Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    I remember reading much earlier about a new thread being started once V2 was released, I assume that those plans were canceled? Just wondering since it is kind of a large thread by now, could probably roll it into a nice and big yarn for kittens to play with. =)

    Edit: Or perhaps I read something about a product specific forum for ax64? I can't remember..
     
  2. Stode

    Stode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    Finland
    @wajamus:
    on https://ax64.com/purchase/
    the download link at the bottom of the page points to v1 version of the program, you might want to fix that since you probably want new people to try the
    latest version before purchasing the software, not older version, which for, the bought license key won't even work for?
     
  3. Stode

    Stode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    Finland
    If you want to go beyond dual panel, you might be interested in Q-Dir, a freeware software aswell, which has quad panel!
     
  4. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    In the interest of preserving backup hard drive space, I've gone away now from doing hourly backups to just backing up as needed.

    Is it okay to delete some of the .axd files in a chain? Is there a preferred/safer/more reliable way to do this or to choose which ones?
     
  5. taotoo

    taotoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    459
    Delete snapshots from within TM's Backup Browser - don't do it from Windows Explorer.
     
  6. taotoo

    taotoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    459
    See post above!
     
  7. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,331
    Location:
    France
    Thanks !
     
  8. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,527
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    As long as the DELETE is done through AXTM's Browser... no problem.
     
  9. Paihil

    Paihil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Windows 8.1 64-bit OEM OS system messed up and asked for activation on pc startup. Tried to do a warm restore with TM 2.0.0.439 and all worked out fine. Back to normal now thanks to TM and devs.

    Regards
    Gert
     
  10. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Excellent, thank you!
     
  11. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,331
    Location:
    France
    Thanks !
     
  12. newbino

    newbino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    461
    That would be great, thanks!
     
  13. Kit1cat

    Kit1cat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK
    Thanks, will have a look, that could be handy. :)
     
  14. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,331
    Location:
    France
    Actually I do see a problem. I have set new backups to be done onto another external HDD, J:\AXTM, while the former chain of backups was on G:\AXTM. If I want to access the chain on G:, I open it with "Browse and Recover Data", manually select G:\AXTM, I can now see the backup chain *but* when I try to delete the newest one, I get an error message saying something like c:\ cannot enumerate... I suspect I have to set the defaut location for backups to be G:\AXTM again, but I think I will lose my tracking and next backup on J:\AXTM will be a full one.

    Is it really an issue to manually remove the last .axd files ?
     
  15. Stode

    Stode Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    Finland
    Decided I wanted v2 license, so I just bought one. :)
     
  16. Seguro

    Seguro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Hi !

    I have a problem and need some help.

    A few days ago I upgraded to version 2 of Time Machine.
    But now I need a file, I deleted 2 weeks ago :)

    I am sure, this file I need is in the old snapshots of Version 1 in the AXTM-Directory.

    How can I get access to the snapshots in the old AXTM-Directory using the version 2 of Time Machine to recover that file ?

    Thanks
     
  17. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,527
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    If those files are still on your system, go into the v2 Browser (Browse and Recover Data) and use the OPEN button to select the folder (AXTM) containing those snapshots. Once selected, you should see all those snaps in your Browser... recover away at that point.
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2014
  18. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,235
    Seems to me that what you are talking about was suggested by Isso when he was still running things. Waj never promised what you are asking about.
     
  19. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,677
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,
    Waj has made the following statement regarding this:
    HTH...
     
  20. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK
    Waj,

    Thank you for the pm...I fully understand now and am more than satisfied with AX64 and remain a loyal user....Exemplary service.
     
  21. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    Welcome anytime

    o
     
  22. Seguro

    Seguro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Venezuela
    THANKS !
     
  23. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,527
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    No hay de qué!
     
  24. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia

    Dear Norman,

    The main benefit is the rollback and roll forwards snapshot capability. In essence, speed, convenience and simplicity. However if this feature is not present - then we are left with just ease of use.

    You said you have no warm restore and must always perform a cold restore via WinPE. Warm restore is currently not supported in XP, however, Hot restore is supported. To use it, click on the advanced button in the restore wizard. It is a tick box.

    Simply tick this and XP should perform a quick incremental restore.

    Hope that resolves your questions.

    We encourage problems such as these to be directed to our friendly folks on the live chat. We're almost there 24/7 and can answer these questions in a flash.

    Thank you Norman.
     
  25. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,988
    For my own edification, I'd like to build by boot media from the ISO file. I've burned ISOs before (In fact, I believe I even made the AX media once that way hoping the cursor would work but I don't recall how I did it), however, I have a few questions. There are about a half dozen compressed files. Do I extract them all, if so, what what do I burn, or do I put them in a folder and burn them all? Thank you!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.