Invalid partition size?

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by steve6884, Oct 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. steve6884

    steve6884 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I bought your program tonight tonight to use with a new computer with a 700 gig hard drive. I ran the new partition wizard and told it to make the main partition around 200 gig and the other partition around 480 gig or so. I hit the commit button and it asks me to reboot. I hit reboot and it begins to work and then reaches a screen that says Operation 1 of 3. At the bottom of the screen where it is supposed to show operation progress it says OPERATION ERROR: Invalid partitition size and the program freezes. I tried multiple times and the same thing happens everytime. I even uninstalled the program and reloaded it and the same thing happens. What can I do to make this program work?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried the procedure by booting from the Disk Director CD instead of starting it in Windows?

    Since you just bought the program, I assume you are using the latest build (2,160).

    Are you trying to make NTFS partitions?
     
  3. steve6884

    steve6884 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I downloaded the product so I do not have a cd. Yes I am trying to make ntfs partitions. I am using windows xp on a brand new new dell xps 410 computer. I am using the latest build of the product. Based on what I have been reading in here I have a feeling I might be asking for a refund.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    If you did a complete install (or a custom install and selected the option), you should have the Acronis Media Builder program on your computer. Run that to create a bootable CD with DD on it. Check to boxes to include both the Full and Safe Mode versions of DD. Then boot from the CD and try the procedure. If Full mode doesn't seem to work properly, try the Safe mode versions.

    Also, it sometimes works better to do each step as a separate procedure (apply the changes after make each change).

    I have not used DD on a 700GB drive so I don't know if there are any possible size problems with the program and drives that big.
     
  5. steve6884

    steve6884 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for the advice but I decided to reformat the drive and reload xp and start from scratch. I wasted too much time last night trying to get this program to work. I will be requesting a refund.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.