Introducing AX64 Time Machine - hybrid imaging/snapshot software

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Isso, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. Seven64

    Seven64 Guest

    Not sure where to post this, here or in AppGuard?

    If I have the external drive connected all the time to do auto back-ups, should I add that drive to "user space" in AppGuard? Concerned about that drive being hit with malware, not from a back-up but just being plugged in when connected to the web.
     
  2. Jryder54

    Jryder54 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Posts:
    214
    External drives will be protected for anything launching by default. You could add it to the protected folders though. It's in the guarded apps tab, go to the bottom button and hit settings. There you can add the drive to be protected from read and/or write, if an application is set to privacy mode.
     
  3. rinem

    rinem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    156
    Just to say that V1.24 is running great here on Win 8.1 64Bit, Asus Uefi Bios. Hot restore works, Boot Menu works and Boot CD too. All is fast, simple and zero slowdown when idle.
    Very impressed with the hot restore and the fast hourly "incremental" updates.
     
  4. enonod

    enonod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    UK
    Windows 8.1 Basic 64bit: AX64 b36
    Patience was rewarding.
    After b24 failed to present the recovery screen at all...
    I took a backup using b24
    Installed b36 over the top. Took a backup. Created Restore CD.
    Rebooted and restored to that of b24, checked file dates etc. OK
    Rebooted and restored to that of b36, checked everything. OK.

    Travelling in time is great but could become addictive.
    Well done AX64 b36. (I believe this to be the one H.G. Wells wrote of.)
     
  5. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi guys,

    It's good to hear many of you have your AX64 issues reolved! We're looking into the mouse issues, it is a high priority. Also the keyboard short cut feature has been noted and is being considered :)

    On a side note, we have a new AX64 product announcement just around the corner. We've been working on it in for a little while and you guys will be the first to give it a spin.

    Watch this space! :)

    Cheers,

    Waj




     
  6. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    USA
    I am one of the unlucky ones.
    I cannot boot from my USB (2 or 3) and I get the following message when booting from a CD "the instruction at ox6baa22c9 referenced memory at ox00000000. The memory could not be read".
    I sent this in 4 days ago, no news yet.
     
  7. bgoodman4

    bgoodman4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    3,235
    Are you able to boot at all (with no recovery media in place)? Which version are you using? Did the previous version work for you? Do you have a recovery disk (or whatever) that was created by any imaging program that worked previously and have you tried it?

    More important,,,,, I should have asked this first ,,,,, is this a test or is it a real world problem and you have been without your PC for 4 days?
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2014
  8. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    USA
    I have not tried to boot from my USB or DVD without the recovery media for a long time but I was always able to boot from the DVD before.

    I am using AXTM_1_4_1_36.exe but I have tried them all.

    I have not used another imaging program. I move here from RRX.

    This is a test to get it working. Before the Windows 8.1 patch, it all worked fine with Windows 8.0.

    I can add, once I get this error message (from DVD), I click on it and it allows me to see the recovery media files with Explorer++. I am not brave enough to attempt a restore. Booting from the USB just gets me a black screen.
     
  9. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    Hot restore failure update:
    I did a Safe Mode Hot restore, but stopped the Windows Defender services from running (which I didn’t know was still on the computer and have disabled it). That worked fine and was faster than a Cold restore. Will try this again later today.

    I tried a Hot restore in normal Win environment and disabled Malwarebytes, Avast, Windows Def) and it stalled/failed again. It seems it’s more than one thing and not simply a security software that might be an issue for me.

    Finding which one, two, three, etc, programs may be causing the hot restore problem is going to be very, very time consuming.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2014
  10. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,599
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Thanks Waj

    Will be on the look out for this.

    Regards


    Baldrick
     
  11. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia

    Hi Dagrev, thanks for your kind words in your support request email. I'm glad you were able to successfully perform a hot restore. Sorry about the tedious tasks you've been undertaking to troubleshoot this problem. But you've been an awesome sport.

    Cheers,

    Waj
     
  12. wajamus

    wajamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi MB,

    I've replied your support ticket! We are investigating your issue. Thanks :)


    QUOTE=Masterblaster]I have not tried to boot from my USB or DVD without the recovery media for a long time but I was always able to boot from the DVD before.

    I am using AXTM_1_4_1_36.exe but I have tried them all.

    I have not used another imaging program. I move here from RRX.

    This is a test to get it working. Before the Windows 8.1 patch, it all worked fine with Windows 8.0.

    I can add, once I get this error message (from DVD), I click on it and it allows me to see the recovery media files Explorer++. I am not brave enough to attempt a restore. Booting from the USB just gets me a black screen.[/QUOTE]
     
  13. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    USA
    Got it. Thanks.
     
  14. ijskonijn

    ijskonijn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Posts:
    19
    Can AX64 do a 4k alignment? I see no tool to adjust an offset.
     
  15. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    956
    OK, I am watching, but need to get lunch now. :D

    Waj, I have sent Vitaly info from Devcon ( great name MS) on my XP 32bit system, so I hope that is going to help with the USB Mouse issue. I do have UltraISO, so I CAN add files to the recovery ISO if needed.
     
  16. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,988
    The following is good to know! I just spent probably eight hours, on and off, trying to successfully update x64 W7 SP1. Now I've had several crashes over the years but today was a new one. The updates would just continually fail. The failure error code (0x80070643) refers to an issue with .NET Framework updates. I ran Fixits, including ones specific to that error, SFC.exe, etc. until I was blue in the face. I finally decided to restore to a Paragon image which was a few days older than my latest AX baseline and it repaired the issue, having just installed the 14 updates.
    Now I was assuming, since AX is just "another" (I do not say that lightly) Windows application, that I would merely return it to 2/3/2014 like the rest of the PC, however, woe and behold AX was still perfectly up to date! I guess I don't understand that.
    edit: Other than the fact that indeed the images are on a different drive than Paragons.
     
  17. taotoo

    taotoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    458
    Quite - I've had probably a dozen consecutive hot restores work perfectly, then the 13th fail... hopefully the announcement will involve the semi-hot restore method.
     
  18. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    USA
    Personally I would like to see AX64 be made more stable before introducing additional features. New features are sure to invoke new issues to resolve. This is my selfish perspective as AX64 is not working for me.
     
  19. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    It's odd that if I do a clean instal the first few will work. Then the Hot restores never do.

    In the meantime try booting to Safe Mode and turn Windows Defender off in Task Manager. Not as fast as a hot restore, but a lot faster than a Cold restore. Safe Mode takes about 15 minutes. I can live with that, but am looking forward to not having to do the extra steps.
     
  20. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    Hot Restore is now not working in even in Safe Mode. I had many restores using this method but today three or more failures. Nothing has changed on the computer. No new 3rd party programs or the like.
     
  21. taotoo

    taotoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    458
    The problem with that is I may have to do 13 safe mode restores before I know whether it makes any difference or not... I'm just going to wait for the semi-hot restore to be implemented instead.
     
  22. Seven64

    Seven64 Guest

    My setup is/was similar on Windows 7 64 Sp-1 and Malwarebytes Pro, now switched to EAM and had no problems with either program.
    Maybe Avast IS or IDrive Sync (free) could be the problem? Just trying to narrow down the culprit. I use Outpost Pro, also have AppGuard 4.
    Everything is working fine with AXTM_1_4_1_24.
     
  23. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    It could be anything in regular Hot restore, but in Safe mode no security or sync programs are running (I check with Task Manager). Only about 9 maybe 10 things are and I assume those are Windows related, or seem so.
     
  24. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,724
    Location:
    UK
    Does anything show up in the Windows Event Viewer?
     
  25. dagrev

    dagrev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    USA
    I'm not up on what to look for or how to use this well. But nothing that would seem related to AXTM, or even times I think there was a problem. But then again I was rolling back to a different snapshot so I'm not sure it would.

    Just did a hot restore via Safe Mode and turned off everything that Win would allow. It worked but was as slow as a cold restore.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2014
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.