Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,466
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    v6 with BETA CBT is even better than basic v6... easy to integrate and use. But remember, it's only better for multiple snapshots within a given System session. Once the System is reSTARTed, Reflect requires one image (any one taken the normal way) to set up the new CBT tracking reference... from there on it's very fast. Macrium did it this way because it found out that to try and determine whether a System had been "tweaked" since its last known operation was just too difficult and unreliable. Ax64 has always tried to do this and has had a miserable record of doing so. When it found that a System had been tweaked, it required a FULL System scan to generate the next snapshot... very time consuming. Reflect's method for doing this is excellent... no guesses.
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    That post was in the fall 2016 time frame.
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Way I would describe it is the regular Macrium method is fast fasts. With the CBT driver after the first snapshot of the day it becomes super super fast fast.
     
  4. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,466
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    ...and what may be the most telling thing about this software development group is the sign off used in the post I referenced above...

    FlaskBack Team (Formerly AX64)
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    That still doesn't beat the Minitool back beta page

    "Bare Mental/Dissimilar Restore" They still haven't fixed this.
     
  6. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    940
    I can not believe that BitsDUJour said that a 4 pack deal for AX64 was going to be on their site soon!
     
  7. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,728
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    You don't have to go into detail but is that something that was close to working as expected or a concept being worked up?

    Just curious as always. You guys have these imaging matters down really good.
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Well the imaging part seemed okay, nothing special but okay. But I wouldn't try a restore as that they haven't got right. The only way the have to identify the labels. That is the only sure fire way to tell.

    They have a new beta out, and I will test when I get home later in theweek.
     
  9. hoge hoge

    hoge hoge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Japan
    Current "ax64.com" domain is invalid.
    I am sorry a little.

    I bought IFW which TheRollbackFrog was writing about before.
    At first IFW did not work well in my environment, but error was fixed as soon as contacting support team.
    I am satisfied with having transferred. :thumb:
     
  10. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    407
    But xeroweight.com still works for me...
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Just tried. You can download V2 but not V1.
     
  12. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    407
    True, V1 was hosted at AX64.com...

    But for anyone who needs V1 I am sure that there are Wilders forum members who will upload it...
     
  13. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,055
    My machine borked. So I reinstalled Windows 7. Thankfully I made a
    backup yesterday. So I installed Flashback, made the first backup. But
    when I went to recover the backup from yesterday, flashback doesn't see
    my C:. It just sees my external hard drive that my backups are made on.
    Is there anything that I can do to remedy this?
     
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Not for me. Problem was when you did a restore, if you have several internal drives by the same manufacturer you couldn't identity which was which
     
  15. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    The best thing you can do with any of this stuff is trash it. Don't use it and ask for remedies. The remedy is to not to use it.
     
  16. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,055
    Then what do YOU recommend?
     
  17. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Macrium, Image for Windows, to name two. But none of the AX64 or Xeroweight stuff every quite was up to snuff and the developers are now long gone.
     
  18. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,728
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Makes sense.

    I guess the mysterious manner of making Microsoft windows code compatible enough with their software formula was simply too much of a hassle to refine it to a good working order.

    And for awhile it seemed they actually might be on to something with those hot restores.
     
  19. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,235
    Thats not very helpful given the situation that Infected finds himself/herself in now. Great suggestion for going forward but is there nothing he/she can do given the current situation?
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Don't know. Problem for most of us is it's been so long since we touched it, and there are no developers around.
     
  21. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,235
    Understood,,,,,,
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Infected

    Just checking in. How are you doing.

    Pete
     
  23. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,055
    I had to do a full reinstall. It's all good though. I ended up going with a image backup. :thumb::thumb:
     
  24. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Glad to hear. Use a good image program and you should be all set.
     
  25. Flora

    Flora Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Posts:
    32
    What desolate island are the developers hiding on?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.