Iomega USB Drive Showing as Local Drive

Discussion in 'hardware' started by TerryWood, Aug 28, 2014.

  1. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi

    I have two Iomega external USB Hard Drives.

    In My Computer one reports itself as Iomega HDD (I:) the other reports Local Disk (J:)

    Can anyone explain how to ensure the other drive shows itself as Iomega.

    I have tried via my computer to add the name which then requests administrative permissions (twice) but it still shows Local Disk
     
  2. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,952
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Have you also asked this question on the Iomega Support Forum?

    Frankly, my advice,if you can afford it, would be to return or dump both of them.

    Last year I purchased a new Iomega Ext Hardrive. It failed after 7 months, first my PC couldn't recognize it, followed shortly thereafter by noises coming from it. Lost a ton of stuff. At the time there were many others reporting the same problems on the Iomega Forums.

    Stock support Mod Answer:"Iomega will of course honor it's warranty and replace your current Iomega External Hardrive. If there is any important data on it you should send it to a company that specializes in retrieving data from failed hard drives."

    The unofficial story was that at that time, the drive component was manufactured by a major HDD manufacturer and there was a bug discovered in that component causing it to fail. I assume Iomega has since changed suppliers, but just the same, I would never again trust an Iomega. Their external disc drives were a great product, and I still have mine with a ton of discs from over a decade ago. Never tried using it cause I have no longer any need for that data and not sure it would work on today's systems.

    But what the heck good is an external hard drive that is used as an insurance backup, if that insurance is more likely to fail than your internal driveso_O?
     
  3. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,952
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2014
  4. SirDrexl

    SirDrexl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Posts:
    545
    Location:
    USA
    "Local Disk" is just the default volume label that Windows assigns for disks that don't have one, although I don't know why it won't change when you try to rename it.

    You could try formatting it again. (Obviously, get anything you want off the drive first.)
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Terry,

    In "My Computer" did you right click Local Disk J: and select Rename? Is this an Administrator account? Is it an Omega NTFS drive?
     
  6. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi Brian K

    Rename - yes I did.

    Administrator account - Yes

    Iomega USB HDD formatted as NTFS

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  8. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi Brian K

    Many thanks for ur reply. In the interim prior to your reply I have rectified the problem (so far). If you ask me how I did it for the benefit of others, my reply would be "God Knows".

    Thanks again

    Terry
     
Loading...