Intrepid Ibex wont restore in TI 10 - Help needed.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by temp850, Nov 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. temp850

    temp850 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Hi all,

    I love my Acronis TI, it has helped me many times. I use it mainly from the boot CD and boy is it handy with Windows XP and Ubuntu.

    My one concern with it now is that the latest Ubuntu (Intrepid Ibex) cannot be restored properly, except for a sector by sector restore which is very slow. I'm no expert but I understand the reason below is the problem:

    "The reason for this error is, that till intrepid, ubuntu formats the ext3 - Partition with 128 I-Nodes. Intrepid (as also Mandriva 2008.1 and Mandriva 2009.0 where this problem also occurs) formats with 256 I-Nodes.
    Acronis Trueimage (which in the safeboot version is a linux tool!) can only handle the old formatting-version of ext3-partition."

    See full link here:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=899190


    Does Acronis TI 2009 now have the ability to restore Intrepid Ibex? I don't want to move away from TI but like many people, I use Windows and Linux and Acronis has been very good at restoring both.

    Thanks for any help given.
     
  2. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    temp850:

    The Ubuntu forum thread that you referenced contains a reply stating that TI 2009 has the same problem with an inode size of 256 bytes.

    I am about to upgrade my Kubuntu machine to 8.10 and plan on avoiding this issue by not allowing the installer to reformat the ext3 partitions that Kubuntu is installed to. The partitions currently have an inode size of 128 bytes.

    As an alternative suggestion to you, if you've only recently installed Ubuntu and don't mind reinstalling, you could do the same and end up with an inode size of 128 bytes, which will be compatible with Acronis True Image. Some discussion of that is in this Ubuntu forum thread.
     
  3. temp850

    temp850 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks mate, yes I was aware that it was mentioned briefly in the thread that I linked to but I was just wanting more confirmation from TI 2009 users on this issue and you have done that.

    Someone else has helped me re Gparted, it seems the only thing I forgot to do was mount the new ext3 as root. For now though, I quite like the Wubi install of Ibex in XP as I can still access XP when needed - mostly for my backups as all photography and website folders are there. I can easily backup this setup using Acronis TI 10 although its a little slower than usual as I have to backup the 10Gb Wubi image of Ubuntu.

    Thanks for your reply and the link.
     
  4. mikex11

    mikex11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    I just discovered this, but even though it takes a lot longer, and Acronis complains that there is a "problem" with the drive, it does create a good image and restore properly. I verified that last night.

    So I suppose I'll slump along as is...
     
  5. tonyseeking

    tonyseeking Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    Yeah I have this problem. I have successfuly being backing up Ubuntu Linux 8.04. Yet once I installed 8.10, TI11 won't back it up, it can only use sector by sector.

    ANy solutions yet?
     
  6. tonyseeking

    tonyseeking Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    Patience is a virtue :thumb:

    As for me, I rather find a solution because a sector by sector takes hours backing up 300GB HDD
     
  7. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Yes; see post #2.

    Basically, you want to format your target partitions with an inode size of 128 bytes and then install. Don't let the installer format your partitions; if you do then you will end up with an inode size of 256 bytes, which isn't supported yet by TI. There are other suggestions in the Ubuntu forum thread referenced in post #2.
     
  8. tonyseeking

    tonyseeking Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    Format target partitions with an inode size of 128 bytes using what format program?
     
  9. mikex11

    mikex11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    I got another crazy idea - hows about Acronis taking a look at what it's customers use, and what's new out there, and providing up-to-date patches for their products to keep them current with what's out there.

    :rolleyes:
     
  10. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Any program that can format ext3 partitions, like gParted. Many of the Live Linux CDs (like Knoppix) contain a copy of gParted. Or, you can download PartedMagic or you can use Partition Magic or Acronis Disk Director.
     
  11. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Point well taken, but don't hold your breath. Windows users account for probably well over 99% of their customer base. Acronis had pretty good Linux support in versions 9 and 10. In version 11 they dropped the ability to save images to ext3 partitions, so that's not a good omen.
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello everyone,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    I'm glad to inform you that support for 256 I-nodes was implemented in the latest builds of Acronis True Image Home 2009. The similar update is planned for Acronis Disk Director 10.0.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  13. Bujikan

    Bujikan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Hello,

    i have build 9646 which is the newest version available while writing this.
    Is still have the problem with Ubuntu 8.10.
    What can i do to fix this, if True Image 2009 supports 256 I-Nodes?
    Please no reinstall on a 128 I-Node Partition suggestions, i have put to much effort into my installation.
    Thank you in advance.

    Best Regards,

    Mike
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2008
  14. alan dodd

    alan dodd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Following help by Acronis Team (live chat - works well!) I managed to install Acronis True Image Echo Server for Linux.
    linux version: opensuse
    uname -r -> 2.6.25.18-0.2-default
    uname -m -> x86_64
    Acronis build: 8163

    Had errors in compiling snapapi26, downloaded and compiled snapapi 0.7.41.1, all went well.
    Now problem is I cannot backup some partitions:
    Message is : Some partitions contain errors. Create image sector by sector ...etc


    suselinux:/var/log # sfdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 17849 cylinders, 255 heads, 63 sectors/track
    Units = cylinders of 8225280 bytes, blocks of 1024 bytes, counting from 0

    Device Boot Start End #cyls #blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 0+ 32 33- 265041 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda2 * 33 50 18 144585 83 Linux
    /dev/sda3 51 17848 17798 142962435 83 Linux
    /dev/sda4 0 - 0 0 0 Empty

    Disk /dev/sdb: 36472 cylinders, 255 heads, 63 sectors/track
    Units = cylinders of 8225280 bytes, blocks of 1024 bytes, counting from 0

    Device Boot Start End #cyls #blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 0+ 36471 36472- 292961308+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sdb2 0 - 0 0 0 Empty
    /dev/sdb3 0 - 0 0 0 Empty
    /dev/sdb4 0 - 0 0 0 Empty


    suselinux:/var/log # tune2fs -l /dev/sda2 |grep -i 'inode size'
    Inode size: 128
    suselinux:/var/log # tune2fs -l /dev/sda3 |grep -i 'inode size'
    Inode size: 256
    suselinux:/var/log # tune2fs -l /dev/sdb1 |grep -i 'inode size'
    Inode size: 256
    suselinux:/var/log #

    e2fsck from an emergency boot live cd gives no errors

    So I see that I cannot backup /dev/sda3 (wich is mounted as root partition '/') and /dev/sdb1 (which is mounted as /home).
    They both have 256 inode size.
    Instead I can backup /dev/sda2 which is boot, and has 128 inode size.

    I gather ATI home 2009 now supports 256 byte i-node.
    Is Acronis planning to do upgrade to Echo server for linux?
    We are using the server in production, so don't intend to reformat.
    Thanks
     
  15. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    Can you please download the latest build of Acronis True Image Home 2009 (9709) from your account (My Account -> Registered Products) recreate Acronis bootable disc and test it.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  16. modemhead

    modemhead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Can you please indicate how one is supposed to do this if you're using an older version like TI 10 or TI 11 like the original poster?
     
  17. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello modemhead,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    If you purchase the upgrade to Acronis True Image Home 2009 here, you will get the access to the build #9709.

    After installing Acronis True Image Home 2009 under the supported operating system you will be able to create/activate a standalone version of Acronis True Image that will allow you to back up any unsupported operating system.

    Also, the list of authorized Acronis resellers can be found at here

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  18. sakman74

    sakman74 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Posts:
    15
    so, for TI11 users, they are out of luck with respect to backing up an ext3 partition ?

    basically, we have to spend more money to upgrade to 2009 in order to have this functionality ?
     
  19. sakman74

    sakman74 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Posts:
    15
    clonezilla will back up any partitions and restore them just fine...and it's free
     
  20. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    TI11 will back up and restore ext3 partitions, but since it is unable to understand the 256-byte inode file system it will do a sector-by-sector copy. But it will work. I've done it with TI10 and it works.
     
  21. sakman74

    sakman74 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Posts:
    15
    i know that, but sector-by-sector takes a long time, and it doesn't compress...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.