Is Avira 9 incompatible with Windows Defender?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Zyrtec, May 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zyrtec

    Zyrtec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    534
    Location:
    USA
    Hi,

    I've been reading at Avira forums that they recommend disabling Windows Defender on Windows Vista 32-bit once you install the new version of Avira antivir 9 because it causes conflicts and BSOD as well...

    Is it true? I've been testing Avira 9 for a few days on Windows Vista without disabling WD and I haven't noticed any BSOD or incompatibilities.

    What's your take about it?

    Regards,

    Carlos
     
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    hmm im not sure, i normally have defender disabled anyways but i was running with it on for about a week and didnt get nay problems :doubt:
     
  3. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Note: applies to Avira AntiVir Premium only and probably when Windows Defender is set to automatically scan PC daily, especially option scan archives and folders.
     
  4. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    if you have windows defender to do a scan at the exact time as avira you will run into a huge problem wether you use the pro or free version. In fact if you have WD set to do a scan at the same time as any antivirus program you will run into the same problem.
    You need to make sure they do not run at the same time- leave about 3hrs between each one

    robin
     
  5. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    They should work fine together, as far as I know from others who have WD enabled.

    In my case, I have it completely turned off (and I would uninstall it, if I could) since I got my first vista.
     
  6. mnosteele

    mnosteele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    181
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA USA
    I'm sure you saw the thread at DSLR about this where Mele20 was stating that WD should be removed completely as per Avira's techs.

    I don't understand why, I have setup hundreds of pcs using both Avira FREE and Pro with WD running in real-time with absolutely NO conflicts. On a rare occasion WD detected something that Avira did not. I think it's a good combo, WD is free and auto updates and can be scheduled to scan. I would like to know why they recommend not using both, besides, in Vista and Windows 7 WD is built in. I'm not a big advocate of using mutiple scanners in real time, even one being anti virus and the other antispyware, but even though Avira detects spyware, nothing is 100%.

    :)
     
  7. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,780
    I am running Avira Premium and have Defender turned off here. I don't see the need for both anyway, so better to avoid any possible conflicts.
     
  8. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,220
    Same here, I really think that Avira on its own is more than adequate as an antispyware.
     
  9. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Windows Defender is more like a simple HIPS than AS, that is its advantage. If I had to choose to run only one security app, I woould rather run WD than Avira.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.