kbid/1582
     
  14. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,633
    Location:
    UK
  15. garrett76

    garrett76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    210
    Nope :(
     
  16. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,085
    Avira Online Essentials beta now with TeamViewer integration:
     
  17. Spokesman

    Spokesman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    383
    Location:
    Belgium
    1 Word : Bloated !!! more and more stuff people don't need ..... more people are going to leave avira
     
  18. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,633
    Location:
    UK
    I just tried it on a Windows 8 system, and in Add/Remove Programs there were two Avira items listed. I removed the topmost program leaving Avira Free alone. Once the first one was uninstalled, double-clicking the Avira icon in the taskbar brings up only the AV program and not the other stuff we're talking about.
     
  19. Blueshoes

    Blueshoes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Posts:
    220
  20. garrett76

    garrett76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    210
    Did you try to reboot and update Avira? Because after that, on my system, a window opens in the middle of the screen asking to update to a new version (which is the Online Essentials).
     
  21. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    244
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Wait a second New GUI was exists but it was in-development
    if you login to beta center recently,you will notice a survey which was talk about the new GUI voting
     
  22. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,085
    Exactly. In development, not even in beta.
    New Avira GUI [in stable product versions] not exists.

    I Know.....
     
  23. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I just started using Avira, and I think detection-wise it is enough. What I don't like is that they have stripped many features off the Internet Security in the 2014 and 2015 versions. What am I paying so much for anyway - a bunch of system speedup tools that are of little effect anyway? Using Windows Firewall works, but the new management layer hardly does anything that you couldn't do with the vanilla firewall anyway - most advanced settings just open the Windows Control Panels for Windows Firewall. At least develop a competent addition like Windows Firewall Control does. No Anti-Spam. If WebGuard can be activated in the free version via a registry hack, what am I really paying for?
     
  24. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,085
    I don't comment the so called "registry hacks". ;)

    AFAIK, the differences between free/paid are:
    a) Web Protection (aka WebGuard)
    b) Mail protection, yes I know about that:
    http://www.avira.com/en/support-for-home-knowledgebase-detail/kbid/920
    c) Technical Support.
    d) No crapware (aka Avira Online Essentials/Avira Launcher).

    e) Avira AntiVir ProActiv? (ProActiv still doesn't work on 64-bit)
    http://www.avira.com/en/proactiv
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2014
  25. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,213
    What happened to all the brouhaha associated with the introduction of these features to the paid versions? Is it going to happen?
     
Loading...