Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    thank you for the answers wajamus much appreciated. sadly i already uninstalled it. ill reinstall it once i get my base images done again and restore my test systems back. i dont like to have more than 1 image / backup software installed on the same machine for testing in the beginning due to possible conflicts.

    also please when you release the next update give people the choice to continue install where perfectdisk is already installed. as long as you have a checkbox and something explaining the possible issues (like a i accept the risk to continue insallation or something similar) then if someone runs into a issue in this exact scenario then they would be aware of this before going ahead. or maybe a possibility of a "tech" build with this option not normally available for download on your opening web page but in the support area under "other builds" or something like that. this way the average person would download the normal version and you would not have to worry as much then. just a suggestion. i also do hope you succeed i love the program overall and i think once you get the bugs ironed out it will be a great program. i wish the gui could be a bit different but not to bad of a issue as long as the program works properly.

    thanks for the update and the key!! (you may not want to post it publicly though unless you want everyone just using the beta key. many other companies learned this quickly. i would recc a pm me for the beta key. ive already seen it posted in 3 other places just from today)
     
  2. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK
    IMHO, Isso either left the development of AX64 to concentrate on other projects or was pushed aside. Either way without his humble attitude and skills not on the train any more I've jumped off and will always be grateful for V1.
     
  3. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    920
    This new key is not the one I was given. I guess it does not matter until this gets out of Beta testing.
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Waj

    Glad to hear from you. So people know they did respond to me on the 12th but I never got it. It was resent and I now have it.

    Looking forward to the next version to beat up. I really do want to see you succeed, but I also realize feedback isn't valuable unless it is frank and honest.

    We shall go forward together.

    Pete

    PS Rude of me to forget, but I hope your family situation is better.
     
  5. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Pete! We're just getting started.

    To zfactor, thanks for giving V2 a go. Regarding Pefect Disk co-existing with AX64, the team is fairly strong with their stance that apps that can cause severe issues should not be allowed to be installed. But your suggestions of a 'techie' area where we put builds with no restrictions at all is a good idea. I'll raise this with the team.

    To Clubhouse, no one has left the team. But it is true we do do work on other projects, but these help pay for AX64.

    Thanks all for your patience. A build with some fixes will be out shortly.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2014
  6. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,988
    Given the fact that you are alive and well: My issue in all versions. Booting into the PE recovery environment, the cursor of a
    Microsoft L2 Wireless Mouse 5000 MGC-00017 1 x Wheel USB RF Wireless BlueTrack Mouse
    is not visible (in other words, can not restore). I reported the issue to support weeks ago and I received an email stating that v2 would contain many more drivers (if in fact that is the issue). I replied after the release and installation of v2 that it did not rectify the problem. I've had this problem since last summer. Initially believed it was a USB problem but a USB cordless laptop mouse works as PS/2 mouse. v1.3.0.7 and all v1s hot restores always work perfectly! Minor inconvenience since I have other options and thank you!
     
  7. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Ratchet! I'm glad Hot restores always work for you. Sorry that mouse your mouse doesn't work. It is a driver issue as we can see that least your corded USB does work. The rescue media environment is always improving with more compatibilities coming as we go along.
     
  8. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,575
    Location:
    USA
    Can I run both MR and AX64 together? I'm too lazy to search back through thread.
    TIA
     
  9. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    473
    Location:
    US
    Hi Rainwalker :)

    You can indeed use both MR and AX64 together. Only thing I would be careful of is if you have both scheduled to make auto backups, of course not to have them run at same time to be safe and not cause potential VSS problems. Just a thought, they should compliment each other quite well.

    Have a good day :)

    Jim
     
  10. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,561
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Wajamus

    Do please raise this with the Team...and prevail on them NOT to nanny users. We understand that there is an incompatibility between TM64 and a certain feature of PD...I personally DO NOT use that feature and so it should not cause me an issue. I think that all that is required is a disclaimer when installing TM64, if PD is detected as also installed, which the user must accept before the install can continue.

    PD is a popular app and therefore you would be depriving yourself of those users as potential customers if a ban on the two apps being installed together is enforced, which would be a great shame.

    I hope that the right decision is made on this subject.

    Regards


    Baldrick
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Actually PD and TM coexist just fine. Only thing is if you do an offline defrag start a new TM chain. That would also seem to imply older ax64 chains would be bad, but testing doesn't convince me that is the case.

    Pete
     
  12. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,561
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Indeed Pete, and that is what I would generally do...defrag the disk online & offline in between ending an old chain and starting a new...but Waj advised that if you have PD installed then you cannot currently install TM64...the installer prevents it...and there was talk of not annoying users but rather giving the warning and a need for acknowledgment after which TM64 could be install...caveat emptor...so to speak.

    That was my point, and I am waiting for the version with the no nanny option.

    Cheers, Balders
     
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    What I did which was a pain, was uninstall PD, install TM, and the re install PD. I hope they take out that block in the next beta.

    Pete
     
  14. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,561
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Thanks. Pete...that is what I thought would be the workaround...but do not see why I should do it. As you say, hopefully the block will ome out of the next beta.

    Cheers, Baldrick
     
  15. marse.robert

    marse.robert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Posts:
    255
    Location:
    Langar: Nottinghamshire: UK
    Well! I have been using AX64 time machine on Windows 7 just fine. I have now upgraded to Windows 8.1 and uninstalled AX64 - then reinstalled. I did a number of bakups and tried to restore a three day old backup which completely hosed my OS. Goodbye AX Time Machine and hello Macrium.

    Marse
     
  16. ScottAdams

    ScottAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    What version of AX64? Where you restoring to pre 8.1? What were you restoring, was it a full restore or partial?
     
  17. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    Sure seems to be taking a long time for either the next beta or release of ver 2. Can't help but wonder if it all hit a snag of some sort since not even another beta release with some measure of improvement has been offered. Every few weeks we're told it's close, or something like that, so it makes me wonder just how close, close really is. I'm sure hoping for the best as I really like the program and looking forward to hot/warm restores working.
     
  18. marse.robert

    marse.robert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Posts:
    255
    Location:
    Langar: Nottinghamshire: UK
    Hi Scott

    I was using the latest version of AXTM for Windows 7. I then uninstalled AXTM and installed Windows 8.1 and reinstalled AXTM.

    I took a backup of Win 8.1 and restored perfectly from within Windows (using ATXM). I then made two further backups and tested a full restore using the CD. Immediate crash: tried to use all resources to repair in vain.

    Marse
     
  19. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,230
    Did you attempt to make a new recovery CD or did you use the old one/ Seems to me I recall reading about folks having issues with this aspect of moving to 8.1. Have you submitted a support ticket?

    I would suggest that for the time being you use AX64 as a snapshot program,,,,hot restores only. For cold restores, should you need to do one, use a traditional imaging program of your choice (you mentioned Macrium above so I assume that would be it). I know its not an ideal situation but AX64 hot restore is much faster than using a traditional imaging program and hot restore, on most systems (I believe) is quite reliable.

    I am sure you are aware that the devs are working on version 2 and hopefully when they get it released it will solve all of the problems various folks have been having with AX64/TM.
     
  20. defconnect

    defconnect Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Posts:
    24
  21. jelson

    jelson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Posts:
    62
    Good question, but...

    in general I'm seeing evidence some implementations of UEFI BIOS have USB mouse issues with recovery medias (both linux as well as WinPE based)

    Ran into problems recently when imaging a family member's new Z87 chipset based machine last week.

    And so far haven't found definitive information about it... much less how to determine ahead of time if a particular motherboard is going to have USB mouse issues with recovery media. :(
     
  22. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,988
    Interesting, however, I'd assumed it was a USB issue with my Microsoft 5000 mouse, since a PS/2 mouse worked but then discovered a Logitech wireless USB laptop mouse worked. The other thing that is strange is the MS mouse (cursor) is visible booting from Macrium's, Paragon's and W7's PEs!
     
  23. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Well...the 30th is the last day to get the 50% off deal with Raxco on my Perfect Disk upgrade cost, and on Perfect Updater.

    1. Are we settled yet on whether we can use PD (I'm still on AX64 v1....) with TM moving forward? Or what the limitations are, if we install PD?
    2. Anyone know if using Perfect Updater could mess with TM? And do any of you use it (is it any good)?
     
  24. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I would go for it. I have PD on all my machines with TM. Just be aware when you do a major defrag you are better served by starting a new image chain.

    I haven't used Perfect Updater.

    Pete
     
  25. MaximumFish

    MaximumFish Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    So I guess the tumbleweed in the thread is due to people waiting for the new beta.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.