is Acronis true image 2015 safer than older versions ?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by garry35, Jul 16, 2015.

  1. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    330
    is acronis true image 2015 safer than older version ie.2014 etc. does it still leave any leftovers ? apart from making an image backup before, is there any way or programs to use to install such revo pro,total uninstall or others that can help removing traces if it doesnt work out. thanks in advance

    Gazzer
     
  2. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    it depends on your system. The best way is to use its boot usb/cd. You can install it on a spare PC, make a boot USB, then uninstall it. Once you have a boot usb, you can use it to make backup/restore on any other PCs without worrying about Acronis leaving leftovers in your system.
     
  3. max2

    max2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Posts:
    339
    That is what I do right now with Acronis True Image 2014 and love it. Acronis True Image 2015 sucks I tried the trial version. :(
     
  4. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    330
    thanks for the replies but i am more interested in installing as normal with any precautions needed, and being able to uninstall it later if i dont like it without any leftovers or associated problems. also theres no need to install to create boot media because acronis let you download the bootable media as needed as a standalone ready to be burned to disc without the need for an install
     
  5. SWillie

    SWillie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    I bit and "upgraded" to TI 2015... big mistake. The UI is terrible but I needed a backup program. I made a backup of my machine and saved it to an external drive, all appeared to be well. Then my computer crashed while I was messing around trying to install a Linux dual-boot system with Windoze. I booted the recovery disk only to get the message that the "backup file is corrupt". After some web searching I discovered that this seems to be an issue with TI 2015 as others have reported the same thing.

    Bottom Line: I am done with Acronis, my advice is to not waste your time & money on this junkware.
     
Loading...