Invalid Username and/or Password

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Bluedog1969, Jan 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bluedog1969

    Bluedog1969 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    OK purchased SS 4 for someone, installed and away it went.
    Few weeks later the computer died so built her a new one. Installed SS4, input username and password and all I get is

    Virus signature database could not be updated
    Invalid Username and/or Password

    I have copied and pasted it directly from the email and no success.
    Tried making tweeks to the details, remove hyphen, space between hyphens and all that stuff.

    Even trying to download the exe from the website does not work either. Nothing will accept the username and password

    Any ideas.
     
  2. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    Please contact your local support, they can check the U/P combination for you.
     
  3. Woodgiant

    Woodgiant Guest

    Hello Bluedog1969 and welcome
    I have seen this problem before, try to write you username and password and do not copy and paste.

    Regards

    Woodgiant
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 28, 2011
  4. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    The thing which most likely happened is that you accidently copied a [SPACE] together with the username and/or password.
     
  5. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    The software trims spaces from the U/P fields
     
  6. dannyboy

    dannyboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    UK
    Most common problem by miles is copying & pasting a space on the END of the username and/or password. (not between the hyphens).

    Mistaking a letter o for a zero, or a 1 for an L are common when typing the password manually.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.