is auto update working

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by 4now, Oct 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 4now

    4now Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Posts:
    89
    I haven't seen the automatic update work yet. Usually I find updates by checking manually. Looking at the log it is possible that it is unable to/blocked from getting updates (at startup). This is what I see. The successful downloads are my manual efforts.

    I have a LAN connection and use OutPostPro 2.1 as my firewall

    any ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Leave it be for a couple of days, I'm sure you will see it auto-update...

    Cheers :D
     
  3. 4now

    4now Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Posts:
    89
    ok thanks

    I'll wait at least 27 more days
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Mine won't update on computer startup sometimes. I suspect my firewall is causing this. It does update at all other times though. Give it a couple of updates without manually updating and see how it does.
    Make sure nod32krn.exe has permission to connect in your rules.
     
  5. 4now

    4now Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Posts:
    89
    check- permission granted -- thanks
     
  6. Elray

    Elray Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Posts:
    95
    Location:
    Rural Queensland, Australia
    Don't know whether this is a valid point in your case, but I found that Nod32 wasn't automatically updating yet could be manually updated with no problems. The solution in my case was very simple. Although I have an ADSL connection I don't always have it fully enabled before startup and the slight time difference was the only problem. I just had to change the order in which I switch things on. Didn't have this problem with Norton which updated once the connection was established and not during startup. Nod is faster off the mark at searching for updates obviously (or at least in my case).

    Elray
     
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Same here, if there is an update available, then upon bootup Nod is the first to update, before everything else has loaded...

    Cheers :D
     
  8. Ineke

    Ineke Guest

    Well here is the auto update function not working
    Time Module Event User
    14-10-2004 8:13:02 Update Function: gethostbyname, parameters: , return value: 11001
    14-10-2004 8:13:02 Update Update attempt failed (Server connection failure.)
    14-10-2004 8:13:00 Update Error connecting to server www.nod32.com.
    14-10-2004 8:12:58 Update Error connecting to server u3.eset.com.
    14-10-2004 8:12:56 Update Error connecting to server u4.eset.com.
    14-10-2004 8:12:54 Update Error connecting to server u2a.eset.com.
    14-10-2004 8:12:53 Update Error connecting to server u1.eset.com.
    14-10-2004 2:49:21 Kernel The virus signature database has been updated successfully to version 1.894 (20041014).
    13-10-2015 21:04:32 Kernel The virus signature database has been updated successfully to version 1.893 (20041013).


    I do not no what to do i have reinstall it many times but it is still not working only the virus signature is updated i do not understand....
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Perhaps it happens when NOD32 attepts to perform update on startup at the time all net-related services haven't been started yet.
     
  10. Ineke

    Ineke Guest

    So what must i do to reset that ??
     
  11. Ineke

    Ineke Guest

    I have a task make on automatic update everyday ay 12:00 and one on 16:00 and the last one on 22:00 But it did not automatic update on 16:00 it did nothing :(
     
  12. Ineke

    Ineke Guest

    How do you do that , maby i can try it to o_O
     
  13. anotherjack

    anotherjack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    224
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Please bear in mind that NOD doesn't log successful connections. For instance, your log may show a connection at 12:00 and 22:00 as you mention, but if NOD was able to connect at 16:00 and there was no new update, then it merely disconnected and didn't log anything. For instance, here is a snip of my update log:

    Time Module Event User
    10/12/2004 19:32:30 PM Kernel The virus signature database has been updated successfully to version 1.893 (20041013).
    10/11/2004 21:32:30 PM Kernel The virus signature database has been updated successfully to version 1.892 (20041012).
    10/11/2004 10:32:29 AM Kernel The virus signature database has been updated successfully to version 1.891 (20041011).
    10/10/2004 17:32:29 PM Kernel The virus signature database has been updated successfully to version 1.890 (20041010).
    10/8/2004 12:32:29 PM Kernel The virus signature database has been updated successfully to version 1.889 (20041008 ) .


    My system is set to check hourly, and does, it just logs when something actually happens.
     
  14. Ineke

    Ineke Guest

    Time Module Event User
    15-10-2004 8:56:14 Kernel The virus signature database has been updated successfully to version 1.895 (20041014).
    15-10-2004 7:55:09 Update Function: gethostbyname, parameters: , return value: 11001
    15-10-2004 7:55:09 Update Update attempt failed (Server connection failure.)
    15-10-2004 0:22:35 Update Update attempt failed (Server connection failure)
    14-10-2004 22:24:51 Kernel The virus signature database has been updated successfully to version 1.894 (20041014).


    Oh than this is good ??
     
  15. Elray

    Elray Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Posts:
    95
    Location:
    Rural Queensland, Australia
    Hi Ineke,

    I'm a VERY Junior Member here but since you quoted one of my posts I thought I would put my two cents in. I have an ADSL connection but if I don't have it activated prior to booting my PC I get the same "gethostbyname" type of log entries but could update easily manually. I was worried too but in my case just ensuring that the connection was established at bootup sorted things out. If you use dial-up that probably isn't possible for you but your log entries show that updates are occuring.

    Cheers, Elray.

    PS.Being paranoid I also set my homepage to Eset so I could see at a glance the latest definitions and know I was up-to-date! :D
     
  16. Ineke

    Ineke Guest


    I have an adsl connection too but how i can make sure my connection is established at bootup !! i can not change anything for booting up first.My connection is bissy connecten during bootup but nod32 is first one that is loaded so, can i change the startup nod32 update somewere in tne program, so that this is not updating during bootupo_Oo_O

    Still it is very strange !!!!! normaly updates a program when connection is stabled like norton or mcafee, why does nod32 update before the connection is tabled, it make no sense.........

    But i like the programm so i will wait untill a solution is find !!

    Thanks for your answer anyway ...
     
  17. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Is your connection set to LAN/fixed line?

    Cheers :D
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Ineke

    Ineke Guest



    Yes , checked it stands on lan\fixed line
    I have turn of programm update and now you only see this.
    Time Module Event User
    15-10-2004 21:21:06 Kernel The virus signature database has been updated successfully to version 1.896 (20041015).
    15-10-2004 8:56:14 Kernel The virus signature database has been updated successfully to version 1.895 (20041014).
    14-10-2004 22:24:51 Kernel The virus signature database has been updated successfully to version 1.894 (20041014).

    No errors at all so i let the program update for what it is for now...

    Thanks..
     
  19. Ineke

    Ineke Guest

    Oh i forgot to say, that i like the nod32 program much much better than all other virus progs ..

    I think nod32 update has a bug,....but hey 2.12.2 works oke so
     
  20. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    There is a new version 2.12.3 available for manuel download from www.nod32.com

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     
  21. Ineke

    Ineke Guest

    Is the program not automatic updated to version 2.12.3 ?? Or must i manual download it and installed it again ??
     
  22. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    I don't believe NOD will automatically update to 2.12.3. Just download from the NOD website and install over your current version. (2.12.2)
    This was discussed on another thread here and several people have installed over the 2.12.2 with no problems.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2004
  23. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I'm afraid it is a manuel install again...

    Cheers :D
     
  24. windstrings

    windstrings Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    337
     
  25. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Exactly! :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2004
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.